PGA Tour
PGA - Mayakoba Golf Classic at Riviera Maya-Cancun
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, February 17th through Sunday, February 21st
SITE: El Camaleon Golf Club, Playa del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico
COURSE ARCHITECT: Greg Norman (2006)
PAR: 71
YARDAGE: 6,923
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 5 554 Yds10 - Par 3 200 Yds
2 - Par 3 151 Yds11 - Par 4 360 Yds
3 - Par 4 462 Yds12 - Par 4 451 Yds
4 - Par 4 438 Yds13 - Par 5 532 Yds
5 - Par 4 428 Yds14 - Par 4 452 Yds
6 - Par 4 389 Yds15 - Par 3 155 Yds
7 - Par 3 116 Yds16 - Par 4 485 Yds
8 - Par 5 490 Yds17 - Par 4 386 Yds
9 - Par 4 416 Yds18 - Par 4 458 Yds
36 3,444 Yds35 3,479 Yds
Annual:  4th
Television:  Golf Channel - Thursday/Saturday -- 6:30-8:30 p.m. (et) - taped,
  Sunday -- 7:30-9:30 p.m. (et) - taped
Defending Champion:  Mark Wilson
Runner-Up:  J.J. Henry
Tournament Record:  264 (Brian Gay, 2008)
54-Hole Record:  195 (Fred Funk, 2007; Brian Gay, 2008)
36-Hole Record:  130 (Mark Wilson, Kevin Na, 2009)
Course Record:  61 (Roland Thatcher, 2008)
Total Purse:  $3,600,000
Shares:  1st Place - $648,000; 2nd Place - $388,800; 3rd Place - $244,800
2009 Finish
Mark Wilson267Seven players at273
J.J. Henry269
Heath Slocum270
Kevin Streelman270
Kevin Na272
Past Mayakoba Golf Classic at Riviera Maya-Cancun Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2009Mark Wilson (267) -- J.J. Henry
2008Brian Gay (264) -- Steve Marino
2007*Fred Funk (266) -- Jose Coceres

* - Won in Playoff

Top Contenders in the Field
Mark WilsonT-66---Won
J.J. Henry------2nd
Heath Slocum------T-3
Jerry KellyT-26---T-6
Cameron Beckman7thT-42T-15
Kevin StadlerT-13T-48T-20
John MerrickT-48T-3T-28
Joe Durant---T-12T-28
Shigeki MaruyamawdT-42T-28
Charles Howell III------T-38
Joe OgilvieT-18T-12mc
Boo Weekley6th------
Stuart Appleby---------
K.J. Choi---------
David Duval---------
D.J. Trahan---------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - K.J. Choi
Darkhorse - D.J. Trahan
Last Week's Pick to Win - (Ernie Els) - Not in final field
Last Week's Darkhorse - (Marc Leishman) - Missed the cut
The PGA Tour heads to Mexico this week for the Mayakoba Golf Classic at Riviera Maya-Cancun. The top players in the world will not be competing at this event, as they are playing in the WGC-Accenture Match Play Championship in Arizona. Three of the top-100 players in the world are in the field - Heath Slocum (77), K.J. Choi (93) and Jerry Kelly (95). The 128-player field will battle it out for a purse of $3.6 million with the winner taking home $648,000.

Last year, Mark Wilson fired rounds of 66-64-69-68 to collect his second career PGA Tour victory at this event. Wilson finished at 13-under 267 and won by two strokes over J.J. Henry at El Camaleon Golf Club. Wilson was able to break away from the pack early in the final round, as he birdied the second and third holes. Henry played well to start, but Wilson still had total control of the tournament. Wilson birdied the ninth and 12th holes and, despite a birdie from Henry at the 11th, Wilson was three shots ahead of his closest pursuer. Things changed pretty quickly. Henry birdied the 13th hole and Wilson dropped a shot at the par-four 14th. Within two holes, Wilson lost his three-stroke cushion and was only one ahead with four to play. Henry bogeyed both the 16th and 17th holes. Wilson bogeyed No. 16 also, but was able to save par at 17. Wilson left himself with an easy par at the last to secure his second PGA Tour title. Wilson's only other win came at the 2007 Honda Classic, almost two years to the day between victories. Wilson and Kevin Na established a new 36-hole record of 130.

In 2008, after going 292 career starts without a win, Brian Gay picked up his first PGA Tour victory at this event. Gay completed the tournament at 16- under-par 264, which was a new record. The previous 72-hole record of 266 was set in 2007 by Fred Funk and Jose Coceres. Gay jumped in front by five strokes following a third-round 62. Gay's final winning margin of two strokes over Steve Marino was the closest anyone came to him during the final round.

In 2007, 50-year-old Fred Funk birdied the second playoff hole to defeat Jose Coceres and win this event. Funk finished the event at 14-under-par 266. Funk held at least a share of the lead following every round. The victory was his eighth PGA Tour win and first since the 2005 Players Championship. Funk has now won six (of 12) PGA events when holding at least a share of the 54-hole lead.

With the win in 2007, Funk became the second player to win a PGA Tour event after winning a Champions Tour event. Craig Stadler was the first to accomplish the feat. Funk also joined a rare club of players who have captured PGA Tour events in their 50s. Six players have posted wins in their 50s: Sam Snead, Art Wall, Jim Barnes, John Barnum, Stadler and Funk.

The 2007 tournament was the first PGA Tour event held in Mexico. In fact, it was the first official event conducted by the PGA Tour held outside of the United States and Canada.

El Camaleon Golf Club opened for play in 2006. The course bends through mangrove jungles, limestone canals and oceanfront stretches of sand. There is a massive underground cavern in the heart of the opening fairway. The course is located 35 minutes from downtown Cancun on the Riviera Maya.

Next week, the PGA Tour travels to Arizona for the Waste Management Phoenix Open in Scottsdale, where Kenny Perry is the defending champion.

02/16 13:53:10 ET

As of February 16, 2010, at 01:53 PM ET