Text Us: 870870
Studio: (504)260.1870
Web.com Tour
WEB.COM - WNB Golf Classic Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, September 20th through Sunday, September 23rd
SITE: Midland Country Club, Midland, Texas
COURSE ARCHITECT: Ralph Plummer (1954), Ault, Clark & Assoc. (re-design, 1988)
PAR: 72
YARDAGE: 7,380
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 426 Yds10 - Par 4 431 Yds
2 - Par 5 579 Yds11 - Par 3 185 Yds
3 - Par 3 204 Yds12 - Par 5 552 Yds
4 - Par 5 536 Yds13 - Par 4 435 Yds
5 - Par 4 436 Yds14 - Par 4 411 Yds
6 - Par 4 458 Yds15 - Par 5 601 Yds
7 - Par 4 419 Yds16 - Par 3 189 Yds
8 - Par 3 224 Yds17 - Par 4 386 Yds
9 - Par 4 438 Yds18 - Par 4 470 Yds
36 3,720 Yds36 3,660 Yds
Annual:  21st
Television:  None
Defending Champion:  Danny Lee
Runner-Up:  Harris English
Tournament Record:  264 (Chad Campbell, 2001)
54-Hole Record:  195 (Chad Campbell, 2001)
36-Hole Record:  128 (Kevin Johnson, 2000)
18-Hole Record:  62 (Kevin Johnson, 1997; Dicky Thompson, 1999; Guy Boros,
  Todd Barranger, 2000 - Club at Mission Dorado)
Course Record:  62 (Chad Collins, 2009; Harris English, 2011)
Total Purse:  $550,000
Shares:  1st Place - $99,000; 2nd Place - $59,400; 3rd Place - $37,400
2011 Finish
Danny Lee *270Bob Heintz273
Harris English270Miguel Angel Carballo274
Garth Mulroy272David Lingmerth274
Craig Bowden273Dicky Pride274
Gavin Coles273Four players at275

* - Won in Playoff

Past WNB Golf Classic Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2011*Danny Lee (270) -- Harris English
2010Nate Smith (270) -- Fabian Gomez, Brandt Jobe, Alistair Presnell
2009Garrett Willis (268) -- Chad Collins
2008Marc Leishman (267) -- Keoke Cotner
2007*Brad Adamonis (278) -- Tjaart van der Walt, Vance Veazey, Ron Whittaker
2006*Brandt Snedeker (272) -- Aron Price
2005Kris Cox (270) -- Craig Bowden, Jerry Smith, Chris Tidland
2004*Charley Hoffman (282) -- Jeff Gove, Craig Lile
2003D.J. Brigman (272) -- Jason Dufner, Mark Hensby, Jimmy Walker
2002*Tag Ridings (272) -- Mark Hensby
2001Chad Campbell (264) -- Todd Fischer
2000Kevin Johnson (268) -- Mark Hensby
1999David Berganio, Jr. (269) -- Paul Gow, Dicky Thompson
1998*Stiles Mitchell (276) -- Woody Austin, Jeff Barlow
1997Paul Gow (267) -- Steve Lamontagne
1996Michael Christie (270) -- Anthony Rodriguez
1995Hugh Royer III (275) -- Paul Claxton, Frank Conner, Keoke Cotner,
Franklin Langham, Dave Miley, Chris Smith,
Phil Tataurangi
1994Bruce Vaughan (269) -- Gary Rusnak, Bob Wolcott
1993#*Franklin Langham (202) -- Doug Martin
1992#Taylor Smith (205) -- Pete Jordan, Andrew Morse

* - Won in Playoff

# - 54-Hole Tournament

Note:Formerly called Ben Hogan Permian Basin Open (1992), NIKE Permian
Basin Open (1993-99), Buy.Com Permian Basin Open (2000-01), Permian Basin Open (2002), Permian Basin Charity Golf Classic (2003-06).

Top Contenders in the Field
Danny Lee------------Won
Miguel A. CarballoT-10T-27mcT-15T-7
Darron Stiles---T-4T-3T-5T-10
Doug LaBelle II------mcT-8T-14
Bubba Dickerson---T-27T-7254thT-14
Gary Christian61stT-21T-19mcT-14
Alistair Presnell------mcT-2T-29
Russell Knox------------T-36
J.J. Killeen---mcT-7mcT-44
Jin Park------T-3T-41T-54
Luke List---------T-30mc
Brad AdamonisWon------mcmc
Nate Smith---------Won---
Scott GardinerT-30mcT-41------
Michael Putnam---T-27T-46------
Luke Guthrie---------------
Ben Kohles---------------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Scott Gardiner
Darkhorse - Michael Putnam
Last Week's Pick to Win (Brad Fritsch) - Finished tied for 35th
Last Week's Darkhorse (Cliff Kresge) - Missed the cut
Only five tournaments remain as players jockey for position for the season- ending Tour Championship. The top 60 players on the money list will advance to the final event of the season. Derek Fathauer currently resides in the 60th spot, just $1,511 ahead of Aron Price. No lead is safe, however, as Jeff Gove, 63rd on the money list, is just $4,134 behind Fathauer. Ben Kohles will be looking to win for the third time in only his sixth event this season and earn a promotion to the PGA Tour.

This will be the 11th straight year in which Midland Country Club is hosting. The previous 10 years of the tournament were all held at the Club at Mission Dorado.

Last year, Danny Lee carded rounds of 64-72-68-66, then parred the first playoff hole to beat Harris English. The duo finished at 18-under-par 270. This week, Lee, the 2008 U.S. Amateur champion, will try and become the first player in Web.com Tour history to successfully defend his title. Lee played on the PGA Tour this season, but finished 159th on the FedExCup points list and did not qualify for the playoffs. His best finish this year was a tie for 19th at the HP Byron Nelson Championship.

In 2010, rookie Nate Smith fired a 6-under 66 in the final round to win and collect his first career Web.com Tour victory. Smith made a long birdie at the 18th hole for a 2-shot win over three players. He finished with an 18- under 270 at Midland Country Club.

In 2008, Marc Leishman cruised to an 11-shot win over Keoke Cotner, shooting a 4-under 68 in the final round to claim his first Web.com Tour victory. Leishman, who led by five shots heading into the final round, finished at 21-under-par 267 and tied the all-time Web.com Tour record for largest winning margin.

In 2007, Brad Adamonis escaped a 4-way playoff to win, beating Tjaart van der Walt with a par at the eighth extra hole for his first Web.com Tour title. Adamonis and van der Walt played six playoff holes head-to-head after Ron Whittaker was eliminated on the first sudden-death hole and Vance Veazey was knocked out on the second. The four players ended regulation tied at 10-under 278. Adamonis won the second-longest playoff in Web.com Tour history by making eight consecutive pars -- the last one coming on a 4-foot putt at the par-3 16th to finally finish off van der Walt.

Current PGA Tour player Brandt Snedeker, who will play for the United States at the Ryder Cup next week, birdied the 72nd hole to force a playoff in 2006 against Aron Price, then birdied the first playoff hole to win. Snedeker became the first player in the history of this event to win wire-to-wire.

In 2002, there was plenty of drama. Sitting in the fairway on the first playoff hole, Tag Ridings slammed a 138-yard pitching-wedge into the bottom of the cup for eagle to defeat Mark Hensby for his first career title.

When Chad Campbell captured the 2001 event, he set the tournament record of 24-under 264, breaking the previous mark of 267 set by Paul Gow in 1997. Campbell's 54-hole mark of 195 was also a new record.

The Web.com Tour moves to North Carolina next week for the Chiquita Classic in Weddington at The Club at Longview. Russell Knox captured the 2011 title.

09/18 16:19:57 ET

As of September 18, 2012, at 04:20 PM ET

WWL - AM870 | FM105.3 | News | Talk | Sports - Sidebar Only - Sports Network Pages
WWL - AM870 | FM105.3 | News | Talk | Sports - Footer Only - Sports Network Pages



1 Thing

Contact Us

WWL iPhone App

Powered By InterTech Media, LLC???