Men's College Basketball
<    January    >
Big West Conference Basketball Tournament
(Seeds in Parenthesis)

From The Sports Network

Site: Honda Center (17,608) -- Anaheim, California
Dates: Thursday, March 13th through Saturday, March 15th
Annual: 39th
Defending Champion: Pacific def. UC Irvine, 64-55
Television: FOX Prime Ticket (Quarters), ESPNU (Semis), ESPN2 (Championship)
Thursday, March 13th - Quarterfinal Round
Cal Poly 69, (2) UC Santa Barbara (21-9) 38
Long Beach State 66, (6) Cal State Fullerton (11-20) 56
UC Irvine 63, (8) UC Riverside (10-21) 43
Cal State Northridge 87, (4) Hawaii (20-11) 84 OT
Friday, March 14th - Semifinal Round
Cal Poly 61, (1) UC Irvine (23-11) 58
Cal State Northridge 82, (3) Long Beach State (15-17) 77
Saturday, March 15th - Championship Game
(7) Cal Poly (13-19) 61, (5) Cal State Northridge (17-18) 59
Tournament Titles and Records
 SchoolTitlesLast Tourney Record  
 Long Beach State52012 33-28  
 UC Santa Barbara32011 20-27  
 Cal State Fullerton22008 22-33  
 Cal Poly12014 7-11  
 Cal State Northridge12009 7-9  
 Cal-Irvine0 23-31  
 UC Riverside0 3-7  
 UC Davis0 2-4  
 Hawaii0 0-1  
Past Big West Tournament Winners, Results and Most Valuable Players
2014Cal Poly def. Cal State Northridge, 61-59 (Chris Eversley)
2013Pacific def. UC Irvine, 64-55 (Tony Gill)
2012Long Beach State def. UC Santa Barbara, 77-64 (Casper Ware)
2011UC Santa Barbara def. Long Beach State, 64-56 (Orlando Johnson)
2010UC Santa Barbara def. Long Beach State, 69-64 (Orlando Johnson)
2009Cal State Northridge def. Pacific, 71-66 (OT) (Rodrigue Mels)
2008Cal State Fullerton def. Cal-Irvine, 81-66 (Josh Akognon)
2007Long Beach State def. Cal Poly, 94-83 (Aaron Nixon)
2006Pacific def. Long Beach State, 78-70 (Johnny Gray)
2005Utah State def. Pacific, 65-52 (Jaycee Carroll)
2004Pacific def. Cal State Northridge, 75-73 (Ian Boylan)
2003Utah State def. Cal Poly, 57-54 (Desmond Penigar)
2002Cal-Santa Barbara def. Utah State, 60-56 (Nick Jones)
2001Utah State def. Pacific, 50-38, (Bernard Rock)
2000Utah State def. New Mexico State, 71-66 (Shawn Daniels, Troy Rolle)
1999New Mexico State def. Boise State, 79-69 (Billy Keys)
1998Utah State def. Pacific, 78-63 (Marcus Saxon)
1997Pacific def. Nevada, 63-55 (Corey Anders, Faron Hand)
1996San Jose State def. Utah State, 76-75 (OT) (Olivier Saint-Jean)
1995Long Beach State def. Nevada, 76-69 (OT) (Brian Green)
1994New Mexico State def. Cal-Irvine, 70-64 (Chris Brown, James Dockery)
1993Long Beach State def. New Mexico State, 70-62 (Lucious Harris)
1992New Mexico State def. Pacific, 74-73 (Sam Crawford)
1991U-N-L-V def. Fresno State, 98-74 (Larry Johnson)
1990U-N-L-V def. Long Beach State, 92-74 (Larry Johnson)
1989U-N-L-V def. New Mexico State, 68-62 (Stacey Augmon)
1988Utah State def. Cal-Irvine, 86-79 (Wayne Engelstad)
1987U-N-L-V def. San Jose State, 94-69 (Freddie Banks)
1986U-N-L-V def. New Mexico State, 75-55 (Anthony Jones)
1985U-N-L-V def. Cal State Fullerton, 79-61 (Richie Adams)
1984Fresno State def. U-N-L-V, 51-49 (Richie Adams)
1983U-N-L-V def. Fresno State, 66-63 (OT) (Sidney Green)
1982Fresno State def. Cal State Fullerton, 69-57 (Donald Mason)
1981Fresno State def. San Jose State, 52-48 (Sid Williams)
1980San Jose State def. Long Beach State, 57-55 (Wally Rank)
1979Pacific def. Utah State, 82-73 (Ron Cornelius)
1978Cal State Fullerton def. Long Beach State, 64-53 (Greg Bunch)
1977Long Beach State def. San Jose State, 76-63 (Michael Wiley)
1976San Diego State def. Pacific, 76-64 (Will Connelly)
Winner receives an automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament. All times Eastern. Second-seeded Pacific defeated fourth-seeded UC Irvine, 64-55, to win this tournament for the fifth time in their last year in the conference. Pacific lost to Miami-Florida in the second round of the NCAA Tournament, 78-49. Utah State won this tournament six times when it was a member of the conference (1988, 98, 2000-01, 03, 05), Pacific five times (1979, 97, 2004, 06, 13) and Fresno State three times (1981-82, 84). San Diego State won the inaugural tournament in 1976 and UNLV won seven times (1983, 85-87, 89-91). New Mexico State won three times (1992, 94, 99). The top seed has won this tournament 19 times. San Jose State won in 1996 as a #6 seed, the lowest seed ever to win the tournament. The Spartans also won in 1980. This is the 14th straight year in which Anaheim is playing host to the tournament.

03/16 01:36:34 ET

As of March 16, 2014, at 01:36 AM ET