National Football League

Cowboys rework deal with McCray, cut Bell, Armstrong

Arlington, TX (Sports Network) - The Dallas Cowboys reached the 53-man roster limit Saturday by reworking special teams stalwart Danny McCray's contract and releasing a pair of veterans, offensive tackle Demetress Bell and wide receiver Anthony Armstrong.

Other notable moves for Dallas including safety Matt Johnson's move to the injured reserve list along with the releases of wide receiver Danny Coale, quarterback Alex Tanney and cornerbacks Sterling Moore and Micah Pellerin.

Johnson, a fourth-round pick of the Cowboys in 2012, has yet to suit up for a regular-season game due to injuries.

Others players waived by the Cowboys included safety Jakar Hamilton, wide receiver Tim Benford, running back Kendial Lawrence, offensive lineman Kevin Kowalski, offensive tackle Edawn Coughman, defensive ends Jabari Fletcher and Thaddeus Gibson, linebacker Taylor Reed, cornerback Xaiver Brewer, offensive guard Ray Dominguez, defensive tackle Jerome Long, defensive end Jason Vega and linebackers Caleb McSurdy, Cameron Lawrence and Brandon Magee.

The Cowboys open the regular season on Sept. 8, when they host the New York Giants.

08/31 18:14:36 ET

Powered by The Sports Network.

  • Sidelines

    High school sports talk with reporter James Allen.
  • College Sports

    Talk about Siena and UAlbany college hoops with reporters Pete Iorizzo and Mark Singelais.
  • Sports Media

    Columnist Pete Dougherty keeps track of local and national sports coverage.
  • Hockey Spoken Here

    Covering the local hockey scene, including the Albany Devils, RPI and Union
  • Talking Horses

    Tim Wilkin on the sport of kings at Saratoga and around the country.