PGA Tour
PGA - Reno-Tahoe Open Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, August 1st through Sunday, August 4th
SITE: Montreux Golf & Country Club, Reno, Nevada
COURSE ARCHITECT: Jack Nicklaus (1997)
PAR: 72
YARDAGE: 7,472
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 494 Yds10 - Par 4 413 Yds
2 - Par 5 584 Yds11 - Par 3 171 Yds
3 - Par 3 186 Yds12 - Par 4 429 Yds
4 - Par 4 355 Yds13 - Par 5 518 Yds
5 - Par 4 491 Yds14 - Par 4 367 Yds
6 - Par 4 477 Yds15 - Par 4 439 Yds
7 - Par 3 183 Yds16 - Par 3 220 Yds
8 - Par 5 636 Yds17 - Par 4 464 Yds
9 - Par 4 429 Yds18 - Par 5 616 Yds
36 3,835 Yds36 3,637 Yds
Annual:  15th
Television:  Golf Channel - Thursday/Sunday -- 7-9 p.m. (et)
Defending Champion:  J.J. Henry
Runner-Up:  Alexandre Rocha
Tournament Record:  267 (Vaughn Taylor, 2005)
Tournament Record:  Plus 43 (J.J. Henry, 2012)
54-Hole Record:  195 (Vaughn Taylor, 2005)
36-Hole Record:  129 (Bob Estes, 2006)
Course Record:  61 (Scott Piercy, 2011)
Total Purse:  $3,000,000
Shares:  1st Place - $540,000; 2nd Place - $324,000; 3rd Place - $204,000
2012 Finish
J.J. Henry43Justin Leonard33
Alexandre Rocha42Josh Teater31
Andres Romero37Todd Hamilton30
John Mallinger34Tom Pernice Jr.30
John Daly33Brendan Steele30
Past Reno-Tahoe Open Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2012J.J. Henry (43) -- Alexandre Rocha
2011Scott Piercy (273) -- Pat Perez
2010Matt Bettencourt (277) -- Bob Heintz
2009John Rollins (271) -- Martin Laird
2008Parker McLachlin (270) -- Brian Davis, John Rollins
2007Steve Flesch (273) -- Charles Warren, Kevin Stadler
2006Will MacKenzie (268) -- Bob Estes
2005Vaughn Taylor (267) -- Jonathan Kaye
2004*Vaughn Taylor (278) -- Steve Allan, Hunter Mahan, Scott McCarron
2003Kirk Triplett (271) -- Tim Herron
2002*Chris Riley (271) -- Jonathan Kaye
2001John Cook (271) -- Jerry Kelly
2000*Scott Verplank (275) -- Jean Van de Velde
1999Notah Begay III (274) -- Chris Perry, David Toms

* - Won in Playoff

NOTE:Formerly called Legends Reno-Tahoe Open (2008-09).

Top Contenders in the Field
J.J. HenryT-16T-29T-4---------T-9T-26---Won
Andres Romero------------------mc------3rd
Josh Teater---------------------54thT-107th
Todd Hamilton------T-57---T-37---------T-25T-8
Brendan Steele---------------------------T-8
Kevin Stadler------T-41---T-2T-65T-42T-5mc11th
Padraig Harrington---------------------------T-19
Matt Bettencourt------------------T-53WonwdT-21
Rod PamplingT-3---------------8thT-21T-18T-54
Chris DiMarco------------------T-26T-10T-21mc
Vaughn Taylor---WonWon---------T-26T-35T-38mc
Chad Campbell---------------------T-15------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Chad Campbell
Darkhorse - Cameron Beckman
Last Week's Pick to Win (Brandt Snedeker) - Won
Last Week's Darkhorse (Hideki Matsuyama) - Finished tied for 16th
NOTES:Since this event is playing against the WGC - Bridgestone Invitational,
all of the top players in the world are in Ohio in preparation for next week's PGA Championship. But there are 11 former major championship winners in the field: Rich Beem (2002 PGA Championship), Ben Curtis (2003 British Open), David Duval (2001 British Open), Todd Hamilton (2004 British Open), Padraig Harrington (2007 and 2008 British Open, 2008 PGA Championship), Trevor Immelman (2008 Masters), Lee Janzen (1993 and 1998 U.S. Open), Davis Love III (1997 PGA Championship), Shaun Micheel (2003 PGA Championship), David Toms (2001 PGA Championship) and Mike Weir (2003 Masters).

This tournament used the Modified Stableford scoring format last year for the first time. It was the first PGA Tour event to use the format since The International in 2006. Players are allocated points based on the number of strokes taken at each hole with the goal of achieving the highest overall score. Eight points are awarded for double eagle, five for an eagle, two for a birdie and zero for a par. A bogey costs a player one point and a double bogey or worse costs three points.

Last year, J.J. Henry tallied 10 points in the first round, 12 in the second round, 14 in the third round, and seven in the final round to win by a single point over Alexandre Rocha. Henry hung on for his second PGA Tour title as he finished with 43 points at Montreux Golf and Country Club. All 14 winners of this event have been born in the United States.

In 2011, Scott Piercy fired a course-record 61 in the third round to jump in front, then held on for his first PGA Tour victory. Piercy finished at 15-under-par 273 for a one shot win over Pat Perez.

Matt Bettencourt captured his first PGA Tour win in 2010 with rounds of 66-68-75-68 to beat Bob Heintz by one shot. Heintz missed a 3-foot birdie putt at the 18th hole with a chance to force a playoff. Bettencourt finished at 11- under 277, rallying from three shots down for the win. It was the third day out of four that his name was atop the leaderboard. Only a 75 on Saturday kept him from completing a wire-to-wire victory.

In 2008, Parker McLachlin rolled to a 7-shot win over Brian Davis and John Rollins. He finished at 18-under-par 270 for his first PGA Tour victory. His 7-stroke win was the largest in tournament history.

Vaughn Taylor managed only an even-par 72 in the final round of 2005's version, but it was more than enough to win for the second straight year. Taylor completed the event at 21-under-par 267. Taylor, whose three-round total of 195 obliterated Jerry Kelly's 2001 54-hole record of 201, also smashed the 72-hole scoring record. Taylor eclipsed the previous mark by four strokes. John Cook was the first to post 271 in 2001, and he was later matched by Chris Riley and Jonathan Kaye in 2002 and Kirk Triplett in 2003. With his win in 2005, Taylor became the first wire-to-wire winner of this event. He is the only two-time winner and is the all-time money leader here with $1,128,863 in earnings.

The 1999 tournament made history, as Notah Begay III captured his first career win and became the first Native American since Rod Curl in 1974 to win on the PGA Tour. Begay took the lead following the third round and then, despite an even-par 72 in the final round, defeated Chris Perry and David Toms by three shots for the win.

The Reno area hosted several Champions Tour events in the 1980s, and previously hosted a PGA Tour stop in 1948 - the Reno Open Invitational won by Ben Hogan.

Players with Nevada ties have had success at this tournament, with UNLV graduate Riley winning in 2002 and University of Nevada alum Triplett winning in 2003 in the town where he went to college. Piercy, the 2011 winner, was born and still resides in Las Vegas.

The PGA Tour moves to Rochester, New York, next week for the PGA Championship, where Rory McIlroy will defend his title at Oak Hill Country Club.

07/30 16:37:35 ET

As of July 30, 2013, at 04:37 PM ET