Men's College Basketball
<    December    >
Atlantic 10 Conference Basketball Tournament
(Seeds in Parenthesis)

From The Sports Network

Sites: Barclays Center (17,732) -- Brooklyn, New York
Dates: Wednesday, March 12th through Sunday, March 16th
Annual: 38th
Defending Champion: Saint Louis def. Virginia Commonwealth, 62-56
Television: A10 Net (1st 3 rounds), CBSSN (Semifinals), CBS (Championship)
Wednesday, March 12th - Opening Round
Fordham 70, (12) George Mason (11-20) 67
Thursday, March 13th - First Round
St. Bonaventure 82, (8) La Salle (15-16) 72
Dayton 87, (13) Fordham (10-21) 74
Richmond 76, (10) Duquesne (13-17) 64
Massachusetts 65, (11) Rhode Island (14-18) 61
Friday, March 14th - Quarterfinal Round
St. Bonaventure 71, (1) Saint Louis (26-6) 68
Saint Joseph's 70, (5) Dayton (23-10) 67
Virginia Commonwealth 71, (7) Richmond (19-14) 53
George Washington 85, (6) Massachusetts (24-8) 77
Saturday, March 15th -- Semifinal Round
Saint Joseph's 67, (9) St. Bonaventure (18-15) 48
Virginia Commonwealth 74, (3) George Washington (24-8) 55
Sunday, March 16th - Championship Game
(4) Saint Joseph's (24-8) 65, (2) Virginia Commonwealth (26-8) 61
Tournament Titles and Records
 SchoolTitlesLast Tourney Record  
 Massachusetts51996 34-32  
 Saint Joseph's21997 34-29  
 George Washington22007 22-33  
 Rhode Island11999 21-30  
 Dayton12003 20-17  
 Duquesne11977 19-33  
 St. Bonaventure12012 16-28  
 Richmond12011 11-11  
 Saint Louis12013 7-7  
 La Salle0 9-16  
 Fordham0 4-13  
 VA Commonwealth0 2-1  
 George Mason0 0-0  
Past Atlantic 10 Tournament Winners, Results and Most Valuable Players
2014Saint Joseph's def. Virginia Commonwealth, 65-61 (Halil Kanacevic)
2013Saint Louis def. Virginia Commonwealth, 62-56 (Dwayne Evans)
2012St. Bonaventure def. Xavier, 67-56 (Andrew Nicholson)
2011Richmond def. Dayton, 67-54 (Kevin Anderson)
2010Temple def. Richmond, 56-52 (Juan Fernandez)
2009Temple def. Duquesne, 69-64 (Dionte Christmas)
2008Temple def. Saint Joseph's, 69-64 (Dionte Christmas)
2007George Washington def. Rhode Island, 78-69 (Maureece Rice)
2006Xavier def. Saint Joseph's, 62-61 (Justin Cage)
2005George Washington def. Saint Joseph's, 76-67 (Pat Carroll)
2004Xavier def. Dayton, 58-49 (Lionel Chalmers)
2003Dayton def. Temple, 79-72 (Ramod Marshall)
2002Xavier def. Richmond, 73-60 (David West)
2001Temple def. Massachusetts, 76-65 (Lynn Greer)
2000Temple def. St. Bonaventure 65-44 (Quincy Wadley)
1999Rhode Island def. Temple, 62-59 (Lamar Odom)
1998Xavier def. George Washington, 77-63 (James Posey)
1997St. Joseph's def. Rhode Island, 61-56 (Rashid Bey)
1996Massachusetts def. Temple, 75-61 (Carmelo Travieso)
1995Massachusetts def. Temple, 63-44 (Lou Roe)
1994Massachusetts def. Temple, 70-59 (Mike Williams)
1993Massachusetts def. Temple, 69-61 (Harper Williams)
1992Massachusetts def. West Virginia, 97-91 (Harper Williams)
1991Penn State def. George Washington, 81-75 (Freddie Barnes)
1990Temple def. Massachusetts, 53-51 (Mark Macon)
1989Rutgers def. Penn State, 70-66 (Tom Savage)
1988Temple def. Rhode Island, 68-63 (Tom Garrick)
1987Temple def. West Virginia, 70-57 (Nate Blackwell)
1986St. Joseph's def. West Virginia, 72-64 (Greg Mullee)
1985Temple def. Rutgers, 59-51 (Granger Hall)
1984West Virginia def. St. Bonaventure, 59-56 (Lester Rowe)
1983West Virginia def. Temple, 86-78 (Terence Stansbury)
1982Pittsburgh def. West Virginia, 79-72 (Clyde Vaughan)
1981Pittsburgh def. Duquesne, 64-60 (Lenny McMillian)
1980Villanova def. West Virginia, 74-62 (Lowes Moore)
1979Rutgers def. Pittsburgh, 61-57 (James Bailey)
1978Villanova def. West Virginia, 63-59 (Alex Bradley)
1977Duquesne def. Villanova, 57-54 (Norm Nixon)
Winner receives an automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament. All times Eastern. Temple won this tournament nine times when it was a member of the conference. Massachusetts won this tournament five straight years, until Saint Joseph's won in 1997. Xavier was a four-time winner, Villanova, West Virginia, Rutgers and Pittsburgh won twice and Penn State once when members of the conference. Harper Williams of Massachusetts (1992-93) and Dionte Christmas of Temple (2008-09) are the only players in tournament history to win Most Valuable Player honors twice. The tournament is being held at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn, New York for the second straight year. George Mason is a member of the conference for the first time. Last season, Kwamain Mitchell scored 19 points as Saint Louis captured its first conference tournament title in 13 years with a 62-56 verdict over VCU. The Billikens were seeded first in the tournament.

03/16 17:42:14 ET

As of March 16, 2014, at 05:42 PM ET