Men's College Basketball
<    March    >
Atlantic Coast Conference Basketball Tournament
(Seeds in Parenthesis)

From The Sports Network

Site: Greensboro Coliseum (23,500) -- Greensboro, North Carolina
Dates: Tuesday, March 10th through Saturday, March 14th
Annual: 62nd
Defending Champion: Virginia def. Duke, 72-63
Television: ESPN2, ESPN
Tuesday, March 10th - First Round
Boston College 66, (13) Georgia Tech (12-19) 65
Virginia Tech 81, (11) Wake Forest (13-19) 80
Wednesday, March 11th - Second Round
Florida State 76, (8) Clemson (16-15) 73
North Carolina 81, (12) Boston College (13-19) 63
North Carolina State 81, (10) Pittsburgh (19-14) 70
Miami-Florida 59, (14) Virginia Tech (11-22) 49
Thursday, March 12th - Quarterfinal Round
Virginia 58, (9) Florida State (17-16) 44
North Carolina 70, (4) Louisville (24-8) 60
Duke 77, (7) North Carolina State (20-13) 53
Notre Dame 70, (6) Miami-Florida (21-12) 63
Friday, March 13th - Semifinal Round
North Carolina 71, (1) Virginia (29-3) 67
Notre Dame 74, (2) Duke (29-4) 64
Saturday, March 14th - Championship Game
(3) Notre Dame (29-5) 90, (5) North Carolina (24-11) 82
Tournament Titles and Records
 SchoolTitlesLast Tourney Record  
 Duke192011 93-42  
 North Carolina172008 90-43  
 NC State101987 69-51  
 Wake Forest41996 43-57  
 Georgia Tech31993 25-32  
 Virginia22014 34-59  
 Florida State12012 14-22  
 Miami-Florida12013 11-9  
 Clemson0 18-61  
 Boston College0 7-9  
 Virginia Tech0 6-10  
 Pittsburgh0 2-1  
 Notre Dame0 0-1  
 Syracuse0 0-1  
 Louisville0 0-0  
Past ACC Tournament Winners, Results and Most Valuable Players
2015Notre Dame def. North Carolina, 90-82 (Jerian Grant)
2014Virginia def. Duke, 72-63 (Joe Harris)
2013Miami-Florida def. North Carolina, 87-77 (Shane Larkin)
2012Florida State def. North Carolina, 85-82 (Michael Snaer)
2011Duke def. North Carolina, 75-58 (Nolan Smith)
2010Duke def. Georgia Tech, 65-61 (Kyle Singler)
2009Duke def. Florida State, 79-69 (Jon Scheyer)
2008North Carolina def. Clemson, 86-81 (Tyler Hansbrough)
2007North Carolina def. NC State, 89-80 (Brandan Wright)
2006Duke def. Boston College, 78-76 (J.J. Redick)
2005Duke def. Georgia Tech, 69-64 (J.J. Redick)
2004Maryland def. Duke, 95-87 OT (John Gilchrist)
2003Duke def. NC State, 84-77 (Daniel Ewing)
2002Duke def. NC State, 91-61 (Carlos Boozer)
2001Duke def. North Carolina, 79-53 (Shane Battier)
2000Duke def. Maryland, 81-68 (Jason Williams)
1999Duke def. North Carolina, 96-73 (Elton Brand)
1998North Carolina def. Duke, 83-68 (Antawn Jamison)
1997North Carolina def. NC State, 64-54 (Shammond Williams)
1996Wake Forest def. Georgia Tech, 75-74 (Tim Duncan)
1995Wake Forest def. North Carolina, 82-80 (Randolph Childress)
1994North Carolina def. Virginia, 73-66 (Jerry Stackhouse)
1993Georgia Tech def. North Carolina, 77-75 (James Forrest)
1992Duke def. North Carolina, 94-74 (Christian Laettner)
1991North Carolina def. Duke, 96-74 (Rick Fox)
1990Georgia Tech def. Virginia, 70-61 (Brian Oliver)
1989North Carolina def. Duke, 77-74 (J.R. Reid)
1988Duke def. North Carolina, 65-61 (Danny Ferry)
1987NC State def. North Carolina, 68-67 (Vinny Del Negro)
1986Duke def. Georgia Tech, 68-67 (Johnny Dawkins)
1985Georgia Tech def. North Carolina, 57-54 (Mark Price)
1984Maryland def. Duke, 74-62 (Len Bias)
1983NC State def. Virginia, 81-78 (Sidney Lowe)
1982North Carolina def. Virginia, 47-45 (James Worthy)
1981North Carolina def. Maryland, 61-60 (Sam Perkins)
1980Duke def. Maryland, 73-72 (Albert King)
1979North Carolina def. Duke, 71-63 (Dudley Bradley)
1978Duke def. Wake Forest, 85-77 (Jim Spanarkel)
1977North Carolina def. Virginia, 75-69 (John Kuester)
1976Virginia def. North Carolina, 67-62 (Wally Walker)
1975North Carolina def. NC State, 70-66 (Phil Ford)
1974NC State def. Maryland, 103-100 (OT) (Tommy Burleson)
1973NC State def. Maryland, 76-74 (Tommy Burleson)
1972North Carolina def. Maryland, 73-64 (Robert McAdoo)
1971South Carolina def. North Carolina, 52-51 (L.Dedmon, J.Roche)
1970NC State def. South Carolina, 42-39 (2 OT) (Vann Williford)
1969North Carolina def. Duke, 85-74 (Charlie Scott)
1968North Carolina def. NC State, 87-50 (Larry Miller)
1967North Carolina def. Duke, 82-73 (Larry Miller)
1966Duke def. NC State, 71-66 (Steve Vacendak)
1965NC State def. Duke, 91-85 (Larry Worsley)
1964Duke def. Wake Forest, 80-59 (Jeff Mullins)
1963Duke def. Wake Forest, 68-57 (Art Heyman)
1962Wake Forest def. Clemson, 77-66 (Len Chappell)
1961Wake Forest def. Duke, 96-81 (Len Chappell)
1960Duke def. Wake Forest, 63-59 (Doug Kistler)
1959NC State def. North Carolina, 80-56 (Lou Pucillo)
1958Maryland def. North Carolina, 86-74 (Nick Davis)
1957North Carolina def. South Carolina, 95-75 (Lennie Rosenbluth)
1956NC State def. Wake Forest, 76-64 (Vic Molodet)
1955NC State def. Duke, 87-77 (Ron Shavlik)
1954NC State def. Wake Forest, 82-80 (OT) (Dickie Hemric)
Winner receives an automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament. All times Eastern. This year's tournament will be held at Greensboro Coliseum in Greensboro, North Carolina. The top four teams in the conference receive byes into the quarterfinals. Seeds 5 through 9 receive byes into the second round. Syracuse will not participate in the tournament this year due to self-imposed sanctions. Virginia def. Duke, 72-63, last year to win this tournament for the first time in 38 years. Virginia reached the Sweet 16 of the NCAA Tournament before losing to Michigan State, 61-59. Duke appeared in a record nine straight ACC Tournament championship games from 1998-2006. Louisville is a new member of the conference this year, coming over from the American Athletic Conference. Maryland won this tournament three times when it was a member. Maryland left the conference this year to join the Big Ten. South Carolina won the ACC title in 1971 when it was a member of the conference. When Duke captured the 2004 tournament, they became the first team in ACC history to win five straight titles. The #1 seed has won 30 times, while the #2 seed has 13 victories. Last year, Virginia was the top seed when they defeated the third seed, Duke. There have been 40 overtime games in the 61 years of the tournament. NC State owns a 7-1 overtime mark, while North Carolina is 9-4. North Carolina has won at least one game in the tournament a league-high 45 times, Duke is second with 44. The 2001 tournament held at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta was the most attended conference basketball tournament in NCAA history with a total attendance of 182,525. Four players have captured two Tournament MVP awards: Len Chappell (1961-62), Larry Miller (1967-68), Tommy Burleson (1973-74) and J.J. Redick (2005-06).

03/15 00:14:05 ET

As of March 15, 2015, at 12:15 AM ET