IndyCar Series

IndyCar Series - Grand Prix of Baltimore Preview

From The Sports Network

DATE: Sunday, Sept. 1
SITE: Streets of Baltimore -- Baltimore, Md.
TRACK: 2.4-mile, 12-turn temporary street circuit
TELEVISION: NBC Sports Network
RADIO: IMS Radio Network/SIRIUS XM Satellite
START TIME: 2:30 p.m. ET
QUALIFYING TIME: Saturday, Aug. 30/noon ET
POLE WINNER: Will Power (finished 6)
LAPS: 75
MILES: 180
QUALIFYING RECORD: Will Power, 2012 (94.649 mph)
RACE RECORD: Will Power, 2011 (75.046 mph)
2012 Finish
1Ryan Hunter-Reay106Will Power1
2Ryan Briscoe117Oriol Servia16
3Simon Pagenaud98Alex Tagliani13
4Scott Dixon29E.J. Viso22
5Rubens Barrichello1510Helio Castroneves14
2012 Grand Prix of Baltimore Facts and Figures
AVERAGE SPEED: 71.136 mph
TIME OF RACE: 2 hrs., 9 mins., 2.9522 secs.
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 1.4391 secs.
CAUTION FLAGS: 9 for 24 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 12 among 7 drivers
POLE WINNER: Will Power (94.649 mph)
FASTEST LAP: Will Power, 92.956 mph, Lap 64
Past Grand Prix of Baltimore Winners (Starting Position) Car -- Speed
2012 -- Ryan Hunter-Reay (10) -- Dallara-Chevrolet -- 71.136 mph
2011 -- Will Power (1) -- Dallara-Honda -- 75.046 mph
Past Grand Prix of Baltimore Pole Winners (Finish)
2012 -- Will Power -- 6
2011 -- Will Power -- 1
Last Race Results
RACE: GoPro Grand Prix of Sonoma (Aug. 25)
SITE: Sonoma Raceway -- Sonoma, Calif.
MILES: 202.73
LAPS: 85
WINNER: Will Power
RUNNER-UP: Justin Wilson
THIRD: Dario Franchitti
FOURTH: Marco Andretti
FIFTH: Simon Pagenaud
POLE WINNER: Dario Franchitti (finished 3)
TIME OF RACE: 2 hrs., 20 mins., 46.8226 secs.
AVERAGE SPEED: 86.401 mph
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 1.1930 secs.
CAUTION FLAGS: 7 for 21 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 7 among 7 drivers
LAP LEADERS: Dario Franchitti 1-17; Ryan Hunter-Reay 18-23; Justin Wilson
24-33; Scott Dixon 34-45; Tony Kanaan 46-50; James Hinchcliffe
51-54; Dixon 55-69; Power 70-85.
Grand Prix of Baltimore Entry List
CarDriver, HometownCar/Name
1 *Ryan Hunter-Reay (Ft. Lauderdale, FL)DHL/Andretti Autosport
3Helio Castroneves (Sao Paulo, Brazil)PPG/Team Penske
4Oriol Servia (Pals, Spain)National Guard/Panther Racing
5E.J. Viso (Caracas, Venezuela)Venezuela/Andretti Autosport/HVM
6Sebastian Saavedra (Bogota, Colombia)Dragon Racing
7Sebastien Bourdais (Le Mans, France)Dragon Racing
9Scott Dixon (Auckland, New Zealand)Target/Chip Ganassi Racing
10Dario Franchitti (Edinburgh,Scotland)Cessna/Chip Ganassi Racing
11Tony Kanaan (Salvador, Brazil)Hydroxycut/KV Racing Technology
12Will Power (Toowoomba, Australia)Verizon/Team Penske
14Takuma Sato (Tokyo, Japan)ABC Supply/A.J. Foyt Racing
15Graham Rahal (New Albany, OH)blue eCigs/Rahal Letterman Lanigan
16James Jakes (Leeds, England)Acorn Stairlifts/RLL Racing
18Stefan Wilson (Sheffield, England)Nirvana Tea/Dale Coyne Racing
19Justin Wilson (Sheffield, England)Dale Coyne Racing
20Ed Carpenter (Indianapolis, IN)Fuzzy's Vodka/Ed Carpenter Racing
25Marco Andretti (Nazareth, PA)Dr. Pepper/Andretti Autosport
27James Hinchcliffe (Toronto, Canada) Autosport
55Tristan Vautier (Corenc, France)Schmidt Peterson Motorsports
67Josef Newgarden (Hendersonville, TN)Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing
77Simon Pagenaud (Montmorillon, France)Schmidt-Hamilton HP Motorsports
78Simona De Silvestro (Thun, Switzer.)Nuclear Entergy Areva/KVRT
83Charlie Kimball (Camarillo, CA)NovoLog FlexPen/Chip Ganassi Racing
98Luca Filippi (Savigliano, Italy)Barracuda Racing/Bryan Herta Autospt
* - defending champion.
Leading Contenders (Finish last two years)
Ryan Hunter-Reay8Won
Simon Pagenaud---3
Scott Dixon54
Will PowerWon6
Helio Castroneves1710
Dario Franchitti413
Marco Andretti2514
James Hinchcliffe2415
Justin Wilson---17
Charlie Kimball2118
Tony Kanaan320
Mover of the Week
Simona De Silvestro - started 22 and finished 9
Sports Network Selections
Pick to Win - Scott Dixon
Last Week's Pick to Win (Scott Dixon) - finished 15
The Grand Prix of Baltimore on the streets of Baltimore is the 16th race on the 2013 IZOD IndyCar Series schedule.

This temporary street circuit incorporates two downtown Baltimore landmarks -- the Inner Harbor and Oriole Park at Camden Yards -- and features a hairpin turn, a chicane and a long straight leading into a hard right into turn 1 on Pratt Street which has been widened.

IndyCar will compete in Baltimore for the third time. Ryan Hunter-Reay won last year's race there. Hunter-Reay overtook Ryan Briscoe for the lead after a late-race restart. The ninth and final caution set up a two-lap sprint to the finish. Hunter-Reay pulled away from the field following the last restart and beat Briscoe to the finish line by 1.4 seconds for his fourth IndyCar win of the season. He went on to capture the series championship last year.

Will Power won the inaugural race at Baltimore with a dominating performance in 2011. Power started on the pole and led 70 of 75 laps. He finished 10 seconds ahead of his closest competitor, Oriol Servia.

The next IndyCar events are the inaugural Shell and Pennzoil Grand Prix of Houston (doubleheader weekend). Race 1 at Reliant Park is scheduled for Oct. 5, and the race 2 is slated for Oct. 6.

08/28 01:11:40 ET

As of August 28, 2013, at 01:12 AM ET

Powered by The Sports Network.