IndyCar Series

IZOD IndyCar Series - Shell Pennzoil GP of Houston (Race 2) Preview

From The Sports Network

DATE: Sunday, Oct. 6
SITE: M.D. Anderson Cancer Center Speedway at Reliant Park -- Houston, Texas
TRACK: 1.683-mile, 10-turn street circuit
TELEVISION: NBC Sports Network
RADIO: IMS Radio Network/ SIRIUS XM Satellite
START TIME: 1:30 p.m. ET
QUALIFYING TIME: Saturday, Oct. 5/11:45 a.m. ET
LAPS: 90
MILES: 153
Last Race Results
RACE: Grand Prix of Baltimore (Sept. 1)
SITE: Streets of Baltimore -- Baltimore, Md.
MILES: 180
LAPS: 75
WINNER: Simon Pagenaud
RUNNER-UP: Josef Newgarden
THIRD: Sebastien Bourdais
FOURTH: Justin Wilson
FIFTH: Simona De Silvestro
POLE WINNER: Scott Dixon (finished 19)
AVERAGE SPEED: 67.234 mph
TIME OF RACE: 2 hrs., 16 mins., 32.3443 secs.
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 4.1592 secs.
CAUTION FLAGS: 6 for 25 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 6 among 6 drivers
LAP LEADERS: Will Power 1-31; Sebastien Bourdais 32-39; Tristan Vautier 40;
Bourdais 41-51; Graham Rahal 52-56; Marco Andretti 57-68; Simon
Pagenaud 69-75.
Shell Pennzoil GP of Houston (Race 2) Entry List
CarDriver, HometownCar/Name
1Ryan Hunter-Reay (Ft. Lauderdale, FL)DHL/Andretti Autosport
3Helio Castroneves (Sao Paulo, Brazil)Shell Pennzoil/Team Penske
4Oriol Servia (Pals, Spain)National Guard/Panther Racing
5E.J. Viso (Caracas, Venezuela)Venezuela/Andretti Autosport/HVM
6Sebastian Saavedra (Bogota, Colombia)Dragon Racing
7Sebastien Bourdais (Le Mans, France)Dragon Racing
9Scott Dixon (Auckland, New Zealand)Target/Chip Ganassi Racing
10Dario Franchitti (Edinburgh,Scotland)T-Mobile/Chip Ganassi Racing
11Tony Kanaan (Salvador, Brazil)Hydroxycut/KV Racing Technology
12Will Power (Toowoomba, Australia)Verizon/Team Penske
14Takuma Sato (Tokyo, Japan)ABC Supply/A.J. Foyt Racing
15Graham Rahal (New Albany, OH)blue eCigs/Rahal Letterman Lanigan
16James Jakes (Leeds, England)Acorn Stairlifts/RLL Racing
18Mike Conway (Bromley, England)Sonny's BBQ/Dale Coyne Racing
19Justin Wilson (Sheffield, England)Dale Coyne Racing
20Ed Carpenter (Indianapolis, IN)Fuzzy's Vodka/Ed Carpenter Racing
25Marco Andretti (Nazareth, PA)RC Cola/Andretti Autosport
27James Hinchcliffe (Toronto, Canada) Autosport
55Tristan Vautier (Corenc, France)Schmidt Peterson Motorsports
67Josef Newgarden (Hendersonville, TN)Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing
77Simon Pagenaud (Montmorillon, France)Schmidt-Hamilton HP Motorsports
78Simona De Silvestro (Thun, Switzer.)Nuclear Entergy Areva/KVRT
83Charlie Kimball (Camarillo, CA)NovoLog FlexPen/Chip Ganassi Racing
98Luca Filippi (Savigliano, Italy)Barracuda Racing/Bryan Herta Autospt
Mover of the Week
Sebastien Bourdais - started 22 and finished 3
Sports Network Selections
Pick to Win - Sebastien Bourdais (Race 1), Will Power (Race 2)
Last Week's Pick to Win (Scott Dixon) - finished 19
Race 2 of the Shell Pennzoil Grand Prix of Houston at Reliant Park is the 18th event on the 2013 IZOD IndyCar Series schedule.

This will be the third and final time IndyCar runs two full-distance races at a venue on the same weekend. Bell Isle Park in Detroit hosted the first weekend doubleheader in IndyCar this season in June. Mike Conway won the first race, and Simon Pagenaud claimed his first career IndyCar victory in the second event. In July, Scott Dixon scored a weekend-sweep on the streets of Toronto.

The Shell Pennzoil GP of Houston will be the first IndyCar-sanctioned race at Reliant Park in six years. CART/Champ Car competed there from 2006-07. Sebastien Bourdais won both times at Reliant Park.

Six drivers entered in this weekend's events have previously raced at Reliant Park -- Bourdais, Pagenaud, Will Power, Graham Rahal, Oriol Servia and Justin Wilson.

Champ Car raced on a a 1.527-mile temporary street circuit in downtown Houston from 1998-2001. Dario Franchitti won the first race. Paul Tracy (1999), Jimmy Vasser (2000) and Gil de Ferran (2001) claimed victories in the other events.

Servia is the only driver entered that has raced on the downtown street circuit and at Reliant Park.

The 2013 IndyCar season concludes with the Oct. 19 MAVTV 500 at Auto Club Speedway in Fontana, Calif. Ed Carpenter won last year's race there.

10/02 10:25:49 ET

As of October 2, 2013, at 10:25 AM ET

Powered by The Sports Network.