"The Home Improvement Show" with Scoot and Paul LaGrange
Text Us: 870870
Studio: (504)260.1870
IndyCar Series
IZOD IndyCar Series - Edmonton Indy Preview

From The Sports Network

DATE: Sunday, July 24th
SITE: Edmonton City Centre Airport -- Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
TRACK: 2.256-mile, 13-turn temporary street/airport course
ANNOUNCERS: Bob Jenkins, Jon Beekhuis, Wally Dallenbach
RADIO: IMS Radio Network/ SIRIUS XM Satellite
START TIME: 2:45 p.m. (et)
RUNNER-UP: Will Power
POLE WINNER: Will Power (Finished 2nd)
LAPS: 95
MILES: 186.2
QUALIFYING RECORD: Will Power, 2010 (116.991 m.p.h.)
RACE RECORD: Will Power, 2009 (109.498 m.p.h.)
2010 Finish
1Scott Dixon36Paul Tracy15
2Will Power17Mario Moraes14
3Dario Franchitti48E.J. Viso6
4Ryan Briscoe59Takuma Sato13
5Ryan Hunter-Reay810Helio Castroneves2
2010 Edmonton Indy Facts and Figures
AVERAGE SPEED: 101.666 m.p.h.
TIME OF RACE: 1 hour, 50 minutes, 37.0551 seconds
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 2.6688 seconds
CAUTION FLAGS: 4 for 10 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 4 among 3 drivers
POLE WINNER: Will Power (116.991 m.p.h.)
FASTEST LAP: Scott Dixon, 114.326 m.p.h., Lap 88
Past Edmonton Indy Winners (Starting Position) Car -- Speed
2010 -- Scott Dixon (3rd) -- Dallara-Honda -- 101.666 m.p.h.
2009 -- Will Power (1st) -- Dallara-Honda -- 109.498 m.p.h. (race record)
2008 -- Scott Dixon (4th) -- Dallara-Honda -- 96.967 m.p.h.
NOTE: Formerly called Rexall Edmonton Indy (2008-09), Honda Indy Edmonton
Past Edmonton Indy Pole Winners (Finish)
2010 -- Will Power -- 2nd
2009 -- Will Power -- 1st
2008 -- Ryan Briscoe -- 6th
Last Race Results
RACE: Honda Indy Toronto (July 10th)
SITE: Streets of Toronto -- Toronto, Ontario, Canada
MILES: 146.285
LAPS: 85
WINNER: Dario Franchitti
RUNNER-UP: Scott Dixon
THIRD: Ryan Hunter-Reay
FOURTH: Marco Andretti
FIFTH: Vitor Meira
POLE WINNER: Will Power (Finished 24th)
AVERAGE SPEED: 76.805 m.p.h.
TIME OF RACE: 1 hour, 56 minutes, 32.1505 seconds
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 0.7345 second
CAUTION FLAGS: 8 for 32 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 3 among 3 drivers
LAP LEADERS: Will Power 1-32; Dario Franchitti 33-48; Graham Rahal 49-71;
Franchitti 72-85.
Edmonton Indy Entry List
CarDriver, HometownCar/Name
2Oriol Servia (Pals, Spain)Telemundo/Newman-Haas Racing
06James Hinchcliffe (Toronto, Canada)Sprott/Newman-Haas Racing
3Helio Castroneves (Sao Paulo, Brz)Penske Truck Rental/Team Penske
4J.R. Hildebrand (Sausalito, CA)U.S. National Guard/Panther Racing
5Takuma Sato (Tokyo, Japan)KV Racing Technology-Lotus
6Ryan Briscoe (Sydney, Australia)Penske Truck Rental/Team Penske
7Danica Patrick (Roscoe, IL)GoDaddy.com/Andretti Autosport
8Paul Tracy (Scarborough, Canada)Make A Wish/Dragon Racing
9 *Scott Dixon (Auckland, New Zealand)Target/Chip Ganassi Racing
10Dario Franchitti (Scotland)Target/Chip Ganassi Racing
12Will Power (Toowoomba, Australia)Verizon/Team Penske
14Vitor Meira (Brasilia, Brazil)ABC Supply Co./AJ Foyt Enterprises
18Jamie Jakes (Leeds, England)Acorn Stairlifts/Dale Coyne Racing
19Sebastien Bourdais (Le Mans,France)Boy Scouts of America/Dale Coyne Rac
22Justin Wilson (Sheffield, England)Z-Line Designs/Dreyer&ReinboldRacing
24Ana Beatriz (Sao Paulo, Brazil)Ipiranga/Dreyer & Reinbold Racing
26Marco Andretti (Nazareth, PA)Dr. Pepper/Andretti Autosport
27Mike Conway (Bromley, England)Andretti Autosport
28Ryan Hunter-Reay (Boca Raton, FL)DHL/Sun Drop/Andretti Autosport
34Sebastian Saavedra (Bogota,Colombia)Bogota Es Mundial/Conquest Racing
38Graham Rahal (New Albany, OH)Service Central/Chip Ganassi Racing
59E.J. Viso (Caracas, Venezuela)PDVSA/KV Racing Technology-Lotus
77Alex Tagliani (Lachenaie, Canada)Bowers & Wilkins/Sam Schmidt Motor.
78Simona de Silvestro (Switzerland)Nuclear Clean Air Energy/HVM Racing
82Tony Kanaan (Salvador, Brazil)GEICO/KV Racing Technology-Lotus
83Charlie Kimball (Camarillo, CA)Levemir and NovoLog/Chip Ganassi Rac
* - Defending champion.
Leading Contenders (Finish the last three years)
Scott DixonWon3rdWon
Will Power---Won2nd
Dario Franchitti---5th3rd
Ryan Briscoe6th4th4th
Ryan Hunter-Reay8th17th5th
Paul Tracy4th6th6th
Helio Castroneves2nd2nd10th
Marco Andretti17th10th11th
Tony Kanaan9th21st12th
Danica Patrick18th11th15th
Justin Wilson3rd8th21st
Alex Tagliani---13th23rd
Graham Rahal26th7th---
Mover of the Week
Marco Andretti - Started 20th on the grid and finished 4th
Sports Network Selections
Pick to Win - Scott Dixon
Darkhorse - Graham Rahal
Last Week's Pick to Win (Dario Franchitti) - Finished 1st
Last Week's Darkhorse (Alex Tagliani) - Finished 23rd
Bizarre and controversial are two words that come to mind in regards to the 2010 running of the Honda Indy Edmonton race.

Helio Castroneves held the lead for the final restart with four laps remaining, and Castroneves and his Team Penske teammate Will Power ran side-by-side for the top position as they entered the first turn. Castroneves then moved from the outside lane to the inside and interfered with the progress of Power.

When Indy Racing League official Brian Barnhart charged Castroneves for blocking and issued a drive-through penalty to the Brazilian driver, Dixon darted past Power to take the second position.

Officials black-flagged Castroneves for failing to serve his penalty and placed him at the end of the lead lap in 10th at the finish of the race. Castroneves was furious with the decision, and at the conclusion of the 95-lap race at Edmonton's City Centre Airport course, he confronted IRL officials along the pit area. He grabbed the shirt of one of the officials.

The win for Dixon was one of three 2010 victories. Currently third on the points list, Dixon has recorded seven top-10 finishes in 10 starts this year, but no wins. For his career, Dixon is the IndyCar all-time series leader with 24 victories. Current points leader Dario Franchitti is second with 20.

Will Power became a first-time winner in the IndyCar Series with a dominating performance in 2009 at Edmonton City Centre Airport circuit. Power started on the pole and led 90 of 95 laps, relinquishing the top position only when he pitted. He held a one-second lead over his Team Penske teammate Helio Castroneves before the race ended under caution for an incident involving Tomas Scheckter with less than two laps to go.

Starting from the fourth position, Dixon finally took the lead on lap 62 and held on for the duration of the 2008 race, as he defeated Helio Castroneves by 5.9237 seconds. Dixon led the final 30 laps for the 15th of his 24 career IndyCar titles. Pole sitter Ryan Briscoe led the first three laps, but finished sixth.

Edmonton is no stranger to auto racing, as this track was the previous host to the ChampCar Series for three seasons. Sebastien Bourdais was a two-time champion of that race, while Justin Wilson, now racing in the IRL, captured the checkered flag in 2006.

The 2011 IZOD IndyCar Series continues with the August 7th running of the Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course. Dario Franchitti won last year's race there.

07/19 14:06:18 ET

As of July 19, 2011, at 02:06 PM ET

WWL - AM870 | FM105.3 | News | Talk | Sports - Sidebar Only - Sports Network Pages
WWL - AM870 | FM105.3 | News | Talk | Sports - Footer Only - Sports Network Pages


1 Thing

Contact Us


WWL iPhone App

Powered By InterTech Media, LLC???