"The Fans and the Pro" with Kristian Garic and Hokie Gajan
Text Us: 870870
Studio: (504)260.1870
Web.com Tour
WEB.COM - Web.com Tour Championship at TPC Craig Ranch Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, October 25th through Sunday, October 28th
SITE: TPC Craig Ranch, McKinney, Texas
COURSE ARCHITECT: Tom Weiskopf (2004)
PAR: 71
YARDAGE: 7,438
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 431 Yds10 - Par 4 471 Yds
2 - Par 4 466 Yds11 - Par 4 457 Yds
3 - Par 4 420 Yds12 - Par 4 493 Yds
4 - Par 3 219 Yds13 - Par 4 512 Yds
5 - Par 5 569 Yds14 - Par 4 330 Yds
6 - Par 4 361 Yds15 - Par 3 216 Yds
7 - Par 3 232 Yds16 - Par 4 492 Yds
8 - Par 4 482 Yds17 - Par 3 171 Yds
9 - Par 5 564 Yds18 - Par 5 552 Yds
36 3,744 Yds35 3,694 Yds
Annual:  20th
Television:  Golf Channel - Thursday/Sunday -- 2-4:30 p.m. (et)
Defending Champion:  Ken Duke (Not defending)
Runner-Up:  Scott Brown
Tournament Record:  264 (Richard Johnson, 2007)
54-Hole Record:  197 (Richard Johnson, 2007)
36-Hole Record:  126 (Michael Letzig, 2007)
18-Hole Record:  60 (Michael Letzig, 2007 - Barona Creek Golf Club)
Course Record:  63 (Matt Bettencourt, Peter Tomasulo, 2008)
Total Purse:  $1,000,000
Shares:  1st Place - $180,000; 2nd Place - $108,000; 3rd Place - $68,000
2011 Finish
Ken Duke278Jeff Gove284
Scott Brown280Jason Kokrak284
Daniel Chopra282Four players at285
David Lingmerth282
Camilo Benedetti284
Past Web.com Tour Championship Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2011Ken Duke (278) -- Scott Brown
2010*Brendan Steele (275) -- Colt Knost
2009Matt Every (267) -- Michael Sim
2008Matt Bettencourt (267) -- Jeff Klauk
2007Richard Johnson (264) -- Michael Letzig
2006Craig Kanada (275) -- Andrew Buckle, Matt Kuchar
2005David Branshaw (276) -- Eric Axley
2004Nick Watney (273) -- Brett Wetterich
2003Chris Couch (270) -- D.J. Brigman
2002#Patrick Moore (206) -- Steven Alker, Mike Heinen, Jeff Klauk
2001Pat Bates (284) -- Tom Carter, Brenden Pappas
2000Spike McRoy (272) -- Briny Baird
1999*Bob Heintz (283) -- Marco Dawson
1998Bob Burns (283) -- Jeff Gove
1997Steve Flesch (278) -- Chris Smith
1996Stewart Cink (281) -- David Berganio Jr
1995*Allen Doyle (283) -- John Maginnes
1994Mike Schuchart (277) -- Emlyn Aubrey, Jeff Cook, Lee Rinker
1993David Duval (277) -- Danny Briggs

* - Won in Playoff

# - Weather Shortened

Note:Formerly called NIKE Tour Championship (1993-99), BUY.COM Tour
Championship (2000-02), Nationwide Tour Championship (2003-11)

Top Contenders in the Field
David Lingmerth---T-3
Paul Claxton10thT-24
Luke List---T-24
Casey Wittenberg---T-38
Luke Guthrie------
Paul Haley II------
Russell Henley------
Ben Kohles------
Shawn Stefani------
Robert Streb------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Robert Streb
Darkhorse - Steve LeBrun
Last Week's Pick to Win (Russell Henley) - Finished 1st
Last Week's Darkhorse (Alistair Presnell) - Missed the cut
What's at stake this week? Well, how about each player's livelihood. The top 25 players on the money list at the close of this season-ending event will earn PGA Tour cards for 2013. Only the top 60 players on the money list qualify for the Tour Championship, and only $284 separates Camilo Benedetti in the 25th position and Doug LaBelle II in the 26th spot.

Casey Wittenberg leads the money list by $22,860 over Luke Guthrie. The player who finishes No. 1 on the final Web.com Tour money list will earn full- exempt status for the 2013 PGA Tour and receive an exemption into The Players Championship in May. The player who wins this event is guaranteed a spot in the top 25 and their PGA Tour card for 2013. This is the only tournament this year with a purse of $1 million.

The tournament will be played at TPC Craig Ranch in McKinney, Texas, for the first time since 2008. The last three years have been staged at Daniel Island Club in Charleston, South Carolina.

Last year, Ken Duke posted a 4-under 68 in the final round to come from behind and win at the Ralston Creek Course at the Daniel Island Club. Duke finished at 10-under 278 and collected his second Web.com Tour victory and first since 2006. Duke began the tournament in 36th place on the money list but moved to seventh and earned his PGA Tour card for 2012.

Duke had a good year on the PGA Tour and is currently 57th on the money list with nearly $1.5 million in earnings. His best finish was a tie for fifth at the Transitions Championship in May.

In 2010, Brendan Steele birdied the fourth hole of a sudden-death playoff to beat Colt Knost and capture his first win on the Web.com Tour. Steele rolled in an 8-foot putt on the 18th green to end the playoff. There have now been three playoffs in event history. The first was in 1995 when Allen Doyle defeated John Maginnes and the second came in 1999 when Bob Heintz defeated Marco Dawson.

In 2009, Matt Every shot a 5-under 67 in the final round to win and earn a spot on the PGA Tour for the 2010 season. Every collected his first victory and finished at 21-under 267 for a 3-stroke win over Michael Sim. He pocketed $180,000 for the win and vaulted into the top 25 on the money list. Every began the week in 49th place and needed a huge week to get to the PGA Tour and that's exactly what he got. Every fired a course-record 63 in the second round to move in front, where he would stay for the rest of the tournament.

In 2008, Matt Bettencourt birdied the 72nd hole to earn not just the victory, but also the money title. Bettencourt shot rounds of 68-67-63-69 and won the trophy with a total of 17-under 267. It was his second win of 2008 after titling in Oregon in mid-September. Bettencourt earned $180,000 for the win and moved past Brendon de Jonge for the money title. Bettencourt was in the mid-90s on the money list earlier in the summer, but the win in Oregon, a runner-up at the Miccosukee Championship and this title gave him the No. 1 spot.

Richard Johnson shot four rounds in the 60s (66-64-67-67) in 2007 to win. Johnson's winning total of 20-under 264 shattered the old scoring record of 270 that Chris Couch set in 2003. Johnson also set a new 54-hole record. With the win and the $139,500 first-place check, Johnson overtook Roland Thatcher for the top spot on the money list. Michael Letzig, who finished one stroke back of Johnson, fired a course-record 60 in the first round.

In 2006, Craig Kanada captured this event and earned his PGA Tour card for 2007. Kanada trailed Matt Kuchar by six shots heading into the final round, but fired a 6-under-par 66, capped off by a chip-in birdie on the 72nd hole, to win by one over Kuchar and Andrew Buckle. Kanada's win jumped him from 32nd to 11th on the money list.

Spike McRoy owns the largest winning margin in event history, beating Briny Baird by five shots in 2000. Among the notable players who won this event are former world No. 1 and 2001 British Open champion David Duval (1993), Champions Tour player Allen Doyle (1995), 2009 British Open champion Stewart Cink (1996) and Nick Watney (2004). There has never been a wire-to- wire winner.

10/23 16:34:34 ET

As of October 23, 2012, at 04:34 PM ET

WWL - AM870 | FM105.3 | News | Talk | Sports - Sidebar Only - Sports Network Pages
WWL - AM870 | FM105.3 | News | Talk | Sports - Footer Only - Sports Network Pages


1 Thing

Contact Us


WWL iPhone App

Powered By InterTech Media, LLC???