Breaking Tampa Bay, Florida and national news and weather from Tampa Bay Online and The Tampa Tribune |
  • Home
PGA Tour
HomeNewsCoursePrevOutlookFieldTee TimesLeaderboardWatch ListTop Players
WinnersPoffsAttend.FactsHoles in OneDouble EaglesSitesWeatherNews & Notes
Past British Open Champions, Runner(s)-up and Sites
From The Sports Network
Past British Open Results
2011Darren Clarke275Mickelson & D. JohnsonRoyal St. George's
2010Louis Oosthuizen272Lee WestwoodSt. Andrews
2009*Stewart Cink278Tom WatsonTurnberry
2008Padraig Harrington283Ian PoulterRoyal Birkdale
2007*Padraig Harrington277Sergio GarciaCarnoustie
2006Tiger Woods270Chris DiMarcoRoyal Liverpool
2005Tiger Woods274Colin MontgomerieSt. Andrews
2004*Todd Hamilton274Ernie ElsRoyal Troon
2003Ben Curtis283Vijay Singh, Thomas BjornRoyal St. George's
2002*Ernie Els278Steve Elkington, Thomas Levet, Stuart ApplebyMuirfield
2001David Duval274Niclas FasthRoyal Lytham & St. Annes
2000Tiger Woods269Ernie Els, Thomas BjornSt. Andrews
1999*Paul Lawrie290Justin Leonard, Jean Van de VeldeCarnoustie
1998*Mark O'Meara280Brian WattsRoyal Birkdale
1997Justin Leonard272Darren Clarke, Jesper ParnevikRoyal Troon
1996Tom Lehman271Ernie ElsRoyal Lytham & St. Annes
1995*John Daly282Costantino RoccaSt. Andrews
1994Nick Price268Jesper ParnevikTurnberry
1993Greg Norman267Nick FaldoRoyal St. George's
1992Nick Faldo272John CookMuirfield
1991Ian Baker-Finch272Mike HarwoodRoyal Birkdale
1990Nick Faldo270Payne Stewart, Mark McNultySt. Andrews
1989*Mark Calcavecchia275Wayne Grady, Greg NormanRoyal Troon
1988Seve Ballesteros273Nick PriceRoyal Lytham & St. Annes
1987Nick Faldo279Paul Azinger, Rodger DavisMuirfield
1986Greg Norman280Gordon BrandTurnberry
1985Sandy Lyle282Payne StewartRoyal St. George's
1984Seve Ballesteros276Tom Watson, Bernhard LangerSt. Andrews
1983Tom Watson275Andy BeanRoyal Birkdale
1982Tom Watson284Nick Price, Peter OosterhuisRoyal Troon
1981Bill Rogers276Bernhard LangerRoyal St. George's
1980Tom Watson271Lee TrevinoMuirfield
1979Seve Ballesteros283Ben Crenshaw, Jack NicklausRoyal Lytham & St. Annes
1978Jack Nicklaus281Ben Crenshaw, Tom Kite, Ray Floyd, Simon OwenSt. Andrews
1977Tom Watson268Jack NicklausTurnberry
1976Johnny Miller279Jack Nicklaus, Seve BallesterosRoyal Birkdale
1975*Tom Watson279Jack NewtonCarnoustie
1974Gary Player282Peter OosterhuisRoyal Lytham & St. Annes
1973Tom Weiskopf276Johnny MillerRoyal Troon
1972Lee Trevino278Jack NicklausMuirfield
1971Lee Trevino278Lu Liang HuanRoyal Birkdale
1970*Jack Nicklaus283Doug SandersSt. Andrews
1969Tony Jacklin280Bob CharlesRoyal Lytham & St. Annes
1968Gary Player289Bob Charles, Jack NicklausCarnoustie
1967Roberto DeVicenzo278Jack NicklausHoylake
1966Jack Nicklaus282Dave Thomas, Doug SandersMuirfield
1965Peter Thomson285Brian Huggett, Christy O'ConnorRoyal Birkdale
1964Tony Lema279Jack NicklausSt. Andrews
1963*Bob Charles277Phil RodgersRoyal Lytham & St. Annes
1962Arnold Palmer276Kel NagleRoyal Troon
1961Arnold Palmer284Dai ReesRoyal Birkdale
1960Kel Nagle278Arnold PalmerSt. Andrews
1959Gary Player284Fred Bullock, Flory Van DonckMuirfield
1958*Peter Thomson278Dave ThomasRoyal Lytham & St. Annes
1957Bobby Locke279Peter ThomsonSt. Andrews
1956Peter Thomson286Flory Van DonckHoylake
1955Peter Thomson281John FallonSt. Andrews
1954Peter Thomson283S.S. Scott, Dai Rees, Bobby LockeRoyal Birkdale
1953Ben Hogan282Frank Stranahan, D.J.Rees, Peter Thomson, A.CerdaCarnoustie
1952Bobby Locke287Peter ThomsonRoyal Lytham & St. Annes
1951Max Faulkner285A.CerdaPortrush
1950Bobby Locke279Roberto DeVicenzoRoyal Troon
1949*Bobby Locke283Harry BradshawRoyal St. George's
1948Henry Cotton294Fred DalyMuirfield
1947Fred Daly293R.W. Horne, Frank StranahanHoylake
1946Sam Snead290Bobby Locke, Johnny BullaSt. Andrews
1945Not Held Due to World War II
1944Not Held Due to World War II
1943Not Held Due to World War II
1942Not Held Due to World War II
1941Not Held Due to World War II
1940Not Held Due to World War II
1939Richard Burton290Johnny BullaSt. Andrews
1938R.A. Whitcombe295James AdamsRoyal St. George's
1937Henry Cotton290R.A. WhitcombeCarnoustie
1936Alfred Padgham287J.AdamsHoylake
1935Alfred Perry283Alfred PadghamMuirfield
1934Henry Cotton283S.F. BrewsRoyal St. George's
1933*Denny Shute229Craig WoodSt. Andrews
1932Gene Sarazen283Macdonald SmithPrince's
1931Tommy D. Armour296J.JuradoCarnoustie
1930Bobby Jones291Macdonald Smith, Leo DiegelHoylake
1929Walter Hagen292Johnny FarrellMuirfield
1928Walter Hagen292Gene SarazenRoyal St. George's
1927Bobby Jones285Aubrey BoomerSt. Andrews
1926Bobby Jones291Al WatrousRoyal Lytham & St. Annes
1925James Barnes300Archie Compston, Ted RayPrestwick
1924Walter Hagen301Ernest WhitcombeHoylake
1923Arthur Havers295Walter HagenRoyal Troon
1922Walter Hagen300George Duncan, James BarnesRoyal St. George's
1921*Jock Hutchison296Roger WetheredSt. Andrews
1920George Duncan303Alexander HerdDeal
1919Not Held Due to World War I
1918Not Held Due to World War I
1917Not Held Due to World War I
1916Not Held Due to World War I
1915Not Held Due to World War I
1914Harry Vardon306John H. TaylorPrestwick
1913John H. Taylor304Edward RayHoylake
1912Edward Ray295Harry VardonMuirfield
1911Harry Vardon303Arnaud MassyRoyal St. George's
1910James Braid299Alexander HerdSt. Andrews
1909John H. Taylor295James Braid, Tom BallDeal
1908James Braid291Tom BallPrestwick
1907Arnaud Massy312John H. TaylorHoylake
1906James Braid300John H. TaylorMuirfield
1905James Braid318John H. Taylor, Rolland JonesSt. Andrews
1904Jack White296John H. TaylorRoyal St. George's
1903Harry Vardon300Tom VardonPrestwick
1902Alexander Herd307Harry VardonHoylake
1901James Braid309Harry VardonMuirfield
1900John Taylor309Harry VardonSt. Andrews
1899Harry Vardon310Jack WhiteRoyal St. George's
1898Harry Vardon307Willie Park, Jr.Prestwick
1897Harold Hilton314James BraidHoylake
1896*Harry Vardon316John H. TaylorMuirfield
1895John H. Taylor322Alexander HerdSt. Andrews
1894John H. Taylor326Douglas RollandRoyal St. George's
1893William Auchterlonie322John E. LaidlayPrestwick
1892Harold Hilton305John Ball, Hugh KirkaldyMuirfield
1891Hugh Kirkaldy166Andrew Kirkaldy, Willie FernieSt. Andrews
1890John Ball164Willie FerniePrestwick
1889*Willie Park, Jr.155Andrew KirkaldyMusselburgh
1888Jack Burns171Ben Sayers, David AndersonSt. Andrews
1887Willie Park, Jr.161Bob MartinPrestwick
1886David Brown157Willie CampbellMusselburgh
1885Bob Martin171Archie SimpsonSt. Andrews
1884Jack Simpson160Douglas Rolland, Willie FerniePrestwick
1883*Willie Fernie159Robert FergusonMusselburgh
1882Robert Ferguson171Willie FernieSt. Andrews
1881Robert Ferguson170Jamie AndersonPrestwick
1880Robert Ferguson162Peter PaxtonMusselburgh
1879Jaime Anderson169Andrew Kirkaldy, James AllanSt. Andrews
1878Jaime Anderson157Robert KirkPrestwick
1877Jaime Anderson160Robert PringleMusselburgh
1876Bob Martin176David StrathSt. Andrews
1875Willie Park166Bob MartinPrestwick
1874Mungo Park159Tom Morris,Jr.Musselburgh
1873Tom Kidd179Jamie AndersonSt. Andrews
1872Tom Morris, Jr.166David StrathPrestwick
1871Not Held
1870Tom Morris, Jr.--David Strath, Bob KirkPrestwick
1869Tom Morris, Jr.--Tom Morris, Sr.Prestwick
1868Tom Morris, Jr.--David Strath, Bob KirkPrestwick
1867Tom Morris, Jr.170Willie ParkPrestwick
1866Willie Park169David ParkPrestwick
1865Andrew Strath162Willie ParkPrestwick
1864Tom Morris, Sr.160Andrew StrathPrestwick
1863Willie Park168Tom Morris, Sr.Prestwick
1862Tom Morris, Sr.163Willie ParkPrestwick
1861Tom Morris, Sr.163Willie ParkPrestwick
1860Willie Park174Tom Morris, Sr.Prestwick
* - Won in Playoff
Note: Tournament was extended to 72 holes in 1892.

Part of the Tribune family of products