Men's College Basketball
<    May    >
Horizon League Basketball Tournament
(Seeds in Parenthesis)

From The Sports Network

Sites: First Round at Campus Sites,
Second Round/Semifinals at Athletics-Recreation Center - Valparaiso, IN
Dates: Tuesday, March 3rd through Tuesday, March 10th
Annual: 36th
Defending Champion: Milwaukee def. Wright State, 69-63
Television: ESPN3, ESPNU, ESPN (Championship)
Tuesday, March 3rd - First Round
Detroit 77, (8) Youngstown State (11-21) 67
Illinois-Chicago 60, (7) Wright State (11-20) 57
Friday, March 6th - Second Round
Illinois-Chicago 72, (3) Oakland (16-16) 69
Cleveland State 70, (5) Detroit (15-18) 53
Saturday, March 7th - Semifinal Round
Green Bay 70, (6) Illinois-Chicago (10-24) 56
Valparaiso 60, (4) Cleveland State (18-14) 55
Tuesday, March 10th - Championship Game
(1) Valparaiso (28-5) 54, (2) Green Bay (24-8) 44
Tournament Titles and Records
 SchoolTitlesLast Tourney Record  
 Milwaukee42014 17-15  
 Detroit32012 33-31  
 Illinois-Chicago22004 17-18  
 Wright State12007 17-19  
 Green Bay11995 15-19  
 Cleveland State12009 11-18  
 Valparaiso12013 8-6  
 Youngstown State0 4-13  
 Oakland0 1-1  
Past Horizon League Tournament Winners, Results and MVP's
2015Valparaiso def. Green Bay, 54-44 (Alec Peters)
2014Milwaukee def. Wright State, 69-63 (Jordan Aaron)
2013Valparaiso def. Wright State, 62-54 (Erik Buggs)
2012Detroit def. Valparaiso, 70-50 (Ray McCallum)
2011Butler def. Milwaukee, 59-44 (Matt Howard)
2010Butler def. Wright State, 70-45 (Matt Howard)
2009Cleveland State def. Butler, 57-54 (Cedric Jackson)
2008Butler def. Cleveland State, 70-55 (Mike Green)
2007Wright State def. Butler, 60-55 (DaShaun Wood)
2006Milwaukee def. Butler, 87-71 (Adrian Tigert)
2005Milwaukee def. Detroit, 59-58 (Joah Tucker)
2004Illinois-Chicago def. Milwaukee, 65-62 (Armond Williams)
2003Milwaukee def. Butler, 69-52 (Clay Tucker)
2002Illinois-Chicago def. Loyola-Chicago, 76-75 (OT) (Cedrick Banks)
2001Butler def. Detroit, 53-38 (LaVall Jordan)
2000Butler def. Detroit, 62-43 (LaVall Jordan)
1999Detroit def. Butler, 72-65 (Rashad Phillips)
1998Butler def. Green Bay, 70-51 (Jon Neuhouser)
1997Butler def. Illinois-Chicago, 69-68 (Kelsey Wilson)
1996Northern Illinois def. Detroit, 84-63 (Chris Coleman)
1995Green Bay def. Wright State, 73-59 (Jeff Nordgaard)
1994Detroit def. Evansville, 72-63 (Andy Elkins)
1993Evansville def. Xavier, 80-69 (Parrish Casebier)
1992Evansville def. Butler, 95-76 (Parrish Casebier)
1991Xavier def. Saint Louis, 81-68 (Jamie Gladden)
1990Dayton def. Xavier, 98-89 (Negele Knight)
1989Xavier def. Evansville, 85-78 (Tyrone Hill)
1988Xavier def. Detroit, 122-96 (Byron Larkin)
1987Xavier def. Saint Louis, 81-69 (Byron Larkin)
1986Xavier def. Saint Louis, 74-66 (Byron Larkin)
1985Loyola-Chicago def. Oral Roberts, 89-83 (Alfredrick Hughes)
1984Oral Roberts def. Xavier, 68-66 (Sam Potter)
1983Xavier def. Loyola-Chicago, 82-76 (Alfredrick Hughes)
1982Evansville def. Loyola-Chicago, 81-72 (Brad Leaf)
1981Oklahoma City def. Xavier, 82-76 (Anthony Hicks)
1980Oral Roberts def. Loyola-Chicago, 103-93 (Calvin Garrett)
Winner receives an automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament. All times Eastern. The top two teams receive a bye into the semifinals. The #3 and #4 seeds receive byes into the second round. Milwaukee will not get a chance to defend its title, as they are ineligible due to cumulative Academic Performance Rate scores. Formerly known as the Midwestern Collegiate Conference. Xavier won the MCC title six times (1983, 86-89, 91), Evansville three times (1982, 1992-93) and Oral Roberts twice (1980, 84) when they were members of the conference. Oklahoma City (1981), Loyola-Chicago (1985), Dayton (1990) and Northern Illinois (1996) were also winners of the MCC tournament. Butler won the Horizon League title seven times when it was a member (1997-98, 2000-01, 08, 10-11). As the fifth seed last year, Milwaukee defeated third-seeded Wright State, 69-63, for its fourth Horizon League title and first in eight years. Milwaukee lost to Villanova, 73-53, in the second round of the NCAA Tournament.Illinois-Chicago became the lowest seeded team to win in 2002 when they were seeded sixth. Byron Larkin of Xavier is the only player to win three tournament MVP awards (1986-88).

03/10 23:31:14 ET

As of March 10, 2015, at 11:31 PM ET