IndyCar Series

Kanaan collects $2.35 million for Indianapolis 500 win

Indianapolis, IN (Sports Network) - Tony Kanaan's victory in Sunday's 97th running of the Indianapolis 500 netted him a payday of $2,353,355.

IndyCar announced each of the 33 drivers' winnings from a purse of $12,020,065 during Monday night's Victory Awards Celebration at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Kanaan's Indy 500 win guaranteed him at least $2,112,500, but he also picked up an additional $240,855 in designated awards. The 38-year-old Brazilian won IndyCar's most prestigious race of the season for the time in his career. It came in his 12th attempt.

In a thrilling 500-mile race that featured a record 68 lead changes among 14 drivers and moved at a pace of 187.433 mph, Kanaan pulled ahead of Ryan Hunter-Reay for the lead right after a restart with just three laps to go. Seconds later, Dario Franchitti crashed into the wall in turn 1, which ended the race under caution and gave Kanaan the win.

Carlos Munoz, who made his IndyCar debut in this race, earned $964,205 for his very impressive second-place finish. Munoz has two race wins in the Indy Lights Series this year. He finished fourth in the Indy Lights event this past Friday at this famed 2.5-mile oval.

Hunter-Reay, the defending IndyCar champion, raked in $583,005 for his third- place run, while Marco Andretti's fourth-place finish allowed him to claim $469,755. Andretti took over the lead in the point standings. He holds an 11- point advantage over Takuma Sato, who placed 13th and earned $264,805. Justin Wilson finished fifth and was awarded $337,805. Helio Castroneves, a three- time winner of the Indy 500, was handed $313,755 for placing sixth.

Franchitti, who won this race for the third time in 2012, ended up finishing 23rd due to his accident. He collected $277,805. Franchitti's win here last year earned him $2,474,280 from a purse of $13,285,815.

05/27 22:04:42 ET

Powered by The Sports Network.