Men's College Basketball
<    September    >

Louisville, Kansas, Gonzaga, Indiana get No. 1 seeds

Indianapolis, IN (Sports Network) - Louisville, Kansas, Gonzaga and Indiana were each given top seeds for the 2013 NCAA Tournament on Sunday.

Louisville (29-5) earned the No. 1 overall seed with a strong finish. The Cardinals won their last 10 games -- nine by double digits -- and captured the always difficult Big East Tournament with a 17-point win over Syracuse on Saturday.

The Cardinals will play in the Midwest Region, while Kansas (29-5), the Big 12 regular season and tournament champion, highlights the South Region.

Gonzaga (31-2), the No. 1 team in the Associated Press poll and owners of a 14-winning streak with a perfect run through the West Coast Conference, will be in the West Region.

Despite losing in the Big Ten Tournament semifinals, Indiana (27-6) was awarded the top seed in the East Region by winning the regular season title in arguably the toughest conference in the country.

The Big Ten received seven bids, one less than the Big East.

A new champion will be crowned this season as the Kentucky Wildcats did not gain an at-large bid into the tournament after five players from last year's title team left school early for the NBA Draft.

The No. 2 seeds in the field are Duke, Georgetown, Miami-Florida and Ohio State. Michigan State, Florida, Marquette and New Mexico comprise the No. 3 seeds, while Saint Louis, Michigan, Syracuse and Kansas State round out the top four seeds in each region.

The opening round -- referred to as the "First Four" -- commences Tuesday in a pair of Midwest Region games. In a matchup of No. 11 seeds, Middle Tennessee and Saint Mary's do battle, while North Carolina A&T will play Liberty as No. 16 seeds.

Wednesday features Boise State and La Salle vying for the No. 13 seed in the West Region, and LIU-Brooklyn and James Madison will fight for the right to play top-seeded Indiana in the East Region.

All four games will be played at University of Dayton Arena.

The "madness" truly begins with 32 games on Thursday and Friday, and the winners going on to the third round over the weekend.

The Verizon Center in Washington, D.C. will host the East Regional semifinals and final on March 28 and 30, the same days the West Regional is decided at Staples Center in Los Angeles. The Midwest's Sweet 16 and Elite Eight games will be played at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis on March 29 and 31, while the South's Friday-Sunday scenario takes place at Cowboys Stadium in Arlington.

The Final Four will be April 6 at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta with the championship game two nights later.

03/18 08:03:37 ET

Powered by The Sports Network.

WholeHogSports - Arkansas Razorback News - Football, Basketball, Baseball