TBO.com: Tampa Bay Online, The Tampa Tribune and The Tampa Times - breaking news and weather.
  • Home
Men's College Basketball
<    January    >

Northeast Conference Basketball Tournament
(Seeds in Parenthesis)

From The Sports Network

Sites: All games played at home of higher seed
Dates: Wednesday, March 5th through Tuesday, March 11th
Annual: 33rd
Defending Champion: Long Island def. Mount St. Mary's, 91-70
Television: MSG+, FCS (Semifinals), ESPN2 (Championship Game)
Wednesday, March 5th - Quarterfinal Round
Robert Morris 60, (8) Fairleigh Dickinson (10-21) 53
Wagner 83, (7) Central Connecticut State (11-19) 59
Saint Francis (PA) 55, (3) Bryant (18-14) 54
Mount St. Mary's 72, (5) St. Francis (NY) (18-14) 71
Saturday, March 8th - Semifinal Round
Mount St. Mary's 77, (2) Wagner (19-12) 72
Robert Morris 60, (6) Saint Francis (PA) (10-21) 57
Tuesday, March 11th - Championship Game
(4) Mount St. Mary's (16-16) 88, (1) Robert Morris (21-13) 71
Tournament Titles and Records
 SchoolTitlesLast Tourney Record  
 Robert Morris72010 34-22  
 Long Island52013 30-21  
 Fairleigh Dickinson42005 27-22  
 Mount St. Mary's32008 20-14  
 Central Conn State32007 15-12  
 Wagner12003 17-25  
 St. Francis (PA)11991 6-18  
 St. Francis (NY)0 10-24  
 Sacred Heart0 5-6  
 Bryant0 0-1  
Past NEC Tournament Winners, Results and Most Valuable Players
2014Mount St. Mary's def. Robert Morris, 88-71 (Rashad Whack)
2013Long Island def. Mount St. Mary's, 91-70 (C.J. Garner)
2012Long Island def. Robert Morris, 90-73 (Julian Boyd)
2011Long Island def. Robert Morris, 85-82 (OT) (Jamal Olasewere)
2010Robert Morris def. Quinnipiac, 52-50 (Karon Abraham)
2009Robert Morris def. Mount St. Mary's, 48-46 (Jeremy Chappell)
2008Mount St. Mary's def. Sacred Heart, 68-55 (Jean Cajou)
2007Central Connecticut State def. Sacred Heart, 74-70 (Javier Mojica)
2006Monmouth def. Fairleigh Dickinson, 49-48 (Marques Alston)
2005Fairleigh Dickinson def. Wagner, 58-52 (Tamien Trent)
2004Monmouth def. Central Connecticut State, 67-55 (Blake Hamilton)
2003Wagner def. St. Francis (NY), 78-61 (Jermaine Hall)
2002Central Connecticut State def. Quinnipiac, 78-71 (Damian Battles)
2001Monmouth def. St. Francis (NY), 67-64 (Rahsaan Johnson)
2000Central Connecticut State def. Robert Morris, 63-46 (Rick Mickens)
1999Mount St. Mary's def. Central Connecticut St, 72-56 (Gregory Harris)
1998Fairleigh Dickinson def. Long Island, 105-91 (Rahshon Turner)
1997Long Island def. Monmouth, 72-67 (Charlie Jones)
1996Monmouth def. Rider, 60-59 (Corey Albano)
1995Mount St. Mary's def. Rider, 69-62 (Silas Cheung)
1994Rider def. Monmouth, 62-56 (Charles Smith)
1993Rider def. Wagner, 65-64 (Darrick Suber)
1992Robert Morris def. Marist, 85-81 (Myron Walker)
1991St. Francis (PA) def. Fairleigh Dickinson, 97-82 (Mike Luzzolino)
1990Robert Morris def. Monmouth, 71-66 (Alex Blackwell)
1989Robert Morris def. Fairleigh Dickinson, 67-66 (Vaughn Luton)
1988Fairleigh Dickinson def. Monmouth, 90-75 (Jaime Latney)
1987Marist def. Fairleigh Dickinson, 64-55 (Drafton Davis)
1986Marist def. Fairleigh Dickinson, 57-56 (Rik Smits)
1985Fairleigh Dickinson def. Loyola-MD, 63-59 (Larry Hampton)
1984Long Island def. Robert Morris, 87-81 (Carey Scurry)
1983Robert Morris def. Long Island, 79-67 (Chipper Harris)
1982Robert Morris def. Long Island, 85-84 (Tom Parks)
Winner receives an automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament. All times Eastern. The top eight teams qualify for the tournament. All tournament games will be played at the home of the higher seed. After the quarterfinals, the teams will be re-seeded so the highest remaining seed plays the lowest remaining seed in the semifinals. Monmouth won this tournament four times (1996, 2001, 04, 06), Rider (1993-94) and Marist (1986-87) twice when they were members of the conference. Last year, third-seeded Long Island defeated fifth- seeded Mount St. Mary's, 91-70, to win the championship for the third straight year and fifth overall. Long Island became the first team to win this tournament three straight seasons. Long Island lost to James Madison, 68-55, in the first round of the NCAA Tournament. Robert Morris has played in the championship game four of the last five years, winning in 2009-10.

03/11 22:36:36 ET

As of March 11, 2014, at 10:36 PM ET