Formula One

Formula One - Turkish Grand Prix Preview

From The Sports Network

DATE: Sunday, May 8th
SITE: Istanbul Park (2005) -- Istanbul, Turkey
TRACK: 5.338 km (3.317 miles) 14-turn road course
CAPACITY: 130,000
TELEVISION: Speed Channel, Coverage begins at 7:30 a.m. (et)
START TIME: 8 a.m. (et)
RUNNER-UP: Jenson Button
POLE WINNER: Mark Webber (Finished 3rd)
LAPS: 58
MILES: 192.386 (309.356 km)
QUALIFYING RECORD: Kimi Raikkonen, 2005 (1 minute, 26.797 seconds)
RACE RECORD: Kimi Raikkonen, 2005 (1 hr., 24 min., 34.454 sec.)
2010 Finish
1Lewis Hamilton26Robert Kubica7
2Jenson Button47Felipe Massa8
3Mark Webber18Fernando Alonso12
4Michael Schumacher59Adrian Sutil11
5Nico Rosberg610Kamui Kobayashi10
2010 Turkish Grand Prix Facts and Figures
AVERAGE SPEED: 209.066 k.p.h.
TIME OF RACE: 1 hour, 28 minutes, 47.620 seconds
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 2.645 seconds
FASTEST LAP: Vitaly Petrov, 1:29.165, Lap 57
POLE WINNER: Mark Webber (1:26.295)
Past Turkish Grand Prix Winners (Starting Position) Car -- Speed
2010 -- Lewis Hamilton (2nd) -- McLaren-Mercedes -- 209.066 k.p.h./1:28:47.620
2009 -- Jenson Button (2nd) -- Brawn-Mercedes -- 215.385 k.p.h./1:26:24.848
2008 -- Felipe Massa (1st) -- Ferrari -- 213.808 k.p.h./1:26:49.451
2007 -- Felipe Massa (1st) -- Ferrari -- 214.108 k.p.h./1:26:42.161
2006 -- Felipe Massa (1st) -- Ferrari -- 208.930 k.p.h./1:28:51.082
2005 -- Kimi Raikkonen (1st) -- McLaren -- 219.496 k.p.h./1:24:34.454 (record)
Past Turkish Grand Prix Pole Winners (Finish)
2010 -- Mark Webber -- 3rd
2009 -- Sebastian Vettel -- 3rd
2008 -- Felipe Massa -- 1st
2007 -- Felipe Massa -- 1st
2006 -- Felipe Massa -- 1st
2005 -- Kimi Raikkonen -- 1st
Last Race Results
RACE: Chinese Grand Prix (April 17th)
SITE: Shanghai International Circuit -- Shanghai, China
LAPS: 56
MILES: 189.568
WINNER: Lewis Hamilton
RUNNER-UP: Sebastian Vettel
THIRD: Mark Webber
FOURTH: Jenson Button
FIFTH: Nico Rosberg
POLE WINNER: Sebastian Vettel (Finished 2nd)
TIME OF RACE: 1 hour, 36 minutes, 58.226 seconds
AVERAGE SPEED: 188.758 k.p.h.
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 5.198 seconds
Turkish Grand Prix Entry List
CarDriver, HometownCar/Name
1Sebastien Vettel (Heppenheim, Germ)Renault/Red Bull
2Mark Webber (Queanbeyan, Australia)Renault/Red Bull
3 *Lewis Hamilton (Stevenage, England)Mercedes/McLaren Vodafone
4Jenson Button (Frome, England)Mercedes/McLaren Vodafone
5Fernando Alonso (Oviedo, Spain)Ferrari/Marlboro
6Felipe Massa (Sao Paulo, Brazil)Ferrari/Marlboro
7Michael Schumacher (Germany)Mercedes GP/Petronas
8Nico Rosberg (Wiesbaden, Germany)Mercedes GP/Petronas
9Nick Heidfeld (Monchengladbach, Ger)Renault/Lotus Renault GP
10Vitaly Petrov (Vyborg, Russia)Renault/Lotus Renault GP
11Rubens Barrichello (Sao Paulo, Brz)Cosworth/AT&T Williams
12Pastor Maldonado (Venezuela)Cosworth/AT&T Williams
14Adrian Sutil (Grafelfing, Germany)Mercedes/Force India
15Paul di Resta (Livingston, Scotland)Mercedes/Force India
16Kamui Kobayashi (Amagasaki, Japan)Ferrari/BMW Sauber
17Sergio Perez (Guadalajara, Mexico)Ferrari/BMW Sauber
18Sebastien Buemi (Aigle, Switzerland)Ferrari/Red Bull/Toro Rosso
19Jaime Alguersuari (Barcelona, Spain)Ferrari/Red Bull/Toro Rosso
20Jarno Trulli (Pescara, Italy)Renault/Lotus
21Heikki Kovalainen (Finland)Renault/Lotus
22Narain Karthikeyan (India)Cosworth/HRT
23Vitantonio Liuzzi (Italy)Cosworth/HRT
24Timo Glock (Lindenfels, Germany)Cosworth/Marussia Virgin
25Jerome d'Ambrosio (Belgium)Cosworth/Marussia Virgin
* - defending champion.
Leading Contenders (Finish last six years)
Lewis Hamilton------5th2nd13thWon
Jenson Button5th4th13th11thWon2nd
Mark Webber20th10th22nd7th2nd3rd
Michael Schumacher17th3rd---------4th
Nico Rosberg---18th7th8th5th5th
Robert Kubica---12th8th4th7th6th
Felipe Massa19thWonWonWon6th7th
Fernando Alonso2nd2nd3rd6th10th8th
Rubens Barrichello10th8th17th14th19th14th
Sebastien Vettel------19th17th3rd22nd
Mover of the Week
Mark Webber - Started in the 18th position and finished 3rd
Sports Network Selections
Pick to Win - Lewis Hamilton
Darkhorse - Timo Glock
Last Week's Pick to Win (Lewis Hamilton) - Finished 1st
Last Week's Darkhorse (Rubens Barrichello) - Finished 13th
Lewis Hamilton and Jenson Button gave McLaren a 1-2 finish in the 2010 running of the Turkish Grand Prix, while Red Bull teammates Mark Webber and Sebastian Vettel lost an opportunity to win the race after they crashed 18 laps from the finish.

Webber, the pole sitter, held the lead after 40 laps were completed, but Vettel chased him down, as the two ran side-by-side for the top position. When Vettel tried to overtake Webber, the two collided and spun around. That allowed Hamilton to claim the lead and Button to move into second. The victory was the 12th of 15 career Formula One titles.

Hamilton is off to a sensational start in 2011, winning in his last start three weeks ago in China, after finishing second and eighth respectively the first two races.

After winning the first two races of the season, Sebastien Vettel finished second to Hamilton and now leads the 2008 world champion by 21 points.

Jenson Button ended Felipe Massa's three-year win streak in 2009, as he raced to victory. Button started second on the grid and outlasted Mark Webber to the finish line by 6.714 seconds. Pole sitter Sebastian Vettel placed third, while Massa finished sixth in his bid for a four-peat.

Button capitalized on an opening-lap mistake by Vettel, as he overtook the Red Bull driver and then never looked back from there to claim his sixth victory in the first seven grand prix of 2009. He became the only driver in the first five Turkish GPs to win from a position other than the pole.

F1 made its inaugural appearance in Turkey at Istanbul Park in 2005. Famous German architect Hermann Tilke designed the 5.338-kilometer, 14 turn race circuit. The Istanbul road course has an unusual anti-clockwise layout and features the legendary "Turn Eight," which effectively is four left hand turns all strung together. It is one of the most challenging corners on the F1 circuit.

The first six Turkish GPs have been won from either the first or second starting positions. Kimi Raikkonen placed his McLaren car on the pole and won the 2005 inaugural race in Istanbul. Felipe Massa won the next three events from the top starting position.

Formula One returns to Barcelona, Spain on May 22nd for the Spanish Grand Prix, as Mark Webber defends his title.

05/03 17:26:22 ET

As of May 3, 2011, at 05:26 PM ET

Powered by The Sports Network.