Minor League Hockey

Hershey Bears win Calder Cup

Hershey, PA (Sports Network) - The Hershey Bears captured the Calder Cup on Monday, winning the American Hockey League championship series with a 4-0 win over the Texas Stars at Giant Center.

The Bears, the top development team of the Washington Capitals, became the first team to repeat as Calder Cup champions since 1991. It was their third title in the last five years and extended their own league record with their 11th overall championship.

Patrick McNeill had two goals and John Carlson added a goal and an assist in Monday's contest as the Bears won the best-of-seven series, 4-2. Hershey won the final four games, with Michal Neuvirth making 22 saves in the series finale.

The Bears also set a record with eight overtime victories during the 2010 postseason.

Bears forward Chris Bourque won the Jack A. Butterfield Trophy as the most valuable player of the 2010 Calder Cup Playoffs, finishing with a league- leading 27 points (seven goals, 20 assists) in 21 games.

06/14 22:10:38 ET

Powered by The Sports Network.

SportsRadio 1250 - Sports Network Footer Only

WSSP iPhone App

WSSP Twitter



Contact Us

Photo Galleries