Tiger Baseball - LSU vs Texas A&M
"Sports Talk" with Bobby Hebert & Deke Bellavia
Text Us: 870870
Studio: (504)260.1870
PGA Tour
PGA - Legends Reno-Tahoe Open Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, August 6th through Sunday, August 9th
SITE: Montreux Golf and Country Club, Reno, Nevada
COURSE ARCHITECT: Jack Nicklaus (1997)
PAR: 72
YARDAGE: 7,472
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 413 Yds10 - Par 4 494 Yds
2 - Par 3 171 Yds11 - Par 5 584 Yds
3 - Par 4 429 Yds12 - Par 3 186 Yds
4 - Par 5 518 Yds13 - Par 4 355 Yds
5 - Par 4 367 Yds14 - Par 4 491 Yds
6 - Par 4 439 Yds15 - Par 4 477 Yds
7 - Par 3 220 Yds16 - Par 3 183 Yds
8 - Par 4 464 Yds17 - Par 5 636 Yds
9 - Par 5 616 Yds18 - Par 4 429 Yds
36 3,637 Yds36 3,835 Yds
Annual:  11th
Television:  Golf Channel - Thursday/Saturday -- 6:30-8:30 p.m. (et),
  Friday -- 1:30-3:30 a.m. (et) - replay,
  Saturday -- 1-3 a.m. (et) - replay,
  Sunday -- 12-2 a.m. (et) - replay,
  Sunday -- 7-9 p.m. (et)
  Monday -- 12-2 a.m. (et) replay
Defending Champion:  Parker McLachlin
Runner-Up:  Brian Davis, John Rollins
Tournament Record:  267 (Vaughn Taylor, 2005)
54-Hole Record:  195 (Vaughn Taylor, 2005)
36-Hole Record:  129 (Bob Estes, 2006)
Course Record:  62 (Bill Glasson, 2005; Joe Ogilvie, 2006;
  Parker McLachlin, 2008)
Total Purse:  $3,000,000
Shares:  1st Place - $540,000; 2nd Place - $324,000; 3rd Place - $204,000
2008 Finish
Parker McLachlin270Martin Laird278
Brian Davis277Ryan Palmer278
John Rollins277Jason Gore279
Eric Axley278John Merrick279
Harrison Frazar278Mark Wilson279
Past Legends Reno-Tahoe Open Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2008Parker McLachlin (270) -- Brian Davis, John Rollins
2007Steve Flesch (273) -- Charles Warren, Kevin Stadler
2006Will MacKenzie (268) -- Bob Estes
2005Vaughn Taylor (267) -- Jonathan Kaye
2004*Vaughn Taylor (278) -- Steve Allan, Hunter Mahan, Scott McCarron
2003Kirk Triplett (271) -- Tim Herron
2002*Chris Riley (271) -- Jonathan Kaye
2001John Cook (271) -- Jerry Kelly
2000*Scott Verplank (275) -- Jean Van de Velde
1999Notah Begay III (274) -- Chris Perry, David Toms

* - Won in Playoff

NOTE:Formerly called Reno-Tahoe Open (1999-2007).

Top Contenders in the Field
Parker McLachlin------------------------T-37Won
John Rollins---T-36---T-14---T-14---------T-2
Eric Axley---------------------T-36T-73T-4
Harrison FrazarT-63T-51---T-175thmcT-18T-11mcT-4
Ryan Palmer---------------69th------mcT-4
Martin Laird---------------------------T-4
Jason Gore------mc---T-27---------T-37T-8
Mark Wilson------------mcT-5mcmc---T-8
Kevin Na---------------mcT-18---T-25T-11
Bob Heintz---mc---mc------mc---T-57T-11
Steve Elkington---------------T-18---T-63T-6T-14
Jonathan Byrd---------T-68------wd------T-14
Charley Hoffman---------------------T-36---T-29
Greg Kraft------T-36mcT-61mc---mcT-25T-37
Charles WarrenT-24---------------------T-2T-58
Kirk Triplettmc---------Won------T-63---T-58
Kevin Stadler------------------T-41---T-2T-65
Alex Cejka------------------mcT-9T-12mc
Chris RileymcT-62T-14Won---------T-36T-30wd
Steve FleschT-50T-7T-10T-6------------Won---
Will MacKenzie------------------mcWonT-30---
Nicholas Thompson---------------------T-42------
Greg ChalmersT-37---T-44T-35mcmc---mc------
Vaughn Taylor---------------WonWon---------
Aaron Baddeley---------T-44------T-4---------
Matt Kuchar------------mcT-66T-36---------
Paul Azingerwd---------------mc---------
Rod PamplingT-37------T-17T-3---------------
Francesco Molinari------------------------------
Andres Romero------------------------------
Charl Schwartzel------------------------------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - John Rollins
Darkhorse - Jimmy Walker
Last Week's Pick to Win (Tiger Woods) - Finished 1st
Last Week's Darkhorse (Jerry Kelly) - Not in final field
Since this event is playing against the WGC-Bridgestone Invitational, all of the top players in the world are in Akron vying for the $1,434,375 first-place prize. But there are some former major championship winners in the field: Paul Azinger, Mark Brooks, Steve Elkington and Shaun Micheel. There are also nine players ranked in the top 100 in the world in the field this week. Francesco Molinari is the highest-ranked player in the field at No. 66.

Last year, Parker McLachlin rolled to a seven-shot win over Brian Davis and John Rollins. He finished at 18-under-par 270, including a course-record-tying 62 in the second round to surge in front. It was the first PGA Tour victory for McLachlin, who became the fifth straight winner of this event to not break par in the final round. McLachlins's seven-stroke win was the largest in tournament history.

In 2007, Steve Flesch fired rounds of 63-69-69-72 to cruise to a five-shot victory over Charles Warren and Kevin Stadler. He finished the event at 15- under-par 273 for his third PGA Tour victory. Flesch went on to win his fourth PGA Tour title at the Turning Stone Resort Championship in September of 2007. Flesch, who led the Reno-Tahoe Open from start to finish, was the only wire-to-wire winner on the PGA Tour in 2007.

In 2005, Vaughn Taylor managed just an even-par 72 in the final round, but it was more than enough to win for the second straight year. Taylor completed the event at 21-under-par 267. Taylor, whose three-round total of 195 obliterated Jerry Kelly's 2001 54-hole record of 201, also smashed the 72-hole scoring record at Montreux Golf and Country Club. Taylor eclipsed the previous mark by four strokes. John Cook was the first to post 271 in 2001, and he was later matched by Chris Riley and Jonathan Kaye in 2002 and Kirk Triplett in 2003. With his win in 2005, Taylor became the first wire-to-wire winner of this event and is the only two-time winner of this tournament. Taylor is the all- time money leader at this event with $1,080,000 in earnings.

The 1999 Reno-Tahoe Open made history, as Notah Begay III captured his first career win and became the first Native American since Rod Curl in 1974 to win on the PGA Tour. Begay took the lead following the third round and then, despite an even-par 72 in the final round, defeated Chris Perry and David Toms by three shots for the win.

This is the 11th year that the event will be held opposite the WGC-Bridgestone Invitational. The Reno area hosted several Champions Tour events in the 1980s, and previously hosted a PGA Tour stop in 1948, the Reno Open Invitational won by Ben Hogan. During the tournament, the front and back nines are reversed.

Players with Nevada ties have had success at this tournament, with University of Nevada-Las Vegas graduate Chris Riley winning in 2002 and University of Nevada alum Kirk Triplett winning in 2003 in the town where he went to college.

The PGA Tour moves to Minnesota next week for the final major of the season, the PGA Championship at Hazeltine National Golf Club. Padraig Harrington captured his first PGA Championship and third major title last year.

08/04 19:34:57 ET

As of August 4, 2009, at 07:35 PM ET

WWL - AM870 | FM105.3 | News | Talk | Sports - Sidebar Only - Sports Network Pages
WWL - AM870 | FM105.3 | News | Talk | Sports - Footer Only - Sports Network Pages


1 Thing

Contact Us


WWL iPhone App

Powered By InterTech Media, LLC???