"Dave Ramsey Show"
Text Us: 870870
Studio: (504)260.1870
IndyCar Series
Verizon IndyCar Series - Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama Preview

From The Sports Network

DATE: Sunday, April 27
SITE: Barber Motorsports Park -- Birmingham, Ala.
TRACK: 2.38-mile, 17-turn road course
TELEVISION: NBC Sports Network
RADIO: IMS Radio Network/SIRIUS XM Satellite
START TIME: 3:12 p.m. (ET)
QUALIFYING TIME: Saturday, April 26/2 p.m. ET
RUNNER-UP: Scott Dixon
POLE WINNER: Ryan Hunter-Reay (finished 1)
LAPS: 90
MILES: 214.2
QUALIFYING RECORD: Scott Dixon, 2013 (123.999 mph - set in Q1)
RACE RECORD: Ryan Hunter-Reay, 2013 (110.818 mph)
2013 Finish
1Ryan Hunter-Reay16Simon Pagenaud13
2Scott Dixon47Marco Andretti7
3Helio Castroneves68Justin Wilson8
4Charlie Kimball59Josef Newgarden22
5Will Power210Tristan Vautier3
2013 Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama Facts and Figures
AVERAGE SPEED: 110.818 mph
TIME OF RACE: 1 hr., 52 min., 4.5450 secs.
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 0.6363 secs.
CAUTION FLAGS: 1 for 4 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 6 among 4 drivers
POLE WINNER: Ryan Hunter-Reay (123.422 mph)
FASTEST LAP: James Jakes, 120.014 mph, Lap 83
Past Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama Winners (Starting Position) Car -- Speed
2013 -- Ryan Hunter-Reay (1) -- Dallara-Chevrolet -- 110.818
2012 -- Will Power (9) -- Dallara-Chevrolet -- 102.081 mph
2011 -- Will Power (1) -- Dallara-Honda -- 92.194 mph
2010 -- Helio Castroneves (3) -- Dallara-Honda -- 106.436 mph
Past Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama Pole Winners (Finish)
2013 -- Ryan Hunter-Reay -- 1
2012 -- Helio Castroneves -- 3
2011 -- Will Power -- 1
2010 -- Will Power -- 3
Last Race Results
RACE: Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach (April 13)
SITE: Streets of Long Beach -- Long Beach, Calif.
MILES: 157.4
LAPS: 80
WINNER: Mike Conway
RUNNER-UP: Will Power
THIRD: Carlos Munoz
FOURTH: Juan Pablo Montoya
FIFTH: Simon Pagenaud
POLE WINNER: Ryan Hunter-Reay (finished 20)
TIME OF RACE: 1 hr., 54 mins., 41.6418 secs.
AVERAGE SPEED: 82.362 mph
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 0.9005 secs.
CAUTION FLAGS: 4 for 18 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 6 among 5 drivers
LAP LEADERS: Ryan Hunter-Reay 1-26; Scott Dixon 27-28; Hunter-Reay 29-53;
Josef Newgarden 54; Sebastian Saavedra 55-57; Dixon 58-77; Mike
Conway 78-80.
Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama Entry List
CarDriver, HometownCar/Name
2Juan Pablo Montoya (Bogota, Colombia)Chevrolet/Team Penske
3Helio Castroneves (Sao Paulo, Brazil)Chevrolet/Team Penske
7Mikhail Aleshin (Moscow, Russia)Honda/Schmidt Peterson Motorsports
8Ryan Briscoe (Sydney, Australia)Chevrolet/Chip Ganassi Racing
9Scott Dixon (Auckland, New Zealand)Chevrolet/Chip Ganassi Racing
10Tony Kanaan (Salvador, Brazil)Chevrolet/Chip Ganassi Racing
11Sebastien Bourdais (Le Mans, France)Chevrolet/KVSH Racing
12Will Power (Toowoomba, Australia)Chevrolet/Team Penske
14Takuma Sato (Tokyo, Japan)Honda/A.J. Foyt Enterprises
15Graham Rahal (New Albany, OH)Honda/Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
16Oriol Servia (Pals, Spain)Honda/Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
17Sebastian Saavedra (Bogota, Colombia)Chevrolet/KVAFS Racing
18Carlos Huertas (Bogota, Colombia)Honda/Dale Coyne Racing
19Justin Wilson (Sheffield, England)Honda/Dale Coyne Racing
20Mike Conway (Bromley, England)Chevrolet/Ed Carpenter Racing
25Marco Andretti (Nazareth, PA)Honda/Andretti Autosport
27James Hinchcliffe (Toronto, Canada)Honda/Andretti Autosport
28 *Ryan Hunter-Reay (Ft. Lauderdale, FL)Honda/Andretti Autosport
34Carlos Munoz (Bogota, Colombia)Honda/Andretti-HVM
67Josef Newgarden (Hendersonville, TN)Honda/Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing
77Simon Pagenaud (Montmorillon, France)Honda/Schmidt Peterson Hamilton
83Charlie Kimball (Camarillo, CA)Chevrolet/Chip Ganassi Racing
99Jack Hawksworth (Bradford, England)Honda/BHA/BBM
* - defending champion.
Leading Contenders (Finish the last two years)
Ryan Hunter-Reay121412Won
Scott Dixon2222
Helio CastronevesWon733
Charlie Kimball---10254
Will Power4WonWon5
Simon Pagenaud---856
Marco Andretti54117
Tony Kanaan862113
Takuma Sato25162414
James Hinchcliffe---24626
Mike Conway9227---
Ryan Briscoe62114---
Juan Pablo Montoya------------
Carlos Munoz------------
Mover of the Week
Mike Conway - Started 17 and finished 1
Sports Network Selections
Pick to Win - Will Power
Last Week's Pick to Win (Will Power) - finished 2
The Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama at Barber Motorsports Park is the third race on the 2014 Verizon IndyCar Series schedule.

BMS, which opened in 2003, has also hosted Grand-Am Sports Car Series and AMA Superbike Championship races. This course features 80 feet of elevation change that makes its challenging for drivers.

The inaugural IndyCar race at Barber took place on April 11, 2010. Helio Castroneves won that event. His Team Penske teammate, Will Power, has claimed victories there in 2011 and '12.

Power led all 90 laps in the 2011 race.

The 2012 event at Barber featured a track record nine lead changes among five drivers. Power won it from the ninth starting position.

Ryan Hunter-Reay won last year's race at this track. Hunter-Reay, the 2012 IndyCar champion, started on the pole and led a race-high 53 laps but had to hold off Scott Dixon in the closing laps. He beat Dixon to the finish line by just 0.6363 seconds for his 10th career IndyCar victory.

The next IndyCar race is the May 10 inaugural Grand Prix of Indianapolis held on Indianapolis Motor Speedway's 2.439-mile road course.

04/23 12:26:29 ET

As of April 23, 2014, at 12:26 PM ET

WWL - AM870 | FM105.3 | News | Talk | Sports - Sidebar Only - Sports Network Pages
WWL - AM870 | FM105.3 | News | Talk | Sports - Footer Only - Sports Network Pages


1 Thing

Contact Us


WWL iPhone App

Powered By InterTech Media, LLC???