"Dave Ramsey Show"
Text Us: 870870
Studio: (504)260.1870
Web.com Tour
WEB.COM - Winn-Dixie Jacksonville Open
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, October 18th through Sunday, October 21st
SITE: TPC Sawgrass (Dye's Valley Course), Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
COURSE ARCHITECT: Pete Dye, Jerry Pate, Bobby Weed (1987)
PAR: 70
YARDAGE: 6,864
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 5 554 Yds10 - Par 4 413 Yds
2 - Par 3 170 Yds11 - Par 3 227 Yds
3 - Par 4 342 Yds12 - Par 4 362 Yds
4 - Par 4 427 Yds13 - Par 4 406 Yds
5 - Par 3 153 Yds14 - Par 3 203 Yds
6 - Par 4 462 Yds15 - Par 4 399 Yds
7 - Par 4 323 Yds16 - Par 5 559 Yds
8 - Par 4 500 Yds17 - Par 4 499 Yds
9 - Par 4 436 Yds18 - Par 4 429 Yds
35 3,367 Yds35 3,497 Yds
Annual:  3rd
Television:  Golf Channel - Thursday/Sunday -- 5-7 p.m. (et) - taped
Defending Champion:  Gavin Coles (Not defending)
Runner-Up:  Jonas Blixt
Tournament Record:  272 (David Mathis, 2010)
54-Hole Record:  200 (Jon Mills, 2010)
36-Hole Record:  131 (David Mathis, 131)
Course Record:  63 (David Mathis, 2010)
Total Purse:  $600,000
Shares:  1st Place - $108,000; 2nd Place - $64,800; 3rd Place - $40,800
2011 Finish
Gavin Coles274Brian Stuard278
Jonas Blixt275Mark Anderson280
David Lingmerth276Scott Gardiner280
Tommy Biershenk277John Kimbell280
Danny Lee277Ted Potter, Jr.280
Past Winn-Dixie Jacksonville Open Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2011Gavin Coles (274) -- Jonas Blixt
2010David Mathis (272) -- Jeff Curl, Won Joon Lee, Kyle Reifers

Top Contenders in the Field
David Lingmerth---3rd
Casey WittenbergmcT-41
Alistair PresnellT-50T-47
Jamie LovemarkT-59mc
Luke Listmcmc
Luke Guthrie------
Paul Haley II------
Russell Henley------
Ben Kohles------
Shawn Stefani------
Robert Streb------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Russell Henley
Darkhorse - Alistair Presnell
Last Week's Pick to Win (Casey Wittenberg) - Missed the cut
Last Week's Darkhorse (Philip Pettit, Jr.) - Missed the cut
The Web.com Tour travels to Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida, this week for the Winn-Dixie Jacksonville Open. The top 43 players on the money list are scheduled to compete. Following this event, the top 60 players on the money list will qualify for next week's Web.com Tour Championship. Jeff Gove is currently in 60th place on the money list, just $343 ahead of two- time U.S. Open champion Lee Janzen. Casey Wittenberg leads the money list by $24,990 over Luke Guthrie.

This tournament will be played at Dye's Valley Course at TPC Sawgrass. The course was designed by Pete Dye, Jerry Pate and Bobby Weed and opened for play in 1987. The 2010 tournament marked the first time that the Web.com Tour played an event at TPC Sawgrass, home of the PGA Tour. Dye's Valley Course is situated adjacent to the world renowned PLAYERS Stadium Course. Dye's Valley hosted the 1988 and 1989 Senior Tournament Players Championship, won by Bill Casper and Orville Moody. It has also staged the Cadillac NFL Golf Classic. Tiger Woods competed in qualifying rounds of the U.S. Amateur Championship at Dye's Valley in 1994 before winning his first of three consecutive U.S. Amateur titles at the PLAYERS Stadium Course.

Champions Tour player Fred Funk is also in the field this week. Funk, who lives close to TPC Sawgrass, has won twice on the Champions Tour this year and is fourth on the money list. He is coming off a win last week at the Greater Hickory Classic at Rock Barn. Duffy Waldorf, who finished second to Funk last week, is also in the field.

Last year, Gavin Coles jumped to the top of the leaderboard with a 64 in the second round and went on to win by one stroke over Jonas Blixt. Coles finished at 6-under-par 274, good for his fifth Web.com Tour title.

Coles will not be on hand to defend his title, as he earned his PGA Tour card for 2012 and is playing at The McGladrey Classic on the PGA Tour. Coles will have to finish the season strong to keep his card for 2013, as he is 179th on the PGA Tour money list. Blixt captured his first PGA Tour title last week at the Frys.com Open and is 35th on the PGA Tour money list.

The Web.com Tour closes out the 2012 season in Texas next week for the Web.com Tour Championship at TPC Craig Ranch in McKinney, where Ken Duke won last year.

10/16 17:11:27 ET

As of October 16, 2012, at 05:11 PM ET

WWL - AM870 | FM105.3 | News | Talk | Sports - Sidebar Only - Sports Network Pages
WWL - AM870 | FM105.3 | News | Talk | Sports - Footer Only - Sports Network Pages


1 Thing

Contact Us


WWL iPhone App

Powered By InterTech Media, LLC???