"The Scoot Show" with Scoot
Text Us: 870870
Studio: (504)260.1870
PGA Tour
PGA - Puerto Rico Open Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, March 8th through Sunday, March 11th
SITE: Trump International G.C. (Composite Course), Rio Grande, Puerto Rico
COURSE ARCHITECT: Tom Kite and Bruce Bresse (2004)
PAR: 72
YARDAGE: 7,506
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 447 Yds10 - Par 4 430 Yds
2 - Par 5 547 Yds11 - Par 3 192 Yds
3 - Par 4 386 Yds12 - Par 4 465 Yds
4 - Par 4 455 Yds13 - Par 4 410 Yds
5 - Par 5 535 Yds14 - Par 4 459 Yds
6 - Par 3 203 Yds15 - Par 5 600 Yds
7 - Par 4 448 Yds16 - Par 3 202 Yds
8 - Par 3 236 Yds17 - Par 4 411 Yds
9 - Par 4 450 Yds18 - Par 5 630 Yds
36 3,707 Yds36 3,799 Yds
Annual:  5th
Television:  Golf Channel - Thursday/Friday -- 6:30-8:30 p.m. (et) - taped,
  - Saturday -- 6:30-9:30 p.m. (et) - taped,
  - Sunday -- 7:30-10:30 p.m. (et) - taped
Defending Champion:  Michael Bradley
Runner-Up:  Troy Matteson
Tournament Record:  269 (Derek Lamely, 2010)
54-Hole Record:  199 (Kevin Streelman, 2010)
36-Hole Record:  132 (Bo Van Pelt, 2008)
Course Record:  63 (Derek Lamely, 2010; James Driscoll, Chris Tidland, 2011)
Total Purse:  $3,500,000
Shares:  1st Place - $630,000; 2nd Place - $378,000; 3rd Place - $238,000
2011 Finish
Michael Bradley *272Bobby Gates276
Troy Matteson272Angel Cabrera277
Stephen Ames274Fabian Gomez277
Hunter Haas274Brandt Jobe277
George McNeill275Chris Tidland277

* - Won in Playoff

Past Puerto Rico Open Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2011*Michael Bradley (272) -- Troy Matteson
2010Derek Lamely (269) -- Kris Blanks
2009Michael Bradley (274) -- Jason Day, Brett Quigley
2008Greg Kraft (274) -- Jerry Kelly, Bo Van Pelt

Top Contenders in the Field
Michael Bradley---WonT-15Won
Troy Matteson---T-31---2nd
Stephen Ames---------T-3
Hunter Haas---------T-3
Angel Cabrera---------T-7
Kevin StadlerT-4T-44T-17T-18
Henrik Stenson---------T-28
Bill Lunde------T-10T-37
Dicky PridemcmcwdT-50
Paul StankowskimcT-21T-12T-55
Shaun MicheelT-21T-31T-4568th
Derek Lamely---T-13Wonmc
Jerry KellyT-2T-9---wd
Jeff OvertonT-398thT-15---
J.B. Holmes------------
Ryo Ishikawa------------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Kevin Stadler
Darkhorse - Dicky Pride
Last Week's Pick to Win (Lee Westwood) - Finished 4th
Last Week's Darkhorse (Jimmy Walker) - Finished tied for 67th
The PGA Tour travels to the Isle of Enchantment this week for the Puerto Rico Open. The top players in the world are in Florida at the WGC-Cadillac Championship, therefore, there are only two players in the top-100 of the world rankings in Puerto Rico. Ryo Ishikawa of Japan is the highest-ranked player in the field at 53rd in the world. He is joined by 2010 United States Ryder Cup team member Jeff Overton (88). The 2008 tournament was the first full-field sanctioned PGA Tour event held in Puerto Rico.

Seven former major champions are in the field this week: Rich Beem (2002 PGA Championship), Angel Cabrera (2007 U.S. Open, 2009 Masters), Ben Curtis (2003 British Open), David Duval (2001 British Open), Todd Hamilton (2004 British Open), Lee Janzen (1993 and 1998 U.S. Open) and Shaun Micheel (2003 PGA Championship).

Two Puerto Rico residents are expected to compete - Rafael Campos and Max Alverio. Campos is a San Juan native and a Virginia Commonwealth graduate. Both players are playing in their fifth Puerto Rico Open.

Trump International Golf Club, designed by Tom Kite, is the only 36-hole golf facility in Puerto Rico where you can play in the Mountains, play along the Ocean, play in the Palms and play among the Lakes. It's also the only golf course in Puerto Rico with white silica sand bunkers. Relax in the clubhouse, one of the largest in the Caribbean, and enjoy views of both the Ocean and the El Yunque Rainforest. Trump International was originally called Coco Beach Golf & Country Club. A portion of all four nines will be used to make up a composite layout this week.

Last year, Michael Bradley parred the first playoff hole to defeat Troy Matteson and win this event for the second time in three years. Bradley fired four straight rounds of 68 and finished at 16-under-par 272 with Matteson. Bradley has now won a PGA Tour title in each of the last three decades, becoming the first player since Davis Love III to accomplish this feat.

In 2010, Derek Lamely fired weekend rounds of 63-66 to come from behind and win the rain-delayed tournament. Lamely, who won for the first time on the PGA Tour, completed the event at 19-under-par 269. Lamely's 63 in the third round established a new course record and his 269 total was a new tournament record.

In 2009, Bradley birdied the 18th hole and shot a two-under 70 in the final round to win his first PGA Tour victory in 11 years. Bradley picked up his first win since the 1998 Doral-Ryder Open.

Greg Kraft fired rounds of 69-66-69-70 to overtake third-round leader Bo Van Pelt in 2008 and win the inaugural event. Kraft finished at 14-under- par 274 for his first official tour title. He won the 1993 Deposit Guaranty Golf Classic, but that was played opposite The Masters and not counted as an official victory.

The PGA Tour moves to the west coast of Florida next week for the Transitions Championship in Palm Harbor, where Gary Woodland captured his first PGA Tour title last year.

03/06 15:00:30 ET

As of March 6, 2012, at 03:00 PM ET

WWL - AM870 | FM105.3 | News | Talk | Sports - Sidebar Only - Sports Network Pages
WWL - AM870 | FM105.3 | News | Talk | Sports - Footer Only - Sports Network Pages


1 Thing

Contact Us


WWL iPhone App

Powered By InterTech Media, LLC???