NASCAR Nationwide Series

NASCAR - Nationwide - STP 300 Preview

From The Sports Network

DATE: Saturday, June 4th
SITE: Chicagoland Speedway (2001) -- Joliet, Illinois
TRACK: 1.5-mile tri-oval - 2,400 feet (Frontstretch); 1,700 feet (Backstretch)
CAPACITY: 75,000 (Grandstand Seating)
ANNOUNCERS: Marty Reid, Dale Jarrett, Andy Petree
RADIO: Motor Racing Network (MRN)/SIRIUS NASCAR Radio
START TIME: 8 p.m. (et)
LAPS: 200
MILES: 300
Last Race Results
RACE: Top Gear 300 (May 28th)
SITE: Charlotte Motor Speedway -- Concord, North Carolina
MILES: 300
LAPS: 200
WINNER: Matt Kenseth
RUNNER-UP: Carl Edwards
THIRD: Kyle Busch
FOURTH: Ricky Stenhouse Jr
FIFTH: Reed Sorenson
POLE WINNER: Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (Finished 4th)
TIME OF RACE: 2 hours, 11 minutes, 44 seconds
AVERAGE SPEED: 136.640 m.p.h.
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 0.763 second
CAUTION FLAGS: 5 for 25 laps
LAP LEADERS: R. Stenhouse Jr. 1-12; M. Kenseth 13-16; C. Edwards 17-27; K.
Harvick 28-59; K. Busch 60-73; K. Harvick 74; K. Busch 75-102; M.
Kenseth 103-131; C. Edwards 132-136; K. Busch 137; S. Hornish Jr.
138; J. Allgaier 139-143; M. Annett 144; M. Kenseth 145-149; C.
Edwards 150-154; K. Busch 155; C. Edwards 156-197; M. Kenseth
STP 300 Entry List
CarDriver, HometownCar/Name
01Mike Wallace (St. Louis, MO)Chevrolet/TBA
2Elliott Sadler (Emporia, VA)Chevrolet/One Main Financial
04To Be AnnouncedFord/Go Green Racing
6Ricky Stenhouse Jr (Olive Brnch,MS)Ford/Roush Fenway Racing
7Danica Patrick (Roscoe, IL)Chevrolet/Tissot
09Kenny Wallace (St. Louis, MO)Toyota/Family Farmers
11Brian Scott (Boise, ID)Toyota/Sandvik
13Rick Crawford (Mobile, AL)Ford/
14Eric McClure (Chilhowie, VA)Chevrolet/Hefty Black Out/Reynolds
15Timmy Hill (Port Tobacco, MD)Ford/Lilly Truck of VA
16Trevor Bayne (Knoxville, TN)Ford/Avnet/BMA
18Kelly Bires (Mauston, WI)Toyota/Heil Heating and Cooling
19Mike Bliss (Milwaukie, OR)Chevrolet/TriStar Motorsports
20Joey Logano (Middletown, CT)Toyota/Sandvik
22Brad Keselowski (Rochester Hls, MI)Dodge/Discount Tire
23Robert Richardson Jr (McKinney, TX)Dodge/North TX Pipe
28Derrike Cope (Spanaway, WA)Chevrolet/Maxelence
30Mikey Kile (Westlake, LA)Chevrolet/TBA
31Justin Allgaier (Riverton, IL)Chevrolet/Brandt
32Reed Sorenson (Peachtree City, GA)Chevrolet/Dollar General
33Kevin Harvick (Bakersfield, CA)Chevrolet/Rheem
38Jason Leffler (Long Beach, CA)Chevrolet/Great Clips
39Danny Efland (Irmo, SC)Ford/Go Green Racing
40Chase Miller (Denver, NC)Chevrolet/TBA
41Carl Long (Roxboro, NC)Ford/Lilly Trucking of VA
44Jeff Green (Owensboro, KY)Chevrolet/TBA
46To Be AnnouncedChevrolet/TBA
49Dennis Setzer (Newton, NC)Chevrolet/TBA
51Jeremy Clements (Spartanburg, SC)Chevrolet/Co-ops USA
52Kevin Lepage (Shelbourne, VT)Chevrolet/TBA
55Brett Rowe (Barboursville, WV)Chevrolet/Imperial Bedding
60Carl Edwards (Columbia, MO)Ford/Roush Fenway Racing
62Michael Annett (Des Moines, IA)Toyota/Pilot Travel Centers/Flying J
66Steve Wallace (Charlotte, NC)Toyota/5-Hour Energy
68Matthew Carter (Denver, NC)Chevrolet/Rick Ware Racing
70David Stremme (South Bend, IN)Chevrolet/Foretravel
74Mike Harmon (Birmingport, AL)Chevrolet/Riverwalk Cafe
75Johnny Chapman (Stony Point, NC)Ford/Rick Ware Racing
79Tim Andrews (Concord, NC)Ford/TBA
81Blake Koch (West Palm Beach, FL)Dodge/
87Joe Nemechek (Lakeland, FL)Toyota/NEMCO Motorsports
88Aric Almirola (Tampa, FL)Chevrolet/
89Morgan Shepherd (Conover, NC)Chevrolet/Victory in Jesus Racing
99Ryan Truex (Mayetta, NJ)Toyota/Pastrana Waltrip Racing
Mover of the Week
Danny Efland - Started in the 39th position and finished 19th
Sports Network Selections
Pick to Win - Elliott Sadler
Darkhorse - Josh Wise
Last Week's Pick to Win (Kyle Busch) - Finished 3rd
Last Week's Darkhorse (Trevor Bayne) - Did Not Start
The Nationwide Series will run the inaugural STP 300 at Chicagoland Speedway. The Nationwide circuit has been running a fall race at Chicagoland since 2001. Kyle Busch and Kevin Harvick are two-time winners of that race.

In ten previous races, the pole sitter has never crossed the finish line first at Chicagoland. The number three position and eighth spot have posted two wins each.

After 13 races this season, Elliott Sadler owns the slimmest of leads over Ricky Stenhouse Jr, as one point separates the duo. Reed Sorenson, who stands third, is just two points back, while Justin Allgaier is 22 behind in fourth.

The next Nationwide Series race is the June 18th staging of the Alliance Truck Parts 250 at Michigan International Speedway. Brad Keselowski won last year's race there.

05/31 13:42:47 ET

As of May 31, 2011, at 01:42 PM ET

Powered by The Sports Network.

105-7FM The Fan - Sports Network Footer Only

Smartphone App

FAN Twitter



Contact Us

Photo Galleries