Formula One

Formula One - Singapore Grand Prix Preview

From The Sports Network

DATE: Sunday, September 25th
SITE: Marina Bay Street Circuit (2008) -- Singapore
TRACK: 5.073 km (3.152 miles), 23-turn temporary street course
CAPACITY: 110,000
TELEVISION: Speed Channel
START TIME: 8 a.m. (et)
RUNNER-UP: Sebastian Vettel
POLE WINNER: Fernando Alonso (Finished 1st)
LAPS: 61
MILES: 192.272 (309.316 km)
QUALIFYING RECORD: Felipe Massa, 2008 (1 minute, 44.801 seconds)
RACE RECORD: Lewis Hamilton, 2009 (1 hr., 56 min., 6.337 sec.)
2010 Finish
1Fernando Alonso16Rubens Barrichello6
2Sebastian Vettel27Robert Kubica8
3Mark Webber58Felipe Massa24
4Jenson Button49Adrian Sutil15
5Nico Rosberg710Nico Hulkenberg17
2010 Singapore Grand Prix Facts and Figures
AVERAGE SPEED: 157.422 k.p.h.
TIME OF RACE: 1 hour, 57 minutes, 53.579 seconds
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 0.293 second
FASTEST LAP: Fernando Alonso, 1:47.976, Lap 58
POLE WINNER: Lewis Hamilton (1:45.390)
Past Singapore Grand Prix Winners (Starting Position) Car -- Speed
2010 -- Fernando Alonso (1st) -- Ferrari -- 157.422 k.p.h./1:57:53.579
2009 -- Lewis Hamilton (1st) -- McLaren-Mercedes -- 159.845 k.p.h./1:56:06.337
2008 -- Fernando Alonso (15th) -- Renault -- 158.068 k.p.h./1:57:16.304
Past Singapore Grand Prix Pole Winners (Finish)
2010 -- Fernando Alonso -- 1st
2009 -- Lewis Hamilton -- 1st
2008 -- Felipe Massa -- 13th
Last Race Results
RACE: Italian Grand Prix (September 11th)
SITE: Autodromo Nazionale Monza -- Monza, Italy
LAPS: 53
MILES: 190.58
WINNER: Sebastian Vettel
RUNNER-UP: Jenson Button
THIRD: Fernando Alonso
FOURTH: Lewis Hamilton
FIFTH: Michael Schumacher
POLE WINNER: Sebastian Vettel (Finished 1st)
TIME OF RACE: 1 hour, 20 minutes, 46.172 seconds
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 9.590 seconds
AVERAGE SPEED: 227.848 k.p.h.
Singapore Grand Prix Entry List
CarDriver, HometownCar/Name
1Sebastian Vettel (Heppenheim, Germ)Renault/Red Bull
2Mark Webber (Queanbeyan, Australia)Renault/Red Bull
3Lewis Hamilton (Stevenage, England)Mercedes/McLaren Vodafone
4Jenson Button (Frome, England)Mercedes/McLaren Vodafone
5 *Fernando Alonso (Oviedo, Spain)Ferrari/Marlboro
6Felipe Massa (Sao Paulo, Brazil)Ferrari/Marlboro
7Michael Schumacher (Germany)Mercedes GP/Petronas
8Nico Rosberg (Wiesbaden, Germany)Mercedes GP/Petronas
9Bruno Senna (Sao Paulo, Brazil)Renault/Lotus Renault GP
10Vitaly Petrov (Vyborg, Russia)Renault/Lotus Renault GP
11Rubens Barrichello (Sao Paulo, Brz)Cosworth/AT&T Williams
12Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela)Cosworth/AT&T Williams
14Adrian Sutil (Grafelfing, Germany)Mercedes/Force India
15Paul di Resta (Livingston, Scotland)Mercedes/Force India
16Kamui Kobayashi (Amagasaki, Japan)Ferrari/BMW Sauber
17Sergio Perez (Guadalajara, Mexico)Ferrari/BMW Sauber
18Sebastien Buemi (Aigle, Switzerland)Ferrari/Red Bull/Toro Rosso
19Jaime Alguersuari (Barcelona, Spain)Ferrari/Red Bull/Toro Rosso
20Heikki Kovalainen (Finland)Renault/Lotus
21Jarno Trulli (Pescara, Italy)Renault/Lotus
22Daniel Ricciardo (Perth, Australia)Cosworth/HRT
23Vitantonio Liuzzi (Italy)Cosworth/HRT
24Timo Glock (Lindenfels, Germany)Cosworth/Marussia Virgin
25Jerome d'Ambrosio (Etterbeek, Belg)Cosworth/Marussia Virgin
* - Defending champion.
Leading Contenders (Finish the last three years)
Fernando AlonsoWon3rdWon
Sebastian Vettel5th4th2nd
Mark Webber18th17th3rd
Jenson Button9th5th4th
Nico Rosberg2nd11th5th
Felipe Massa13th---8th
Rubens Barrichello19th6th6th
Michael Schumacher------13th
Lewis Hamilton3rdWon19th
Mover of the Week
Jaime Alguersuari - Started in the 18th position and finished 7th
Sports Network Selections
Pick to Win - Fernando Alonso
Darkhorse - Kamui Kobayashi
Last Week's Pick to Win (Fernando Alonso) - Finished 3rd
Last Week's Darkhorse (Adrian Sutil) - Finished 19th
Fernando Alonso started on the pole and led all 61 laps around the 3.152-mile (5.073 km) Marina Bay street circuit on a sultry night in Singapore last season. The victory was also his 25th career F1 win, which at the time, moved him into a tie for seventh-place on the circuit's all- time race winners list with Jim Clark and Niki Lauda. Since then, Alonso has added two more wins to his total and is tied with the great Jackie Stewart for fifth with 27 titles.

The Spaniard survived several collisions in 2010, including two that forced the deployment of the safety car. He also held off a hard-charging Sebastian Vettel from Red Bull Racing for most of the race. Ironically, Alonso is well behind Vettel for the points race this year, trailing by 112 points with only six races remaining. Vettel's victory two weeks ago in Italy was his second straight title and eighth of the season. In 13 starts, he has 13 top-five finishes.

Lewis Hamilton, the 2008 Formula One world champion, started on the pole and relinquished his lead briefly after pitting the second time during the 61- lap race en route to his second victory of the 2009 season and the 11th of his F1 career. Timo Glock placed second, 9.634 seconds behind Hamilton.

In 2008, Fernando Alonso captured the checkered flag, as he finished nearly three seconds ahead of Nico Rosberg for his 20th career F1 title. The victory snapped a year-long winless streak, a stretch that went back to the Italian Grand Prix in September of 2007.

The October 9th Japanese Grand Prix in Suzuka, Japan is the next Formula One event, as Sebastian Vettel will defend his title.

09/22 17:33:57 ET

As of September 22, 2011, at 05:34 PM ET

Powered by The Sports Network.