"The Scoot Show" with Scoot
Text Us: 870870
Studio: (504)260.1870
IndyCar Series
Verizon IndyCar Series - Shell Pennzoil GP/Houston (Race 2) Preview

From The Sports Network

DATE: Sunday, June 29
SITE: M.D. Anderson Cancer Center Speedway at NRG Park -- Houston, Texas
TRACK: 1.683-mile, 10-turn temporary street circuit
ANNUAL: 2nd (IndyCar-sanctioned race)
TELEVISION: NBC Sports Network
RADIO: IMS Radio Network/ SIRIUS XM Satellite
START TIME: 3:50 p.m. ET (expected green flag)
QUALIFYING TIME: 11:00 a.m. ET (Sunday)
RUNNER-UP: Scott Dixon
POLE WINNER: Helio Castroneves (qualifying was rained out)
LAPS: 90
MILES: 153
QUALIFYING RECORD: Takuma Sato, 2013 - Race 1, (97.305 mph/60.4535 secs.)
RACE RECORD: Will Power, 2013 (78.444 mph/1 hr., 52 mins., 28.9525 secs.)
2013 Finish
1Will Power96Simon Pagenaud3
2Scott Dixon27Oriol Servia21
3James Hinchcliffe88Charlie Kimball10
4Justin Wilson69Mike Conway16
5Sebastien Bourdais1310Simona De Silvestro17
2013 Shell Pennzoil Grand Prix of Houston (Race 2) Facts and Figures
AVERAGE SPEED: 78.444 mph
TIME OF RACE: 1 hr., 52 mins., 28.9525 secs.
CAUTION FLAGS: 9 for 26 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 2 among 3 drivers
POLE WINNER: Helio Castroneves (entrant points, qualifying rained out)
FASTEST LAP: Luca Filippi, (99.497 mph/59.1215 secs.), Lap 86
Past Shell Pennzoil GP/Houston (R. 2) Winners (Starting Position) Car -- Speed
2013 -- Will Power (9) -- Dallara-Chevrolet -- 78.444 mph/1:52:28.9525
Past Shell Pennzoil Grand Prix of Houston (Race 2) Pole Winners (Finish)
2013 -- None -- Weather
Last Race Results
RACE: Firestone 600 (June 7)
SITE: Texas Motor Speedway -- Fort Worth, Texas
MILES: 372 (600 kilometers)
LAPS: 248
WINNER: Ed Carpenter
RUNNER-UP: Will Power
THIRD: Juan Pablo Montoya
FOURTH: Simon Pagenaud
FIFTH: Scott Dixon
POLE WINNER: Will Power (finished 2)
TIME OF RACE: 2 hrs., 1 min., 25.5758 secs.
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 0.5247 secs.
AVERAGE SPEED: 178.301 mph
CAUTION FLAGS: 3 for 23 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 11 among 3 drivers
LAP LEADERS: Power 1-56; Montoya 57-60; Power 61-99; Montoya 100-102;
Carpenter 103-125; Power 126-170; Carpenter 171; Montoya 172-177;
Power 178-181; Carpenter 182-212; Power 213; Carpenter 214-248.
Shell Pennzoil Grand Prix of Houston (Race 2) Entry List
CarDriver, HometownCar/Name
2Juan Pablo Montoya (Bogota, Colombia)Chevrolet/Team Penske
3Helio Castroneves (Sao Paulo, Brazil)Chevrolet/Team Penske
7Mikhail Aleshin (Moscow, Russia)Honda/Schmidt Peterson Motorsports
8Ryan Briscoe (Sydney, Australia)Chevrolet/Chip Ganassi Racing
9Scott Dixon (Auckland, New Zealand)Chevrolet/Chip Ganassi Racing
10Tony Kanaan (Salvador, Brazil)Chevrolet/Chip Ganassi Racing
11Sebastien Bourdais (Le Mans, France)Chevrolet/KVSH Racing
12 *Will Power (Toowoomba, Australia)Chevrolet/Team Penske
14Takuma Sato (Tokyo, Japan)Honda/A.J. Foyt Enterprises
15Graham Rahal (New Albany, OH)Honda/Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
16Luca Filippi (Savigliano, Italy)Honda/Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
17Sebastian Saavedra (Bogota, Colombia)Chevrolet/KVAFS Racing
18Carlos Huertas (Bogota, Colombia)Honda/Dale Coyne Racing
19Justin Wilson (Sheffield, England)Honda/Dale Coyne Racing
20Mike Conway (Bromley, England)Chevrolet/Ed Carpenter Racing
25Marco Andretti (Nazareth, PA)Honda/Andretti Autosport
27James Hinchcliffe (Toronto, Canada)Honda/Andretti Autosport
28Ryan Hunter-Reay (Ft. Lauderdale, FL)Honda/Andretti Autosport
34Carlos Munoz (Bogota, Colombia)Honda/Andretti-HVM
67Josef Newgarden (Hendersonville, TN)Honda/Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing
77Simon Pagenaud (Montmorillon, France)Honda/Schmidt Peterson Hamilton
83Charlie Kimball (Camarillo, CA)Chevrolet/Chip Ganassi Racing
99Jack Hawksworth (Bradford, England)Honda/BHA/BBM
* - Defending champion
Leading Contenders (finish from last year)
Will PowerWon
Scott Dixon2
James Hinchcliffe3
Justin Wilson4
Sebastien Bourdais5
Simon Pagenaud6
Charlie Kimball8
Mike Conway9
Sebastian Saavedra12
Josef Newgarden13
Takuma Sato14
Graham Rahal18
Luca Filippi19
Marco Andretti20
Ryan Hunter-Reay21
Helio Castroneves23
Tony Kanaan24
Juan Pablo Montoya---
Ryan Briscoe---
Carlos Munoz---
Jack Hawksworth---
Carlos Huertas---
Mikhail Aleshin---
Mover of the Week
Graham Rahal - started 21 and finished 12
Sports Network Selections
Pick to Win - Scott Dixon
Last Week's Pick to Win (Helio Castroneves) - finished 8
Race 2 of the Shell Pennzoil Grand Prix of Houston at NRG Park is the tenth event on the 2014 Verizon IndyCar Series schedule.

This will be the second time this season that IndyCar runs two full-distance races at a venue on the same weekend. The Raceway at Belle Isle Park in Detroit hosted the first weekend doubleheader of the year in IndyCar earlier this month. The third and final doubleheader weekend will take place on the streets of Toronto, scheduled for July 19-20.

Last October, the Shell Pennzoil GP of Houston was the first open-wheel race held at NRG Park (then known as Reliant Park). Champ Car competed there from 2006-07. Sebastien Bourdais won both times at this street circuit.

IndyCar moved the weekend doubleheader in Houston from October to June on this year's schedule. In the 2013 doubleheader at this circuit, Scott Dixon won the first race, and Will Power scored the victory in the second event.

CART raced on a a 1.527-mile temporary street circuit in downtown Houston from 1998-2001. Dario Franchitti won the first race. Paul Tracy (1999), Jimmy Vasser (2000) and Gil de Ferran (2001) claimed victories in the other events.

The Shell Pennzoil GP of Houston will be the seventh and eighth races on a road/street course in 2014. The first six events were won by Will Power (St. Petersburg), Mike Conway (Long Beach), Ryan Hunter-Reay (Barber), Simon Pagenaud (Grand Prix of Indianapolis), Power (Belle Isle-1) and Helio Castroneves (Belle Isle-2).

The next race is the July 6 Pocono IndyCar 500 at Pocono Raceway. Scott Dixon won last year's event there.

06/24 14:34:17 ET

As of June 24, 2014, at 02:34 PM ET

WWL - AM870 | FM105.3 | News | Talk | Sports - Sidebar Only - Sports Network Pages
WWL - AM870 | FM105.3 | News | Talk | Sports - Footer Only - Sports Network Pages


1 Thing

Contact Us


WWL iPhone App

Powered By InterTech Media, LLC???