National Football League

Rivera named Coach of the Year by PFWA

( - Carolina Panthers head coach Ron Rivera was selected as the 2013 Coach of the Year by the Professional Football Writers of America.

Rivera led the Panthers to a 12-4 record and the NFC South title. The Panthers earned a first-round bye and lost to the San Francisco 49ers in the divisional round of the playoffs last Sunday.

The Panthers started the season just 1-3, but responded to win 11 of their final 12 games, including eight straight at one point.

Rivera is the first Panthers head coach to earn the PFWA's Coach of the Year award since Dom Capers won it in back-to-back years in 1995-96.

Rivera also earned the PFWA's Assistant Coach of the Year award in 2005 while with the Chicago Bears.

The PFWA has named an NFL Coach of the Year since 1990 and gave separate AFC and NFC awards from 1970-89.

Kansas City general manager John Dorsey was named executive of the year by the PFWA.

The Chiefs had the worst record in the league a season ago, but after Dorsey made coaching changes, acquired some key free agents and made some good draft picks, they responded to finish with an 11-5 mark and secured a playoff berth.

01/16 13:26:02 ET

Powered by The Sports Network.