National Football League

Vikings set 53-man roster

Eden Prairie, MN (Sports Network) - The Minnesota Vikings finalized their 53- man roster on Saturday, releasing 19 players.

On the offensive side of the ball, the team cut tight ends Colin Anderson and Chase Ford, running back Joe Banyard, guard Travis Bond, wide receivers Stephen Burton, Rodney Smith and Adam Thielen and tackles Brandon Keith and Kevin Murphy.

The defense saw safeties Brandan Bishop and Darius Eubanks, cornerbacks Brandon Burton and Bobby Felder, defensive tackles Everett Dawkins, Anthony McCloud and Spencer Nealy, linebacker Tyrone McKenzie, and defensive ends D'Aundre Reed and Collins Ukwu released.

Also on Saturday, the team placed guard Seth Olsen on injured reserve, placed fullback Jerome Felton and tackle DeMarcus Love on the suspended list, wide receiver Greg Childs on the physically unable to perform list and announced that defensive tackle Christian Ballard has left the team.

Olsen suffered a concussion in Thursday's preseason finale against the Titans, while Felton is suspended for the first three games due to a DUI charge in 2012, and Love was handed a four-game ban after violating the NFL's policy on performance enhancing drugs.

08/31 22:58:19 ET