NASCAR Nationwide Series

NASCAR - Nationwide - Dollar General 200 Preview

From The Sports Network

DATE: Saturday, March 2
SITE: Phoenix International Raceway (1964) -- Avondale, Ariz.
TRACK: one-mile oval - 1,179 feet (Frontstretch); 1,551 feet (Backstretch)
CAPACITY: 50,000 (Grandstand Seating)
RADIO: Motor Racing Network (MRN)/SIRIUS NASCAR Radio
START TIME: 4:30 p.m. ET
QUALIFYING TIME: Saturday, March 2/1:05 p.m. ET
RUNNER-UP: Brad Keselowski
POLE WINNER: Denny Hamlin (finished 9)
LAPS: 200
MILES: 200
QUALIFYING RECORD: Kyle Busch, 2011 (134.298 mph)
RACE RECORD: Elliott Sadler, 2012 (116.317 mph)
2012 Finish
1Elliott Sadler86Sam Hornish Jr.6
2Brad Keselowski77Trevor Bayne5
3Ricky Stenhouse Jr.28Joey Logano10
4Austin Dillon99Denny Hamlin1
5Kevin Harvick1210Michael Annett21
2012 Dollar General 200 Facts and Figures
AVERAGE SPEED: 116.317 mph
TIME OF RACE: 1 hr., 43 mins., 10 secs.
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 0.259 secs.
CAUTION FLAGS: 3 for 15 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 8 among 5 drivers
POLE WINNER: Denny Hamlin (132.979 mph)
Past Dollar General 200 Winners (Starting Position) Car -- Speed
2012 -- Elliott Sadler (8) -- Chevrolet -- 116.317 mph (race record)
2011 -- Kyle Busch (1) -- Toyota -- 112.272 mph
2010 -- Kyle Busch (2) -- Toyota -- 93.872 mph
2009 -- Greg Biffle (4) -- Ford -- 92.965 mph
2008 -- Kyle Busch (1) -- Toyota -- 98.764 mph
2007 -- Clint Bowyer (2) -- Chevrolet -- 87.581 mph
2006 -- Kevin Harvick (14) -- Chevrolet -- 92.250 mph
2005 -- Greg Biffle (20) -- Ford -- 83.007 mph
NOTE: Formerly called Bashas' Supermarkets 200 (2005-12).
Past Dollar General 200 Pole Winners (Finish)
2012 -- Denny Hamlin -- 9
2011 -- Kyle Busch -- 1
2010 -- Carl Edwards -- 6
2009 -- Carl Edwards -- 33
2008 -- Kyle Busch -- 1
2007 -- Kyle Busch -- 37
2006 -- Jason Leffler -- 22
2005 -- Kasey Kahne -- 28
Last Race Results
RACE: DRIVE4COPD 300 (Feb. 23)
SITE: Daytona International Speedway -- Daytona Beach, Fla.
MILES: 300
LAPS: 120
WINNER: Tony Stewart
RUNNER-UP: Sam Hornish Jr.
THIRD: Alex Bowman
FOURTH: Dale Earnhardt Jr.
FIFTH: Parker Kligerman
POLE WINNER: Trevor Bayne (finished 31)
TIME OF RACE: 2 hrs., 8 mins., 37 secs.
AVERAGE SPEED: 139.951 mph
CAUTION FLAGS: 7 for 26 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 34 among 20 drivers
LAP LEADERS: T. Bayne 1-3; Kyle Busch 4-5; T. Stewart 6; D. Patrick 7-11; E.
Sadler 12-17; B. Vickers 18-22; E. Sadler 23-27; B. Keselowski
28-29; Kyle Busch 30-45; M. Kenseth 46-49; J. Allgaier 50; M.
Kenseth 51-57; D. Earnhardt Jr. 58-59; Kyle Busch 60-62; K. Kahne
63-65; D. Efland 66; J. Earnhardt 67; M. Harmon 68; R. Smith
69-70; D. Earnhardt Jr. 71; R. Smith 72-85; Kyle Busch 86; M.
Bliss 87; B. Keselowski 88-90; M. Kenseth 91; B. Scott 92-93; M.
Kenseth 94; B. Scott 95-96; K. Larson 97; B. Scott 98; E. McClure
99; P. Kligerman 100-109; E. Sadler 110-111; R. Smith 112-118; T.
Stewart 119-120.
Dollar General 200 Entry List
CarDriver, HometownCar/Name
00Jason White (Richmond, VA)Toyota/Headrush
01Mike Wallace (St. Louis, MO)Chevrolet/TBA
2Brian Scott (Boise, ID)Chevrolet/White Tail
3Austin Dillon (Welcome, NC)Chevrolet/AdvoCare
4Daryl Harr (Alberta, Canada)Chevrolet/TBA
5Jimmie Johnson (El Cajon, CA)Chevrolet/Great Clips
6Trevor Bayne (Knoxville, TN)Ford/Valvoline
7Regan Smith (Cato, NY)Chevrolet/
10Jeff Green (Owensboro, KY)Toyota/TriStar Motorsports
11 *Elliott Sadler (Emporia, VA)Toyota/One Main Financial
12Sam Hornish Jr. (Defiance, OH)Ford/Detroit Genuine Parts
14Eric McClure (Chilhowie, VA)Toyota/Hefty/Reynolds Wrap
15Juan Carlos Blum (Guadalajara, Mex.)Ford/VMP
18Matt Kenseth (Cambridge, WI)Toyota/Resers
19Mike Bliss (Milwaukie, OR)Toyota/TriStar Motorsports
20Brian Vickers (Thomasville, NC)Toyota/Dollar General
22Brad Keselowski (Rochester Hills, MI)Ford/Discount Tire
24Blake Koch (West Palm Beach, FL)Toyota/Second/Salt Life
27Michael McDowell (Glendale, AZ)Toyota/TBA
30Nelson Piquet Jr. (Brasilia, Brazil)Chevrolet/Worx
31Justin Allgaier (Riverton, IL)Chevrolet/Brandt
32Kyle Larson (Elk Grove, CA)Chevrolet/Eveready
33Kevin Harvick (Bakersfield, CA)Chevrolet/Menards
40Reed Sorenson (Peachtree City, GA)Chevrolet/The Motorsports Group
42Josh Wise (Riverside, CA)Chevrolet/Curtis Key Plumbing
43Aric Almirola (Tampa, FL)Ford/Pilot Travel Centers/Flying J
44Hal Martin (Galliano, LA)Toyota/American Custom Yachts
46Chase Miller (Canton, GA)Chevrolet/Curtis Key Plumbing
51Jeremy Clements (Spartanburg, SC)Chevrolet/TBA
52Joey Gase (Cedar Rapids, IA)Chevrolet/TBA
54Kyle Busch (Las Vegas, NV)Toyota/Monster Energy
55Jamie Dick (Albuquerque, NM)Chevrolet/
60Travis Pastrana (Annapolis, MD)Ford/Roush Fenway Racing
70Johanna Long (Pensacola, FL)Chevrolet/Foretravel
74Mike Harmon (Birmingport, AL)Chevrolet/TBA
77Parker Kligerman (Westport, CT)Toyota/Kyle Busch Motorsports
79Jeffrey Earnhardt (Mooresville, NC)Ford/TBA
87Joe Nemechek (Lakeland, FL)Toyota/TBA
89Morgan Shepherd (Ferguson, NC)Chevrolet/Hylands
99Alex Bowman (Tucson, AZ)Toyota/TBA
* - defending champion
Leading Contenders (Finish last eight years)
Elliott Sadler23214---------12Won
Brad Keselowski------321233342
Austin Dillon------------34------4
Kevin Harvick4Won945235
Sam Hornish Jr.---------------------6
Trevor Bayne---------------32317
Kyle Busch---1237Won10WonWon11
Brian Scott------------1516914
Justin Allgaier------------813815
Matt Kenseth---72---------------
Regan Smith---278---------------
Brian Vickers------------------------
Jimmie Johnson------------------------
Mover of the Week
Brian Scott - started 29 and finished 6
Sports Network Selections
Pick to Win - Kevin Harvick
Last Week's Pick to Win (Tony Stewart) - finished 1
The Dollar General 200 at Phoenix International Raceway is the second race on the 2013 Nationwide Series schedule.

Elliott Sadler won at Phoenix one year ago, scoring his first victory in a Nationwide race since October 1998 at Rockingham, N.C. Sadler, who drove the No. 2 Chevrolet for Richard Childress Racing last season, took the lead from Brad Keselowski with 26 laps remaining and then held off Keselowski at the finish by just 0.3 seconds. Sadler is now driving the No. 11 Toyota for Joe Gibbs Racing.

PIR has been on the Nationwide schedule each year since 1999. Jeff Gordon won the inaugural race in the series there that year.

There have been 22 Nationwide races held at Phoenix, including one event per season from 1999-2004 and two each year since then. The series will return there the second weekend of November.

Kyle Busch and Carl Edwards have the most Nationwide wins at Phoenix with four each. Busch also has scored four poles there, which is tops among all drivers. He started on the pole and led all 200 laps in winning the 2011 spring race.

Busch's set a new track qualifying record for a Nationwide event at Phoenix two years ago. He did it with a lap at 134.298 mph. Busch also holds the record for the fastest qualifying lap there in the Sprint Cup Series (138.766 mph). That was done last November.

The quickest a Nationwide race at Phoenix has been completed occurred one year ago when Sadler finished it in 1 hour, 43 minutes and 10 seconds and at an average speed of 116.317 mph.

The closest margin of victory in a Nationwide event at Phoenix happened in November 2008 when Edwards beat Denny Hamlin by just 0.096 seconds.

The race in the series is the March 9 Sam's Town 300 at Las Vegas Motor Speedway. Ricky Stenhouse Jr. won last year's event there.

02/27 09:54:06 ET

As of February 27, 2013, at 09:54 AM ET

Powered by The Sports Network.