Men's College Basketball
<    September    >
Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference Basketball Tournament
(Seeds in Parenthesis)

From The Sports Network

Site: Norfolk Scope Arena (10,253) -- Norfolk, Virginia
Dates: Monday, March 10th through Saturday, March 15th
Annual: 43rd
Defending Champion: North Carolina A&T def. Morgan State, 57-54
Television: ESPN U (Championship Game)
Monday, March 10th - Opening Round
Norfolk State 78, (13) Maryland Eastern Shore (6-24) 74
Savannah State 61, (12) South Carolina State (9-21) 47
Tuesday, March 11th - Opening Round
Howard 53, (9) North Carolina A&T (9-23) 47
Coppin State 75, (10) Bethune-Cookman (7-25) 68
Florida A&M 65, (11) Delaware State (9-21) 61
Wednesday, March 12th - Quarterfinal Round
North Carolina Central 92, (8) Howard (8-25) 46
Coppin State 83, (2) Hampton (18-12) 77
Thursday, March 13th - Quarterfinal Round
Morgan State 81, (6) Florida A&M (14-18) 68
Norfolk State 57, (5) Savannah State (13-19) 47
Friday, March 14th - Semifinal Round
NC Central 68, (4) Norfolk State (19-14) 45
Morgan State 79, (7) Coppin State (12-20) 64
Saturday, March 15th - Championship Game
(1) NC Central (28-5) 71, (3) Morgan State (15-16) 62
Tournament Titles and Records
 SchoolTitlesLast Tourney Record  
 NC A&T162013 52-27  
 South Carolina State52003 42-37  
 Florida A&M42007 33-27  
 Coppin State42008 29-21  
 Hampton42011 23-11  
 Howard31992 38-40  
 Morgan State32010 37-28  
 Delaware State12005 21-41  
 NC Central12014 1-2  
 Norfolk State12012 14-13  
 Md-Eastern Shore11974 13-38  
 Bethune-Cookman0 22-33  
 Savannah State0 1-2  
Past MEAC Tournament Winners, Results and Most Valuable Players
2014NC Central def. Morgan State, 71-62 (Jeremy Ingram)
2013NC A&T def. Morgan State, 57-54 (Adrian Powell)
2012Norfolk State def. Bethune-Cookman, 73-70 (Kyle O'Quinn)
2011Hampton def. Morgan State, 60-55 (Darrion Pellum)
2010Morgan State def. South Carolina State, 68-61 (Kevin Thompson)
2009Morgan State def. Norfolk State, 83-69 (Reggie Holmes)
2008Coppin State def. Morgan State, 62-60 (Tywain McKee)
2007Florida A&M def. Delaware State, 58-56 (Brian Greene)
2006Hampton def. Delaware State, 60-56 (Rashad West)
2005Delaware State def. Hampton, 55-53 (Jahsha Bluntt)
2004Florida A&M def. Coppin State, 58-51 (Terrence Woods)
2003South Carolina State def. Hampton, 72-67 (Dustin Braddick)
2002Hampton def. Howard, 80-62 (Tommy Adams)
2001Hampton def. South Carolina State, 70-58 (Tarvis Williams)
2000South Carolina State def. Coppin State, 70-53 (Mike Waitre)
1999Florida A&M def. South Carolina State, 64-61 (Monroe Pippins)
1998South Carolina State def. Coppin State, 66-61 (Roderick Blakney)
1997Coppin State def. North Carolina A&T, 81-74 (OT) (Terquin Mote)
1996South Carolina State def. Coppin State, 69-56 (Derrick Patterson)
1995North Carolina A&T def. Coppin State, 66-64 (Phillip Alien)
1994North Carolina A&T def. South Carolina State, 87-70 (Phillip Alien)
1993Coppin State def. Delaware State, 80-53 (Stephen Stewart)
1992Howard def. Florida A&M, 67-65 (Howard Holley)
1991Florida A&M def. Delaware State, 84-80 (OT) (Kenneth Davis)
1990Coppin State def. North Carolina A&T, 54-50 (Reggie Isaac)
1989South Carolina State def. Florida A&M, 83-79 (Travis Williams)
1988North Carolina A&T def. Florida A&M, 101-86 (Claude Williams)
1987North Carolina A&T def. Howard, 79-58 (Thomas Griffis)
1986North Carolina A&T def. Howard, 71-52 (Thomas Griffis)
1985North Carolina A&T def. Howard, 71-69 (Eric Boyd)
1984North Carolina A&T def. Howard, 65-58 (Eric Boyd)
1983North Carolina A&T def. Howard, 79-67 (Joe Binion)
1982North Carolina A&T def. Howard, 71-64 (Eric Boyd)
1981Howard def. North Carolina A&T, 66-63 (Larry Spriggs)
1980Howard def. South Carolina State, 75-69 (Larry Spriggs)
1979North Carolina A&T def. Howard, 48-46 (Larry Spriggs)
1978North Carolina A&T def. Morgan State, 66-63 (James Sparrow)
1977Morgan State def. Howard, 82-77 (Eric Evans)
1976North Carolina A&T def. Morgan State, 83-77 (James Sparrow)
1975North Carolina A&T def. Morgan State, 70-65 (Marvin Webster)
1974Maryland-Eastern Shore def. Morgan State, 77-62 (Talvin Skinner)
1973North Carolina A&T def. Howard, 86-61 (William Harris)
1972North Carolina A&T def. Howard, 71-62 (Robert Lewis)
Winner receives an automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament. All times Eastern. Last year, seventh-seeded North Carolina A&T defeated fifth-seeded Morgan State, 57-54, for its 16th MEAC Tournament championship, but first since 1995. North Carolina A&T defeated Liberty in the first round of the NCAA Tournament before losing to eventual National Champion Louisville, 79-48, in the second round. Morgan State has played in the championship game five of the last six years, winning in 2009 and 2010. The top seed has won this event seven of the last 14 years. The top three seeds receive first round byes. Larry Spriggs of Howard is the only player to win three straight tournament MVP awards (1979-81). Eric Boyd of North Carolina A&T also won three MVP awards, but not in consecutive seasons (1982, 84-85).

03/16 00:54:18 ET

As of March 16, 2014, at 12:57 AM ET