IndyCar Series

Verizon IndyCar Series - GoPro Grand Prix of Sonoma Preview

From The Sports Network

DATE: Sunday, Aug. 24
SITE: Sonoma Raceway -- Sonoma, California
TRACK: 2.385-mile, 12-turn road course
ANNUAL: 10th
TELEVISION: NBC Sports Network
RADIO: IMS Radio Network/SIRIUS XM Satellite
START TIME: 4:40 p.m. ET (expected green flag)
QUALIFYING TIME: Saturday, Aug. 23/7:35 p.m. ET
RUNNER-UP: Justin Wilson
POLE WINNER: Dario Franchitti (finished 3)
LAPS: 85
MILES: 202.73
QUALIFYING RECORD: Will Power, 2012 (111.116 mph)
RACE RECORD: Helio Castroneves, 2008 (100.254 mph)
2013 Finish
1Will Power36Ryan Hunter-Reay17
2Justin Wilson77Helio Castroneves5
3Dario Franchitti18James Hinchcliffe9
4Marco Andretti119Simona De Silvestro22
5Simon Pagenaud1010Sebastien Bourdais12
2013 GoPro Grand Prix of Sonoma Facts and Figures
AVERAGE SPEED: 86.401 mph
TIME OF RACE: 2 hrs., 20 mins., 46.8226 secs.
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 1.1930 secs.
CAUTION FLAGS: 7 for 21 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 7 among 7 drivers
POLE WINNER: Dario Franchitti (110.748 mph)
FASTEST LAP: Will Power, 107.416 mph, Lap 74
Past GoPro Grand Prix of Sonoma Winners (Starting Position) Car -- Speed
2013 -- Will Power (3) -- Dallara-Chevrolet -- 86.401 mph
2012 -- Ryan Briscoe (2) -- Dallara-Chevrolet -- 95.740 mph
2011 -- Will Power (1) -- Dallara-Honda -- 96.408 mph
2010 -- Will Power (1) -- Dallara-Honda -- 92.063 mph
2009 -- Dario Franchitti (1) -- Dallara-Honda -- 94.745 mph
2008 -- Helio Castroneves (1) -- Dallara-Honda -- 100.254 mph
2007 -- Scott Dixon (5) -- Dallara-Honda -- 98.593 mph
2006 -- Marco Andretti (2) -- Dallara-Honda -- 93.486 mph
2005 -- Tony Kanaan (3) -- Dallara-Honda -- 91.040 mph
NOTE: Formerly called Argent Mortgage Indy Grand Prix (2005), Indy Grand Prix
of Sonoma (2006), Motorola Indy 300 (2007), PEAK Antifreeze & Motor Oil
Indy Grand Prix of Sonoma County (2008).
Past GoPro Grand Prix of Sonoma Pole Winners (Finish)
2013 -- Dario Franchitti -- 3
2012 -- Will Power -- 2
2011 -- Will Power -- 1
2010 -- Will Power -- 1
2009 -- Dario Franchitti -- 1
2008 -- Helio Castroneves -- 1
2007 -- Dario Franchitti -- 3
2006 -- Scott Dixon -- 4
2005 -- Ryan Briscoe -- 19
Last Race Results
RACE: ABC Supply Wisconsin 250 (Aug. 17)
SITE: The Milwaukee Mile -- West Allis, Wisconsin
MILES: 250
LAPS: 250
WINNER: Will Power
RUNNER-UP: Juan Pablo Montoya
THIRD: Tony Kanaan
FOURTH: Scott Dixon
FIFTH: Josef Newgarden
POLE WINNER: Will Power (finished 1)
TIME OF RACE: 1 hr., 44 mins., 49.4611 secs.
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 2.7949 secs.
AVERAGE SPEED: 145.243 mph
CAUTION FLAGS: 1 for 9 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 8 among 4 drivers
LAP LEADERS: Will Power 1-57; Juan Pablo Montoya 58-59; Ed Carpenter 60-62;
Power 63-121; Tony Kanaan 122-132; Power 133-187; Kanaan 188-190;
Montoya 191-192; Power 193-250.
GoPro Grand Prix of Sonoma Entry List
CarDriver, HometownCar/Name
2Juan Pablo Montoya (Bogota, Colombia)Chevrolet/Team Penske
3Helio Castroneves (Sao Paulo, Brazil)Chevrolet/Team Penske
7Mikhail Aleshin (Moscow, Russia)Honda/Schmidt Peterson Motorsports
8Ryan Briscoe (Sydney, Australia)Chevrolet/Chip Ganassi Racing
9Scott Dixon (Auckland, New Zealand)Chevrolet/Chip Ganassi Racing
10Tony Kanaan (Salvador, Brazil)Chevrolet/Chip Ganassi Racing
11Sebastien Bourdais (Le Mans, France)Chevrolet/KVSH Racing
12 *Will Power (Toowoomba, Australia)Chevrolet/Team Penske
14Takuma Sato (Tokyo, Japan)Honda/A.J. Foyt Enterprises
15Graham Rahal (New Albany, OH)Honda/Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
17Sebastian Saavedra (Bogota, Colombia)Chevrolet/KVAFS Racing
18Carlos Huertas (Bogota, Colombia)Honda/Dale Coyne Racing
19Justin Wilson (Sheffield, England)Honda/Dale Coyne Racing
20Mike Conway (Bromley, England)Chevrolet/Ed Carpenter Racing
25Marco Andretti (Nazareth, PA)Honda/Andretti Autosport
27James Hinchcliffe (Toronto, Canada)Honda/Andretti Autosport
28Ryan Hunter-Reay (Ft. Lauderdale, FL)Honda/Andretti Autosport
34Carlos Munoz (Bogota, Colombia)Honda/Andretti-HVM
67Josef Newgarden (Hendersonville, TN)Honda/Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing
77Simon Pagenaud (Montmorillon, France)Honda/Schmidt Peterson Hamilton
83Charlie Kimball (Camarillo, CA)Chevrolet/Chip Ganassi Racing
99Jack Hawksworth (Bradford, England)Honda/BHA/BBM
* - defending champion.
Leading Contenders (Finish last nine years)
Will Power---------25---WonWon2Won
Justin Wilson---------976---112
Marco Andretti---Won1614141224254
Simon Pagenaud------------------1575
Ryan Hunter-Reay------181819810186
Helio Castroneves2152Won185267
James Hinchcliffe------------------7268
Sebastien Bourdais------------------62210
Graham Rahal---------82198511
Tony KanaanWon114387281013
Scott Dixon74Won1213251315
Ryan Briscoe1916---2243Won17
Charlie Kimball------------------262120
Sebastian Saavedra------------------141521
Takuma Sato---------------18182723
Josef Newgarden---------------------2324
Mike Conway------------3---1614---
Juan Pablo Montoya---------------------------
Mikhail Aleshin---------------------------
Jack Hawksworth---------------------------
Carlos Huertas---------------------------
Carlos Munoz---------------------------
Mover of the Week
Simon Pagenaud - started 16 and finished 7
Sports Network Selections
Pick to Win - Will Power
Last Week's Pick to Win (Ryan Hunter-Reay) - finished 21
The GoPro Grand Prix of Sonoma at Sonoma Raceway is the 17th race on the 2014 Verizon IndyCar Series schedule.

Located about 30 miles north of San Francisco, Sonoma Raceway opened as a 2.52-mile road course and drag strip in 1968. This course has been re- configured numerous times. It is 2.385 miles in length for IndyCar events. This track was formerly called Sears Point Raceway (1981-2001) and Infineon Raceway (2002-12).

IndyCar has been competing at Sonoma once each year since 2005. Tony Kanaan won the inaugural race that year.

Will Power from Team Penske is the only driver with multiple victories at Sonoma. Power won back-to-back races there from 2010-11 and scored another victory in 2013. He also has the most poles at this track with three (2010, '11 and '12).

Team Penske has the most victories at Sonoma with five. Ryan Briscoe won the 2012 race there in his final season with Penske. Helio Castroneves gave the team its first win at this track in 2008.

Dario Franchitti led all 75 laps en route to victory in the 2009 race, but Briscoe challenged him for the top spot in the closing laps. Franchitti beat Briscoe to the finish line by just 0.2488 seconds, which is the closest margin of victory in an IndyCar event at Sonoma.

Scott Dixon won the 2007 race at Sonoma from the fifth starting position, which is the furthest back in the field a driver has started and won there.

Marco Andretti's first career win in IndyCar came in the 2006 Sonoma race.

The 2014 Verizon IndyCar Series season concludes on Aug. 30 with the MAVTV 500 at Auto Club Speedway in Fontana, California. Power is the defending race winner.

08/19 22:14:14 ET

As of August 19, 2014, at 10:15 PM ET

Powered by The Sports Network.