NASCAR Nationwide Series

NASCAR - Nationwide - Pioneer Hi-Bred 250 Preview

From The Sports Network

DATE: Sunday, May 20th
SITE: Iowa Speedway (2006) -- Newton, Iowa
TRACK: 0.875-mile oval - 1,075 feet (Frontstretch); 869 feet (Backstretch)
CAPACITY: 56,000 (Grandstand Seating)
ANNOUNCERS: Allen Bestwick, Dale Jarrett, Andy Petree
RADIO: Motor Racing Network (MRN)/SIRIUS NASCAR Radio
START TIME: 2 p.m. (ET)
RUNNER-UP: Carl Edwards
POLE WINNER: Drew Herring (Finished 12th)
LAPS: 250
MILES: 218.75
QUALIFYING RECORD: Ricky Stenhouse Jr., 2009 (135.135 m.p.h.)
RACE RECORD: Ricky Stenhouse Jr., 2011 (106.132 m.p.h.)
TOTAL PURSE: $1,362,993 (2011 figures)
PAYOUTS: 1st Place - $74,343; 2nd Place - $51,675; 3rd Place - $39,950
2011 Finish
1Ricky Stenhouse Jr86Kenny Wallace14
2Carl Edwards47Michael McDowell2
3Brad Keselowski108Justin Allgaier9
4Reed Sorenson59James Buescher13
5Elliott Sadler610Austin Dillon3
2011 Pioneer Hi-Bred 250 Facts and Figures
AVERAGE SPEED: 106.132 m.p.h.
TIME OF RACE: 2 hours, 3 minutes, 40 seconds
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 0.435 second
CAUTION FLAGS: 5 for 28 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 17 among 7 drivers
POLE WINNER: Drew Herring (2011 Owner Points)
Past Pioneer Hi-Bred 250 Winners (Starting Position) Car -- Speed
2011 -- Ricky Stenhouse Jr (8th) -- Ford -- 106.132 m.p.h.
NOTE: Formerly called Iowa John Deere Dealers 250 (2011).
Past Pioneer Hi-Bred 250 Pole Winners (Finish)
2011 -- None -- Weather
Last Race Results
RACE: VFW Sport Clips Help a Hero 200 (May 11th)
SITE: Darlington Raceway -- Darlington, South Carolina
MILES: 206.266
LAPS: 151
WINNER: Joey Logano
RUNNER-UP: Denny Hamlin
THIRD: Brad Keselowski
FOURTH: Sam Hornish Jr
FIFTH: Austin Dillon
POLE WINNER: Ricky Stenhouse Jr (Finished 6th)
TIME OF RACE: 1 hour, 50 minutes, 29 seconds
AVERAGE SPEED: 112.017 m.p.h.
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 0.255 second
CAUTION FLAGS: 6 for 32 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 13 among 7 drivers
LAP LEADERS: R. Stenhouse Jr. 1-18; D. Hamlin 19-41; J. Logano 42; D. Hamlin
43-50; K. Busch 51-52; D. Hamlin 53-90; K. Busch 91; J. Logano
92; B. Gaughan 93; J. Allgaier 94-101; D. Hamlin 102-128; E.
Sadler 129-142; D. Hamlin 143-149; J. Logano 150-151.
Iowa Pioneer Hi-Bred 2500 Entry List
CarDriver, HometownCar/Name
01Mike Wallace (St. Louis, MO)Chevrolet/
2Elliott Sadler (Emporia, VA)Chevrolet/One Main Financial
3Austin Dillon (Lewisville, NC)Chevrolet/Advocare
4Daryl Harr (St. Albert, Canada)Ford/TBA
6 *Ricky Stenhouse Jr (Olive Brnch,MS)Ford/Cargill Beef
7Danica Patrick (Roscoe, IL)Chevrolet/
08Tim Andrews (Concord, NC)Ford/Randy Hill Racing
10Tony Raines (LaPorte, IN)Toyota/TBA
11Brian Scott (Boise, ID)Toyota/Dollar General
12Sam Hornish Jr. (Defiance, OH)Dodge/Detroit Genuine Parts
14Jeff Green (Owensboro, KY)Toyota/Hefty/Reynolds Wrap
15Blake Koch (West Palm Beach, FL)Chevrolet/Capital Plastic Surgery
18Michael McDowell (Glendale, AZ)Toyota/Pizza Ranch
19Tayler Malsam (Seattle WA)Toyota/G-Oil/Noys
20Darrell Wallace Jr. (Concord, NC)Toyota/Dollar General
22Parker Kligerman (Westport, CT)Dodge/Discount Tire
23Jamie Dick (Albuquerque, NM)Chevrolet/Viva Auto Group
24Benny Gordon (DuBois, PA)Chevrolet/TBA
26John Young (Woodside, CA)Dodge/Elkekt
30Steve Arpin (Fort Frances, Canada)Chevrolet//Mike's Hard Lemonade
31Justin Allgaier (Riverton, IL)Chevrolet/Brandt
33Brendan Gaughan (Las Vegas, NV)Chevrolet/South Point Casino
38Brad Sweet (Grass Valley. CA)Chevrolet/Great Clips
39Josh Richards (Shinnston, WV)Ford/NSW Kids
40Erik Darnell (Beach Park, FL)Chevrolet/
41Timmy Hill (Port Tobacco, MD)Ford/
42Josh Wise (Riverside, CA)Chevrolet/Curtis Key Plumbing
43Michael Annett (Des Moines, IA)Ford/Pilot Flying J
44Mike Bliss (Milwaukie, OR)Toyota/TBA
46Chase Miller (Denver, NC)Chevrolet/Curtis Key Plumbing
47Scott Speed (Manteca, CA)Chevrolet/Curtis Key Plumbing
50T.J. Bell (Reno, VA)Chevrolet/TBA
51Jeremy Clements (Spartanburg, SC)Chevrolet/Clements Automotive
52Joey Gase (Cedar Rapids, IA)Chevrolet/TBA
54Kurt Busch (Las Vegas, NV)Toyota/Monster Energy
70Johanna Long (Pensacola, FL)Chevrolet/Foretravel
74Mike Harmon (Birmingport, AL)Chevrolet/Koma Unwind
75Scott Riggs (Bahama, NC)Chevrolet/Rick Ware Racing
81Jason Bowles (Ontario, CA)Toyota/American Majority
87Joe Nemechek (Lakeland, FL)Toyota/AM/FM Energy Wood & Pellet
88Cole Whitt (Alpine, CA)Chevrolet/
89Morgan Shepherd (Conover, NC)Chevrolet/TBA
99Travis Pastrana (Annapolis, MD)Toyota/TBA
* - defending champion.
Leading Contenders (Finish the last year)
Ricky Stenhouse JrWon
Elliott Sadler5th
Michael McDowell7th
Justin Allgaier8th
Austin Dillon10th
Michael Annett13th
Kurt Busch---
Sam Hornish Jr---
Danica Patrick---
Cole Whitt---
Brendan Gaughan---
Parker Kligerman---
Mover of the Week
Cole Whitt - Started in 40th position and finished 10th
Sports Network Selections
Pick to Win - Ricky Stenhouse Jr
Darkhorse - Danica Patrick
Last Week's Pick to Win (Elliott Sadler) - Finished 24th
Last Week's Darkhorse (Jeff Green) - Finished 19th
Ricky Stenhouse Jr not only captured the inaugural May race at Iowa Speedway last season, but in doing so, he became a first-time winner in the Nationwide Series as well.

Stenhouse outran his Roush Fenway Racing teammate, Carl Edwards, in the closing laps to become the first Nationwide regular to win a race in the series since March 2010 when Justin Allgaier took the checkered flag for the first time in his career at Bristol Motor Speedway.

Stenhouse and Edwards swapped the lead numerous times in the second half of the 250-lap race before Stenhouse moved in front for good following the last restart with 21 laps to go. He crossed the finish line 0.4 seconds ahead of Edwards for his first win in his 51st Nationwide start.

Stenhouse's two victories during his 2011 Nationwide championship season came at Iowa. He also notched 26 top-10 finishes last season.

So far in 2012, Stenhouse has two wins and eight top-10s in nine starts, as he leads in the championship standings by 23 points over Elliott Sadler.

Darrell Wallace Jr will make his Nationwide debut for Joe Gibbs Racing in this race. His initial victory - also the first for an African-American in NASCAR K&N Pro Series East history - was the first of six for Darrell Wallace in that series to date, including a win this year at Greenville-Pickens Speedway. In 25 K&N East races since 2012, Wallace also has 11 top fives, 19 top 10s and three poles to complement his trips to Victory Lane.

The next Nationwide Series race is the May 26 History 300 at Charlotte Motor Speedway. Matt Kenseth won last year's race there.

05/15 17:29:52 ET

As of May 15, 2012, at 05:30 PM ET

Powered by The Sports Network.

105-7FM The Fan - Sports Network Footer Only

Smartphone App

FAN Twitter



Contact Us

Photo Galleries