NASCAR Camping World Truck Series

NASCAR - Camping World - Iowa 200 Preview

From The Sports Network

DATE: Sunday, Sept. 8
SITE: Iowa Speedway -- Newton, Iowa
TRACK: 0.875-mile oval
CAPACITY: 30,000+ (Grandstand Seating)
TELEVISION: FOX Sports 1 (formerly Speed)
RADIO: Motor Racing Network (MRN)/SIRIUS NASCAR Radio
QUALIFYING TIME: Saturday, Sept. 7/7:05 p.m. ET
RUNNER-UP: Ty Dillon
POLE WINNER: Parker Kligerman (finished 23)
LAPS: 200
MILES: 175
QUALIFYING RECORD: Parker Kligerman, 2012 (137.507 mph)
RACE RECORD: Timothy Peters, 2013 (106.311 mph)
2012 Finish
1Ryan Blaney26Nelson Piquet Jr.3
2Ty Dillon97Drew Herring17
3Todd Bodine158Jeff Choquette18
4Johnny Sauter49Matt Crafton12
5Gale Cale610Miguel Paludo8
2012 Iowa 200 Facts and Figures
AVERAGE SPEED: 88.285 mph
TIME OF RACE: 1 hr., 58 mins., 56 secs.
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 0.168 secs.
CAUTION FLAGS: 9 for 54 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 7 among 6 drivers
POLE WINNER: Parker Kligerman (137.507 mph)
Past Iowa 200 Winners (Starting Position) Car -- Speed
2012 -- Ryan Blaney (2) -- RAM -- 88.285 mph
NOTE: Formerly called American Ethanol 200 (2012).
Past Iowa 200 Pole Winners (Finish)
2012 -- Parker Kligerman -- 23
Last Race Results
RACE: Chevrolet Silverado 250 (Sept. 1)
SITE: Canadian Tire Motorsport Park -- Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada
MILES: 160
LAPS: 64
WINNER: Chase Elliott
RUNNER-UP: Chad Hackenbracht
THIRD: Miguel Paludo
FOURTH: Darrell Wallace Jr.
FIFTH: Ron Hornaday Jr.
POLE WINNER: James Buescher (finished 9)
TIME OF RACE: 1 hr., 48 mins., 49 secs.
AVERAGE SPEED: 66.775 mph
CAUTION FLAGS: 5 for 10 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 7 among 6 drivers
LAP LEADERS: J. Buescher 1-2; C. Elliott 3-23; R. Blaney 24-25; T. Dillon
26-33; G. Quiroga Jr 34-36; M. Paludo 37-46; T. Dillon 47-63; C.
Elliott 64-64.
Iowa 200 Entry List
CarDriver, HometownCar/Name
0Chris Lafferty (Concord, NC)Ford/Horejsi Graphics
3Ty Dillon (Welcome, NC)Chevrolet/Bass Pro Shops
4Jeb Burton (Halifax, VA)Chevrolet/Arrowhead
6Justin Lofton (Westmoreland, CA)Chevrolet/J.D. Heiskell/J6 Ink
07Jimmy Weller III (Hubbard, OH)Chevrolet/TBA
7John Wes Townley (Watkinsville, GA)Toyota/Zaxby's
8Max Gresham ((Griffin, GA)Chevrolet/Made in the USA
9Ron Hornaday Jr. (Palmdale, CA)Chevrolet/NTS Motorsports
10Jennifer Jo Cobb (Kansas City, KS)RAM/Horejsi Graphics
12Steve Smith (Escondido, CA)Chevrolet/Superseal
17Timothy Peters (Providence, NC)Toyota/Parts Plus
18Joey Coulter (Miami Springs, FL)Toyota/Darrell Gwynn Foundation
19Ross Chastain (Alva, FL)Ford/TBA
24Brennan Newberry (Bakersfield, CA)Chevrolet/Qore-24
27Jeff Agnew (Copper Hill, VA)Chevrolet/West Va. Coal Association
29 *Ryan Blaney (High Point, NC)Ford/Cooper Standard
31James Buescher (Plano, TX)Chevrolet/Exide
32Miguel Paludo (Nova Prata, Brazil)Chevrolet/Accudoc Solutions
33Brandon Jones (Atlanta, GA)Chevrolet/TBA
39Ryan Sieg (Tucker, GA)Chevrolet/RSS Racing
51Erik Jones (Byron, MI)Toyota/Kyle Busch Motorsports
54Darrell Wallace Jr. (Mobile, AL)Toyota/Kyle Busch Motorsports
57Norm Benning (Level Green, PA)Chevrolet/Norm Benning Racing
60Dakoda Armstrong (New Castle, IN)Chevrolet/Winfield
62Brendan Gaughan (Las Vegas, NV)Chevrolet/South Point
63Justin Jennings (LaGrange, MO)Chevrolet/TBA
77German Quiroga (Mexico City, Mexico)Toyota/Otter Box
81To Be AnnouncedToyota/Costys Energy
84To Be AnnouncedChevrolet/Mike Harmon Racing
88Matt Crafton (Tulare, CA)Toyota/Menards/Jeid-Win
93Chris Jones (Forest, VA)Chevrolet/RSS Racing
94Chase Elliott (Dawsonville, GA)Chevrolet/Aaron's Dream Machine
96Ben Kennedy (Daytona Beach, FL)Chevrolet/Ben Kennedy Racing
97Steve Wallace (Greensboro, NC)Chevrolet/Adrian Carrier/Liz Girl
98Johnny Sauter (Necedah, WI)Toyota/Carolina Nut Co/Curb Records
99Bryan Silas (Stuart, FL)Ford/Bell Trucks America Inc.
* - defending champion.
Leading Contenders (last year's finish)
Ryan BlaneyWon
Ty Dillon2
Johnny Sauter4
Matt Crafton9
Miguel Paludo10
Joey Coulter13
James Buescher17
Timothy Peters19
Ron Hornaday Jr.33
Chase Elliott---
Jeb Burton---
Darrell Wallace Jr.---
Mover of the Week
Bryan Silas - started 24 and finished 11
Sports Network Selections
Pick to Win - Ryan Blaney
Last Week's Pick to Win (Miguel Paludo) - finished 3
The Iowa 200 at Iowa Speedway is the 15th race on the 2013 Camping World Truck Series schedule.

Built in 2006, Iowa Speedway has progressive banking from 12-14 degrees in all of its turns. There are 10 degrees of banking on the frontstretch and four degrees on the backstretch. The length of the frontstretch is 1,075 feet, and the backstretch measures 869 feet.

NASCAR Hall of Famer Rusty Wallace led the design team for Iowa in the first- ever driver-designed racetrack. Wallace played an integral part of the overall design and layout of this track.

There have been six truck races held at Iowa. The series competed there once each season from 2009-2011. This track hosted two events last year. Timothy Peters won there in July.

Mike Skinner won the inaugural truck race at Iowa, the Lucas Oil 200, on Sept. 5, 2009.

Seven drivers on the entry list for this weekend have competed in the previous six races at Iowa: Norm Benning, James Buescher, Matt Crafton, Ron Hornaday Jr., Peters, Johnny Sauter and Ryan Sieg.

Peters has two wins at Iowa, which is more than any other driver. His first victory there came in July 2012.

Ryan Blaney is the only driver entered that scored his first career truck victory at Iowa. Blaney won there one year ago. Austin Dillon, the 2011 truck champion, recorded his maiden win at this track in July 2010. Dillon is now a competitor in the Nationwide Series.

German Quiroga claimed his first pole in the series at Iowa in July.

Three drivers on the entry list made their truck debut at Iowa: Dakoda Armstrong (July 2011), Justin Jennings (July 2012) and Jimmy Weller III (July 2013).

Crafton, the current points leader, is the only driver who has posted top-10 finishes in all six truck races at Iowa. Sauter recorded five straight top- five finishes before placing 11th there in July.

The next race is the Sept. 13 225 at Chicagoland Speedway. James Buescher is the defending race winner.

09/04 10:39:12 ET

As of September 4, 2013, at 10:39 AM ET

Powered by The Sports Network.