Formula One

Formula One - Korean Grand Prix Preview

From The Sports Network

DATE: Sunday, October 16th
SITE: Korean International Circuit (2010) -- Yeongam County, South Korea
TRACK: 5.621 km (3.49 miles), 18-turn road course
CAPACITY: 130,000
TELEVISION: Speed Channel
START TIME: 2 a.m. (et)
POLE WINNER: Sebastian Vettel (Finished 17th)
LAPS: 55
MILES: 191.773 (308.630 km)
QUALIFYING RECORD: Sebastian Vettel, 2010 (1 minute, 35.585 seconds)
RACE RECORD: Fernando Alonso, 2010 (2 hrs., 48 mins., 20.810 secs.)
2010 Finish
1Fernando Alonso36Vitantonio Liuzzi17
2Lewis Hamilton47Rubens Barrichello10
3Felipe Massa68Kamui Kobayashi12
4Michael Schumacher99Nick Heidfeld13
5Robert Kubica810Nico Hulkenberg11
2010 Korean Grand Prix Facts and Figures
AVERAGE SPEED: 109.997 k.p.h.
TIME OF RACE: 2 hours, 48 minutes, 20.810 seconds
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 14.999 seconds
FASTEST LAP: Fernando Alonso, 1:50.257, Lap 42
POLE WINNER: Sebastian Vettel (1:35.585)
Past Korean Grand Prix Winners (Starting Position) Car -- Speed
2010 -- Fernando Alonso (3rd) -- Ferrari -- 109.997 kph/2:48:20.810 (rain)
Past Korean Grand Prix Pole Winners (Finish)
2010 -- Sebastian Vettel -- 17th
Last Race Results
RACE: Japanese Grand Prix (October 9th)
SITE: Suzuka Circuit -- Suzuka City, Japan
LAPS: 53
MILES: 191.117
WINNER: Jenson Button
RUNNER-UP: Fernando Alonso
THIRD: Sebastian Vettel
FOURTH: Mark Webber
FIFTH: Lewis Hamilton
POLE WINNER: Sebastian Vettel (Finished 3rd)
TIME OF RACE: 1 hour, 30 minutes, 53.427 seconds
AVERAGE SPEED: 202.972 k.p.h.
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 1.160 seconds
Korean Grand Prix Entry List
CarDriver, HometownCar/Name
1Sebastian Vettel (Heppenheim, Germ)Renault/Red Bull
2Mark Webber (Queanbeyan, Australia)Renault/Red Bull
3Lewis Hamilton (Stevenage, England)Mercedes/McLaren Vodafone
4Jenson Button (Frome, England)Mercedes/McLaren Vodafone
5 *Fernando Alonso (Oviedo, Spain)Ferrari/Marlboro
6Felipe Massa (Sao Paulo, Brazil)Ferrari/Marlboro
7Michael Schumacher (Germany)Mercedes GP/Petronas
8Nico Rosberg (Wiesbaden, Germany)Mercedes GP/Petronas
9Bruno Senna (Sao Paulo, Brazil)Renault/Lotus Renault GP
10Vitaly Petrov (Vyborg, Russia)Renault/Lotus Renault GP
11Rubens Barrichello (Sao Paulo, Brz)Cosworth/AT&T Williams
12Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela)Cosworth/AT&T Williams
14Adrian Sutil (Grafelfing, Germany)Mercedes/Force India
15Paul di Resta (Livingston, Scotland)Mercedes/Force India
16Kamui Kobayashi (Amagasaki, Japan)Ferrari/BMW Sauber
17Sergio Perez (Guadalajara, Mexico)Ferrari/BMW Sauber
18Sebastien Buemi (Aigle, Switzerland)Ferrari/Red Bull/Toro Rosso
19Jaime Alguersuari (Barcelona, Spain)Ferrari/Red Bull/Toro Rosso
20Heikki Kovalainen (Finland)Renault/Lotus
21Jarno Trulli (Pescara, Italy)Renault/Lotus
22Daniel Ricciardo (Perth, Australia)Cosworth/HRT
23Vitantonio Liuzzi (Italy)Cosworth/HRT
24Timo Glock (Lindenfels, Germany)Cosworth/Marussia Virgin
25Jerome d'Ambrosio (Etterbeek, Belg)Cosworth/Marussia Virgin
* - defending champion.
Leading Contenders (Finish last year)
Fernando AlonsoWon
Lewis Hamilton2nd
Felipe Massa3rd
Michael Schumacher4th
Jenson Button12th
Sebastian Vettel17th
Mark Webber23rd
Nico Rosberg24th
Mover of the Week
Nico Rosberg - Started in the 23rd position and finished 10th
Sports Network Selections
Pick to Win - Jenson Button
Darkhorse - Michael Schumacher
Last Week's Pick to Win (Sebastian Vettel) - Finished 3rd
Last Week's Darkhorse (Nick Heidfeld) - Did Not Start
Formula One made its inaugural visit to South Korea last season, as Fernando Alonso captured the Korean Grand Prix.

Alonso, starting from the 8th position, defeated Lewis Hamilton by a whopping 14.999 seconds for his 26th career Formula One title. Alonso survived monsoon- like conditions in the early going and then benefited from Red Bull Racing drivers Mark Webber and Sebastian Vettel failing to finish the 55-lap event at the newly-built 3.49-mile (5.621 km) Yeongam circuit. The win was one of five in 2010, as he finished second to Sebastian Vettel on the points list.

The Korean GP has the full backing from South Korea's Central Government, as well as the Government of South Jeolla Province, where the circuit is located. The track, designed by world-renowned designer Hermann Tilke, can accommodate 130,000 spectators.

With his third-place finish in Japan, Sebastian Vettel became the youngest driver in Formula One history to win back-to-back world championships. Vettel owns a 114-point advantage over Jenson Button with only four races remaining on the F1 docket. Vettel has started on the pole the last five races, with three wins, a second and a third.

The 2011 Formula One season continues with the October 30 inaugural running of the Indian Grand Prix at Buddh International Circuit in New Delhi.

10/11 16:22:22 ET

As of October 11, 2011, at 04:22 PM ET

Powered by The Sports Network.