NASCAR Nationwide Series

NASCAR - Nationwide - Sam's Town 300 Preview

From The Sports Network

DATE: Saturday, February 27th
SITE: Las Vegas Motor Speedway (1996) -- Las Vegas, Nevada
TRACK: 1.5-mile oval - 2,275 feet (Frontstretch); 1,572 feet (Backstretch)
CAPACITY: 142,000 (Grandstand Seating)
ANNUAL: 15th
ANNOUNCERS: Marty Reid, Dale Jarrett, Andy Petree
RADIO: Performance Racing Network (PRN)/SIRIUS NASCAR Radio
START TIME: 3 p.m. (et)
RUNNER-UP: Denny Hamlin
POLE WINNER: Brad Keselowski (Finished 4th)
LAPS: 200
MILES: 300
QUALIFYING RECORD: Brad Keselowski, 2009 (185.427 m.p.h.)
RACE RECORD: Jeff Burton, 2000 (135.118 m.p.h.)
TOTAL PURSE: $1,479,944 (2010 figures)
PAYOUTS: 1st Place - $94,795; 2nd Place - $59,125; 3rd Place - $46,125
2010 Finish
1Kevin Harvick26Trevor Bayne18
2Denny Hamlin47Justin Allgaier13
3Carl Edwards38Paul Menard6
4Brad Keselowski19Greg Biffle9
5Brian Vickers1010Steve Wallace15
2010 Sam's Town 300 Facts and Figures
AVERAGE SPEED: 121.924 m.p.h.
TIME OF RACE: 2 hours, 27 minutes, 38 seconds
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 1.361 seconds
CAUTION FLAGS: 8 for 39 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 14 among 10 drivers
POLE WINNER: Brad Keselowski (185.427 m.p.h.)
Past Sam's Town 300 Winners (Starting Position) Car -- Speed
2010 -- Kevin Harvick (2nd) -- Chevrolet -- 121.924 m.p.h.
2009 -- Greg Biffle (3rd) -- Ford -- 106.713 m.p.h.
2008 -- Mark Martin (17th) -- Chevrolet -- 108.118 m.p.h.
2007 -- Jeff Burton (6th) -- Chevrolet -- 104.530 m.p.h.
2006 -- Kasey Kahne (10th) -- Dodge -- 125.158 m.p.h.
2005 -- Mark Martin (25th) -- Ford -- 122.158 m.p.h.
2004 -- Kevin Harvick (11th) -- Chevrolet -- 122.172 m.p.h.
2003 -- Joe Nemechek (29th) -- Chevrolet -- 115.582 m.p.h.
2002 -- Jeff Burton (1st) -- Ford -- 123.783 m.p.h.
2001 -- Todd Bodine (2nd) -- Chevrolet -- 125.625 m.p.h.
2000 -- Jeff Burton (7th) -- Ford -- 135.118 m.p.h. (race record)
1999 -- Mark Martin (1st) -- Ford -- 134.37 m.p.h.
1998 -- Jimmy Spencer (7th) -- Chevrolet -- 114.129 m.p.h.
1997 -- Jeff Green (1st) -- Chevrolet -- 114.153 m.p.h.
NOTE: Formerly called Las Vegas 300 (1997).
Past Sam's Town 300 Pole Winners (Finish)
2010 -- Brad Keselowski -- 4th
2009 -- Scott Speed -- 40th
2008 -- Brian Vickers -- 36th
2007 -- Kevin Harvick -- 7th
2006 -- Matt Kenseth -- 2nd
2005 -- Carl Edwards -- 7th
2004 -- Mike Bliss -- 12th
2003 -- None -- Weather
2002 -- Jeff Burton -- 1st
2001 -- Matt Kenseth -- 34th
2000 -- Hank Parker Jr -- 31st
1999 -- Mark Martin -- 1st
1998 -- Mark Martin -- 6th
1997 -- Jeff Green -- 1st
Last Race Results
RACE: Bashas' Supermarkets 200 (February 26th)
SITE: Phoenix International Raceway -- Avondale, Arizona
MILES: 200
LAPS: 200
WINNER: Kyle Busch
RUNNER-UP: Carl Edwards
THIRD: Kevin Harvick
FOURTH: Ryan Newman
FIFTH: Reed Sorenson
POLE WINNER: Kyle Busch (Finished 1st)
TIME OF RACE: 1 hour, 46 minutes, 53 seconds
AVERAGE SPEED: 112.272 m.p.h.
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 0.514 second
CAUTION FLAGS: 3 for 15 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 0 among 1 driver
LAP LEADERS: Kyle Busch 1-200.
Sam's Town 300 Entry List
* - defending champion.
Leading Contenders (Finish the last nine years)
Kevin Harvick---2ndWon2nd3rd7th4th29thWon
Denny Hamlin---------6th6th12th---21st2nd
Carl Edwards---------7th5th6th14th2nd3rd
Brad Keselowski---------------34th23rd27th4th
Trevor Bayne------------------------6th
Justin Allgaier---------------------8th7th
Steve Wallace---------------17th30th30th10th
Kyle Busch------15th11th19th2nd31st39th16th
Mark Martin---------Won------Won------
Elliott Sadler---------14th---------------
Reed Sorenson---------6th10th30th---------
Aric Almirola---------------------------
Mover of the Week
Aric Almirola - Started in the 25th position and finished 13th
Sports Network Selections
Pick to Win - Kyle Busch
Darkhorse - Donnie Neuenberger
Last Week's Pick to Win (Kevin Harvick) - Finished 3rd
Last Week's Darkhorse (Joey Logano) - Finished 6th
Kevin Harvick overcame two pit road blunders to win last year's Sam's Town 300 Nationwide Series race at Las Vegas Motor Speedway. Harvick led the most laps with 82, but lengthy pit stops early and midway through the 300-mile race shuffled him back in the field. After charging his way to the front, Harvick passed Denny Hamlin and reclaimed the lead for good with 25 laps remaining. Harvick picked up his second Vegas win and 35th career title.

The battle this week might come down to Kyle Busch and Mark Martin. That's right. Busch, a Vegas native, captured his second straight race at Phoenix last week, leading every lap for his 44th career title. Martin on the other hand, the all-time Nationwide Series wins leader with 48, has won three times in Sin City and has not finished outside the top-6 in five career starts. Although he's hot, Busch has only one top-10 finishes in seven Nationwide appearances at LVMS.

In 2009, Greg Biffle, after three top-five finishes in four years, captured the checkered flag, as he outraced Carl Edwards to the finish line by 0.391 of a second. Biffle, who started third, led twice for a race-high 86 laps, en route to the 19th of 20 career Nationwide Series titles. Pole sitter Scott Speed failed to finish the race due to an accident and placed 40th.

With just seven laps remaining in the 2008 race, Mark Martin took the lead for good, as he outraced Biffle to the finish line for his record-extending 48th and last career Nationwide Series victory. Starting from the 17th position, Martin led on three separate occasions for a race-high 81 laps en route to a 0.586-second margin of victory. Pole sitter Brian Vickers, who led for eight laps, failed to finish due to an accident and placed 36th. The win enabled Martin to join Jeff Burton as the only three-time winners of this race. Martin also captured the checkered flag in 1999 and 2005 events. His last Nationwide win had come at Las Vegas in '05.

In 2007, Burton became the first three-time winner of this race, as he edged Kyle Busch by less than one second for his 23rd career Nationwide win. Burton and Busch battled for the lead during the final 43 laps, but Burton overtook Busch on the final lap in front of an estimated crowd of 110,000. Pole sitter Kevin Harvick finished seventh after leading for 19 laps. Busch, who started 20th, led for a race-high 81 laps, while Burton, who now owns 27 wins led for 37. Burton's margin of victory of 0.101 of a second is the closest in event history.

Kasey Kahne registered his fourth career Nationwide Series title in 2006, as he crossed the finish line 0.316 of a second ahead of pole sitter Matt Kenseth. Kahne reclaimed the lead on lap 178 of the 206-lap event, and held on the rest of the way in front of an estimated crowd of 100,000. Kahne led on three separate occasions for a total of 52 laps, while Kenseth led twice for 60 laps. Third-place finisher Kevin Harvick was the lap-leader for the race with 81. Kenseth dominated the race early, as he led for the first 59 laps; however, Kahne and Harvick exchanged the lead throughout the remainder of the race.

The inaugural race at Las Vegas in 1997 was the first Nationwide event to be held west of the Mississippi river. Joe Nemechek won the 2003 race at Las Vegas from the 29th starting position, which is the furthest a driver has started and won there. The pole sitter has captured this race three times, last coming in 2002 when Burton accomplished the feat. 10 of the 14 previous races have been won from a top-10 starting position.

The next Nationwide Series race is the March 19th Scotts Turf Builder 300 at Bristol Motor Speedway, as Justin Allgaier defends his title.

03/01 16:28:05 ET

As of March 1, 2011, at 04:28 PM ET

Powered by The Sports Network.