IndyCar Series

IZOD IndyCar Series - Chevrolet Indy Dual in Detroit Preview

From The Sports Network

DATE: Saturday, June 1 (Race 1), Sunday, June 2 (Race 2)
SITE: The Raceway at Belle Isle Park -- Detroit, Mich.
RADIO: IMS Radio Network/SIRIUS XM Satellite
START TIME: Saturday, 3:30 p.m. ET/Sunday, 3:30 p.m. ET
QUALIFYING TIME: Friday, 3 p.m. ET/Saturday, 9:15 a.m. ET
RUNNER-UP: Dario Franchitti
POLE WINNER: Scott Dixon (finished 1)
LAPS: 70 (each race)
MILES: 164.22 (each race)
QUALIFYING RECORD: Scott Dixon, 2012 (105.697 mph)
RACE RECORD: Justin Wilson, 2007 (89.911 mph)
2012 Finish
1Scott Dixon16Tony Kanaan18
2Dario Franchitti147Ryan Hunter-Reay6
3Simon Pagenaud48Charlie Kimball20
4Will Power29Mike Conway15
5Oriol Servia1610Alex Tagliani3
2012 Chevrolet Indy Dual in Detroit Facts and Figures
AVERAGE SPEED: 85.012 mph
TIME OF RACE: 1 hr., 27 mins., 39.5053 secs. (shortened to 60 laps)
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 1.9628 secs.
CAUTION FLAGS: 3 for 12 laps
LEAD CHANGES: none (Scott Dixon 1-60)
POLE WINNER: Scott Dixon (105.697 mph)
FASTEST LAP: Justin Wilson, 103.407 mph, Lap 18
Past Chevrolet Indy Dual in Detroit Winners (Starting Position) Car -- Speed
2012 -- Scott Dixon (1) -- Dallara-Chevrolet) -- 85.012 mph
2011 -- Not held
2010 -- Not held
2009 -- Not held
2008 -- Justin Wilson (4) -- Dallara-Honda -- 89.911 mph
2007 -- Tony Kanaan (4) -- Dallara-Honda -- 83.841 mph
NOTE: Formerly called Motorola Indy 300 (2007), Detroit Indy Grand Prix
(2008), Chevrolet Detroit Belle Isle Grand Prix (2012).
Past Chevrolet Indy Dual in Detroit Pole Winners (Finish)
2012 -- Scott Dixon -- 1
2011 -- Not held
2010 -- Not held
2009 -- Not held
2008 -- Scott Dixon -- 5
2007 -- Helio Castroneves -- 14
Last Race Results
RACE: Indianapolis 500 (May 26)
SITE: Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Indianapolis, Ind.
MILES: 500
LAPS: 200
WINNER: Tony Kanaan
RUNNER-UP: Carlos Munoz
THIRD: Ryan Hunter-Reay
FOURTH: Marco Andretti
FIFTH: Justin Wilson
POLE WINNER: Ed Carpenter (finished 10)
TIME OF RACE: 2 hrs., 40 mins., 3.4181 secs.
MARGIN OF VICTORY: Under caution
AVERAGE SPEED: 187.433 mph (event record)
CAUTION FLAGS: 8 for 39 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 68 among 14 drivers (event record)
LAP LEADERS: Ed Carpenter 1-8; Tony Kanaan 9; Carpenter 10-12; Kanaan 13-14;
Marco Andretti 15-16; Kanaan 17-20; Andretti 21-22; Kanaan 23;
Andretti 24-26; Kanaan 27-28; Andretti 29; Ryan Hunter-Reay 30;
Will Power 31-32; James Jakes 33-37; Carpenter 38-42; Andretti
43; Carpenter 44-50; Andretti 51-53; Carpenter 54-58; Hunter-Reay
59-60; Andretti 61; Hunter-Reay 62-63; Carpenter 64-72; Kanaan
73-74; Power 75-88; Kanaan 89; E.J. Viso 90; Carlos Munoz 91-92;
Kanaan 93-97; A.J. Allmendinger 98-111; Kanaan 112; Andretti
113-114; Kanaan 115-120; Hunter-Reay 121, Munoz 122; Alex
Tagliani 123; Townsend Bell 124; James Hinchcliffe 125; Andretti
126-130; Hunter-Reay 131; Viso 132-135; Hunter-Reay 136;
Allmendinger 137-142; Hunter-Reay 143-144; Helio Castroneves 145;
Andretti 146-150; Hunter-Reay 151; Munoz 152-154; Scott Dixon
155; Hinchcliffe 156-157; Hunter-Reay 158-164; Allmendinger
165-167; Andretti 168; Hunter-Reay 169; Andretti 170; Hunter-Reay
171; Andretti 172-173; Kanaan 174; Andretti 175; Kanaan 176-177;
Munoz 178; Andretti 179; Munoz 180-184; Hinchcliffe 185-188;
Kanaan 189; Hunter-Reay 190; Kanaan 191-192; Hunter Reay 193-197;
Kanaan 198-200.
Chevrolet Indy Dual in Detroit Entry List
CarDriver, HometownCar/Name
1Ryan Hunter-Reay (Ft. Lauderdale, FL)DHL/Andretti Autosport
2A.J. Allmendinger (Los Gatos, CA)Quicken Loans/Team Penske
3Helio Castroneves (Sao Paulo, Brazil)Hitachi/Team Penske
4Ryan Briscoe (Sydney, Australia)U.S. National Guard/Panther Racing
5E.J. Viso (Caracas, Venezuela)Venezuela/Andretti Autosport/HVM
6Sebastian Saavedra (Bogota, Colombia)Dragon Racing
7Sebastien Bourdais (Le Mans, France)Dragon Racing
9 *Scott Dixon (Auckland, New Zealand)Target/Chip Ganassi Racing
10Dario Franchitti (Edinburgh,Scotland)Suave/Chip Ganassi Racing
11Tony Kanaan (Salvador, Brazil) Racing Technology
12Will Power (Toowoomba, Australia)Verizon/Team Penske
14Takuma Sato (Tokyo, Japan)ABC Supply/A.J. Foyt Racing
15Graham Rahal (New Albany, OH)Midas/Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
16James Jakes (Leeds, England)Acorn Stairlifts/RLL Racing
18Mike Conway (Bromley, England)Dale Coyne Racing
19Justin Wilson (Sheffield, England)Dale Coyne Racing
20Ed Carpenter (Indianapolis, IN)Fuzzy's Vodka/Ed Carpenter Racing
25Marco Andretti (Nazareth, PA)RC Cola/Andretti Autosport
27James Hinchcliffe (Toronto, Canada) Autosport
55Tristan Vautier (Corenc, France)Schmidt Peterson Motorsports
67Josef Newgarden (Hendersonville, TN)Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing
77Simon Pagenaud (Montmorillon, France)Schmidt Hamilton HP Motorsports
78Simona de Silvestro (Thun, Switzer.)Nuclear Entergy Areva/KVRT
83Charlie Kimball (Camarillo, CA)NovoLog Flex Pen/Chip Ganassi Racing
98Alex Tagliani (Lachenaie, QB, Canada)Barracuda Racing/Bryan Herta Autospt
* - defending champion.
Leading Contenders (Finish last three years)
Scott Dixon85Won
Dario Franchitti6---2
Simon Pagenaud------3
Will Power---84
Tony KanaanWon36
Ryan Hunter-Reay1867
Marco Andretti171811
Helio Castroneves14217
Takuma Sato------20
James Hinchcliffe------21
Justin Wilson---Won22
Mover of the Week
Ana Beatriz - started 29 and finished 15
Sports Network Selections
Pick to Win - Helio Castroneves
Last Week's Pick to Win (Marco Andretti) - finished 4
The Chevrolet Indy Dual in Detroit, which is held on the Raceway at Belle Isle Park, are races 6 and 7 on the 19-race schedule for the 2013 IZOD IndyCar Series season.

For the first time in its history, IndyCar will run two full-distance races at a venue on the same weekend. The street circuits in Toronto and Houston also will host doubleheaders this season. Toronto is scheduled for July 13-14, and Houston's Reliant Park, which is a new venue on this year's series schedule, is slated for Oct. 5-6.

Detroit's Belle Isle hosted IndyCar-sanctioned races from 2007-08 before this track was dropped from the schedule for the next three years. IndyCar returned there in 2012.

Belle Isle hosted CART races each year from 1992-2001. Helio Castroneves scored back-to-back CART victories there from 2000-01. Dario Franchitti won the 1999 event.

When IndyCar competed at Belle Isle last year, the scheduled 90-lap race was stopped shortly after James Hinchcliffe struck a piece of asphalt, sending him into the tire barrier in turn seven. Chunks of asphalt in turns 6, 7 and 10 were coming loose before Hinchcliffe's incident occurred on lap 40.

Track personnel repaired the affected areas on the circuit with an epoxy compound that required about 30 minutes of drying time. The race resumed on lap 46. However, IndyCar officials had to shorten the event by 30 laps due to darkness approaching and safety concerns.

Scott Dixon dominated the whole race, starting on the pole and leading all 60 laps. Franchitti finished second to give Chip Ganassi Racing its second straight 1-2 finish. The week before Detroit, Franchitti and Dixon finished first and second, respectively, in the Indianapolis 500.

The next IndyCar race is the June 8 Firestone 550 at Texas Motor Speedway. Justin Wilson is the defending race winner.

05/30 17:28:11 ET

As of May 30, 2013, at 05:28 PM ET

Powered by The Sports Network.

105-7FM The Fan - Sports Network Footer Only

Smartphone App

FAN Twitter



Contact Us

Photo Galleries