Camping World Truck Series

NASCAR - Camping World Truck - N.C. Education Lottery 200 Preview

From The Sports Network

DATE: Friday, May 17
SITE: Charlotte Motor Speedway -- Concord, N.C.
TRACK: 1.5-mile oval
CAPACITY: 135,000 (Grandstand Seating)
ANNUAL: 11th
RADIO: Motor Racing Network (MRN)/SIRIUS NASCAR Radio
QUALIFYING TIME: Friday, May 17/4 p.m. ET
RUNNER-UP: Brad Keselowski
POLE WINNER: Ty Dillon (finished 10)
LAPS: 134
MILES: 201
QUALIFYING RECORD: Mike Skinner, 2005 (183.051 mph)
RACE RECORD: Kyle Busch, 2006 (124.845 mph)
2012 Finish
1Justin Lofton26Jason White7
2Brad Keselowski97Joey Coulter3
3Todd Bodine178Jeb Burton21
4Jason Leffler59Timothy Peters4
5Ron Hornaday Jr1510Ty Dillon1
2012 N.C. Education Lottery 200 Facts and Figures
AVERAGE SPEED: 109.786 mph
TIME OF RACE: 1 hr., 59 mins., 51 secs.
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 0.261 secs.
CAUTION FLAGS: 8 for 36 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 8 among 7 drivers
POLE WINNER: Ty Dillon (181.616 mph)
Past N.C. Education Lottery 200 Winners (Starting Position) Car -- Speed
2012 -- Justin Lofton (2) -- Chevrolet -- 109.786 mph
2011 -- Kyle Busch (6) -- Toyota -- 101.615 mph
2010 -- Kyle Busch (1) -- Toyota -- 109.653 mph
2009 -- Ron Hornaday Jr (3) -- Chevrolet -- 121.125 mph
2008 -- Matt Crafton (18) -- Chevrolet -- 111.490 mph
2007 -- Ron Hornaday Jr (7) -- Chevrolet -- 122.809 mph
2006 -- Kyle Busch (20) -- Chevrolet -- 124.845 mph
2005 -- Kyle Busch (3) -- Chevrolet -- 104.571 mph
2004 -- Dennis Setzer (9) -- Chevrolet -- 107.631 mph
2003 -- Ted Musgrave (8) -- Dodge -- 114.768 mph
NOTE: Formerly called Hardee's 200 (2003), Infineon 200 (2004), Quaker Steak
& Lube 200 (2005-07).
Past N.C. Education Lottery 200 Pole Winners (Finish)
2012 -- Ty Dillon -- 10
2011 -- Timothy Peters -- 32
2010 -- Kyle Busch -- 1
2009 -- None -- Weather
2008 -- Kyle Busch -- 8
2007 -- Mike Skinner -- 8
2006 -- Mike Skinner -- 31
2005 -- Mike Skinner -- 26
2004 -- David Starr -- 3
2003 -- Bill Lester -- 15
Last Race Results
RACE: SFP 250 (April 21)
SITE: Kansas Speedway -- Kansas City, Kan.
MILES: 250.5
LAPS: 167
WINNER: Matt Crafton
RUNNER-UP: Joey Coulter
THIRD: Ryan Blaney
FOURTH: Brendan Gaughan
FIFTH: Johnny Sauter
POLE WINNER: James Buescher (finished 6)
TIME OF RACE: 2 hrs., 25 mins., 53 secs.
AVERAGE SPEED: 103.028 mph
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 0.167 secs.
CAUTION FLAGS: 11 for 52 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 18 among 10 drivers
LAP LEADERS: J. Buescher 1-14; B. Silas 15-15; M. Paludo 16-20; J. Buescher
21-33; J. Burton 34-35; M. Crafton 36-39; J. Buescher 40-61; K.
Busch 62-72; G. Quiroga Jr 73-73; D. Wallace Jr 74-80; J. Burton
81-84; T. Dillon 85-95; J. Burton 96-108; J. Buescher 109-114; J.
Coulter 115-118; J. Burton 119-125; J. Coulter 126-136; D.
Wallace Jr 137-137; M. Crafton 138-167.
N.C. Education Lottery 200 Entry List
CarDriver, HometownCar/Name
101Jake Crum (Statesville, NC)Chevrolet/TBA
002Brad Keselowski (Rochester Hills, MI)Ford/Draw Tite
102Tyler Young (Midland, TX)Chevrolet/Randco
3Ty Dillon (Welcome, NC)Chevrolet/Bass Pro Shops
4Jeb Burton (Halifax, VA)Chevrolet/Arrowhead/Kangaroo
5Tim George Jr. (New York, NY)Chevrolet/Applebee's
6Justin Lofton (Westmorland, CA)Chevrolet/Mad Vapes
07Chris Cockrum (Conyers, GA)Chevrolet/Advanced Comm. Group
7John Wes Townley (Watkinsville, GA)Toyota/Zaxby's
8Max Gresham ((Griffin, GA)Chevrolet/Amwins
9Ron Hornaday Jr. (Palmdale, CA)Chevrolet/NTS/Piggly Wiggly
10Jennifer Jo Cobb (Kansas City, KS)RAM/Koma Unwind Relaxation Drink
13Todd Bodine (Chemung, NY)Toyota/Mattei
17Timothy Peters (Providence, NC)Toyota/Parts Plus
18Joey Coulter (Miami Springs, FL)Toyota/Darrell Gwynn Foundation
19Ross Chastain (Alva, FL)Ford/TBA
24Brennan Newberry (Bakersfield, CA)Chevrolet/Qore-24
27Jeff Agnew (Copper Hill, VA)Chevrolet/TBA
28Blake Koch (West Palm Beach, FL)Chevrolet/FDNY Racing
29Ryan Blaney (High Point, NC)Ford/Cooper Standard
31James Buescher (Plano, TX)Chevrolet/Rheem
32Miguel Paludo (Nova Prata, Brazil)Chevrolet/Leavine's Children's Hosp.
39Ryan Sieg (Tucker, GA)Chevrolet/RSS Racing
50Danny Efland (Irmo, SC)Chevrolet/TBA
51Kyle Busch (Las Vegas, NV)Toyota/Kyle Busch Motorsports
54Darrell Wallace Jr. (Mobile, AL)Toyota/Liberty Tire Recycling
57Norm Benning (Level Green, PA)Chevrolet/TBA
60Dakoda Armstrong (New Castle, IN)Chevrolet/Winfield
62Brendan Gaughan (Las Vegas, NV)Chevrolet/South Point
75Caleb Holman (Abingdon, VA)Chevrolet/Highland Hickory Market
77German Quiroga (Mexico City, Mexico)Toyota/Net 10
81David Starr (Houston, TX)Toyota/NCCER/BYF
84Chris Fontaine (Lakeland, FL)Toyota/TBA
88Matt Crafton (Tulare, CA)Toyota/Menard's
92Scott Riggs (Bahama, NC)Chevrolet/92 Blacks Tire/Fleet-HQ
93Chris Jones (Forest, VA)Chevrolet/RSS Racing
98Johnny Sauter (Necedah, WI)Toyota/Carolina Nut Co/Curb Records
99Bryan Silas (Stuart, FL)Ford/Rockingham Speedway
* - defending champion.
Leading Contenders (Finish the last nine years)
Justin Lofton------------------1513Won
Brad Keselowski---24------------28---2
Todd Bodine20313312252273
Ron Hornaday Jr---115Won23Won355
Joey Coulter---------------------167
Jeb Burton------------------------8
Timothy Peters---3223---253110329
Ty Dillon------------------------10
Brendan Gaughan---814353------3012
Matt Crafton9987Won3112615
James Buescher---------------124422
Johnny Sauter---------------1312625
Kyle Busch---WonWon1182WonWon---
Ryan Blaney---------------------------
Darrell Wallace Jr.---------------------------
Mover of the Week
David Starr - started 31 and finished 13
Sports Network Selections
Pick to Win - Kyle Busch
Last Week's Pick to Win (Joey Logano) - finished 24
The North Carolina Education Lottery 200 at Charlotte Motor Speedway is the fifth race on the 2013 Camping World Truck Series schedule.

Justin Lofton won last year's truck race at Charlotte. Lofton grabbed the lead from Brad Keselowski after a restart with 10 laps remaining when Ron Hornaday Jr. bumped Keselowski from behind and shoved him down the track, allowing Lofton to slip by. He went on to beat Keselowski at the finish by 0.26 seconds for his first victory in his 55th career start in the series.

Kyle Busch holds the record for most truck wins at Charlotte with four. Busch won back-to-back races there from 2005-06 and again from 2010-11. He did not compete in last year's event.

Hornaday is the only other driver with multiple truck victories at Charlotte (2007 and '09).

Busch is the only driver who has won from the pole position at this track (2010).

Matt Crafton and David Starr are those drivers who have competed in all 10 truck races at Charlotte. Crafton is the current points leader and winner of the most recent event on April 20 at Kansas Speedway. His first career victory in the series came at Charlotte in 2008.

The next race is the May 31 Lucas Oil 200 at Dover International Speedway. Todd Bodine won there last year.

05/14 13:03:18 ET

As of May 14, 2013, at 01:03 PM ET

Powered by The Sports Network.

105-7FM The Fan - Sports Network Footer Only

Smartphone App

FAN Twitter



Contact Us

Photo Galleries