NASCAR Nationwide Series

NASCAR - Nationwide - Johnsonville Sausage 200 Preview

From The Sports Network

DATE: Saturday, June 22
SITE: Road America -- Elkhart Lake, Wis.
TRACK: 4.048-mile, 14-turn road course
RADIO: Motor Racing Network (MRN)/SIRIUS NASCAR Radio
QUALIFYING TIME: Saturday, June 22/2:05 p.m. ET
RUNNER-UP: Michael McDowell
POLE WINNER: Nelson Piquet Jr. (finished 1)
LAPS: 50
MILES: 202.4
QUALIFYING RECORD: Nelson Piquet Jr., 2012 (109.516 mph)
RACE RECORD: Nelson Piquet Jr., 2012 (85.171 mph)
2012 Finish
1Nelson Piquet Jr.16Jacques Villeneuve4
2Michael McDowell27Brian Scott6
3Ron Fellows38Kurt Busch22
4Max Papis59Cole Whitt14
5Sam Hornish Jr.810Justin Allgaier7
2012 Johnsonville Sausage 200 Facts and Figures
AVERAGE SPEED: 85.171 mph
TIME OF RACE: 2 hrs., 22 mins., 35 secs.
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 2.258 secs.
CAUTION FLAGS: 5 for 8 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 9 among 8 drivers
POLE WINNER: Nelson Piquet Jr. (109.516 mph)
Past Johnsonville Sausage 200 Winners (Starting Position) Car -- Speed
2012 -- Nelson Piquet Jr. (1) -- Chevrolet -- 85.171 mph
2011 -- Reed Sorenson (12) -- Chevrolet -- 78.929 mph
2010 -- Carl Edwards (1) -- Ford -- 68.501 mph
NOTE: Formerly called Bucyrus 200 (2010-11), Sargento (2012).
Past Johnsonville Sausage 200 Pole Winners (Finish)
2012 -- Nelson Piquet Jr. -- 1
2011 -- Michael McDowell -- 12
2010 -- Carl Edwards -- 1
Last Race Results
RACE: Alliance Truck Parts 250 (June 15)
SITE: Michigan International Speedway -- Brooklyn, Mich.
MILES: 250
LAPS: 125
WINNER: Regan Smith
RUNNER-UP: Kyle Larson
THIRD: Paul Menard
FOURTH: Kyle Busch
FIFTH: Trevor Bayne
POLE WINNER: Austin Dillon (finished 20)
TIME OF RACE: 1 hr., 48 mins., 50 mins.
AVERAGE SPEED: 137.825 mph
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 0.330 secs.
CAUTION FLAGS: 5 for 23 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 5 among 5 drivers
LAP LEADERS: A. Dillon 1-41; A. Bowman 42-48; A. Dillon 49-68; J. Logano
69-98; P. Kligerman 99-111; R. Smith 112-125.
Johnsonville Sausage 200 Entry List
CarDriver, HometownCar/Name
00Blake Koch (West Palm Beach, FL)Toyota/TBA
01Mike Wallace (St. Louis, MO)Chevrolet/GK Services
2Brian Scott (Boise, ID)Chevrolet/Charter
3Austin Dillon (Welcome, NC)Chevrolet/AdvoCare
4Landon Cassill (Fairfax, IA)Chevrolet/Flex Seal
5Johnny O'Connell (Poughkeepsie, NY)Chevrolet/
6Trevor Bayne (Knoxville, TN)Ford/Valvoline NextGen
7Regan Smith (Cato, NY)Chevrolet/
10Jeff Green (Owensboro, KY)Toyota/TriStar Motorsports
11Elliott Sadler (Emporia, VA)Toyota/One Main Financial
12Sam Hornish Jr. (Defiance, OH)Ford/Snap-On
14Eric McClure (Chilhowie, VA)Toyota/Hefty/Reynolds Wrap
15Carl Long (Roxboro, NC)Ford/Rick Ware Racing
16Billy Johnson (Torrance, CA)Ford/Roush Fenway Racing
18Michael McDowell (Glendale, AZ)Toyota/K-Love
19Mike Bliss (Milwaukie, OR)Toyota/TriStar Motorsports
20Brian Vickers (Thomasville, NC)Toyota/Dollar General
21Brendan Gaughan (Las Vegas, NV)Chevrolet/South Point
22A.J. Allmendinger (Los Gatos, CA)Ford/Discount Tire
23Stanton Barrett (Bishop, CA)Ford/Rick Ware Racing
24Derek White (Kahnawake, Canada)Toyota/VIP Poker
26John Young (Discovery Bay, CA)Dodge/CMP Inc.
30 *Nelson Piquet Jr. (Brasilia, Brazil)Chevrolet/Qualcomm
31Justin Allgaier (Riverton, IL)Chevrolet/Brandt
32Kyle Larson (Elk Grove, CA)Chevrolet/Cottonelle
33Max Papis (Como, Italy)Chevrolet/Menards
34James Buescher (Plano, TX)Chevrolet/Wolfpack Energy Services
40Reed Sorenson (Peachtree City, GA)Chevrolet/
43Michael Annett (Des Moines, IA)Ford/Flying J Travel Plaza
44Cole Whitt (Alpine, CA)Toyota/TriStar Motorsports
51Jeremy Clements (Spartanburg, SC)Chevrolet/TBA
52To Be AnnouncedChevrolet/TBA
53Andrew Ranger (Roxton Pond, Canada)Dodge/WM Bagster
54Owen Kelly (Tasmania, Australia)Toyota/Monster Energy
60Travis Pastrana (Annapolis, MD)Ford/Roush Fenway Racing
70Tony Raines (LaPorte, IN)Chevrolet/TBA
74Mike Harmon (Birmingport, AL)Chevrolet/TBA
75Kenny Habul (Etobicoke, Canada)Toyota/Sun Energy 1
77Parker Kligerman (Westport, CT)Toyota/Kyle Busch Motorsports
79Jeffrey Earnhardt (Mooresville, NC)Ford/Oath Keepers
87Kyle Kelley (Huntington Beach, CA)Toyota/Jamison Engineering
92Dexter Stacey (Kahnawake, Canada)Ford/Maddie's Place
99Alex Bowman (Tucson, AZ)Toyota/Safety First
* - Defending champion.
Leading Contenders (Finish the last three years)
Nelson Piquet Jr------Won
Michael McDowell33122
Max Papis---234
Sam Hornish Jr.------5
Brian Scott13167
Justin Allgaier351910
Elliott Sadler---415
Austin Dillon------18
Trevor Bayne1031---
Regan Smith---------
Brian Vickers---------
A.J. Allmendinger---------
Mover of the Week
Regan Smith - started 20 and finished 1
Sports Network Selections
Pick to Win - A.J. Allmendinger
Last Week's Pick to Win (Kyle Busch) - finished 4
The Johnsonville Sausage 200 at Road America is the 14th race on the 2013 Nationwide Series schedule.

This will be the fourth time the series has competed at this 4-mile road course. Carl Edwards won the inaugural race there on June 19, 2010.

Seven drivers on the entry list for this weekend's race have competed in the previous three events at Road America. They are: Justin Allgaier, Michael Annett, Mike Bliss, Eric McClure, Michael McDowell, Brian Scott and Mike Wallace.

One year ago, Nelson Piquet Jr. claimed his first career Nationwide win at Road America. Piquet, who was a full-time competitor in the Camping World Truck Series in 2012, started on the pole and led 19 of the 50 laps. He finished more than 2 seconds ahead of Michael McDowell for his maiden victory in just his third Nationwide start. He is now a rookie in the series.

Piquet became the fifth different driver born outside of the United States to win a race in Nationwide. He is the son of three-time F1 world champion Nelson Piquet.

Road America, which is the longest track in all three of NASCAR's national touring series, is the first of three road-course events in Nationwide this season. The series will run back-to-back road-course races in August at Watkins Glen International and Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course.

The next race is the June 28 Feed the Children 300 at Kentucky Speedway. Austin Dillon won last year's event there.

06/18 17:28:21 ET

As of June 18, 2013, at 05:28 PM ET

Powered by The Sports Network.