TBO.com: Tampa Bay Online, The Tampa Tribune and The Tampa Times - breaking news and weather.
  • Home
Men's College Basketball
<    April    

Big 12 Conference Basketball Tournament
(Seeds in Parenthesis)

From The Sports Network

Site: Sprint Center (18,555) -- Kansas City, Missouri
Dates: Wednesday, March 11th through Saturday, March 14th
Annual: 19th
Defending Champion: Iowa State def. Baylor, 74-65
Television: ESPNU, ESPN2, ESPN (Championship Game)
Wednesday, March 11th - First Round
TCU 67, (8) Kansas State (15-17) 65
Texas 65, (10) Texas Tech (13-19) 53
Thursday, March 12th - Quarterfinal Round
Baylor 80, (5) West Virginia (23-9) 70
Kansas 64, (9) TCU (18-15) 59
Iowa State 69, (7) Texas (20-13) 67
Oklahoma 64, (6) Oklahoma State (18-13) 49
Friday, March 13th - Semifinal Round
Kansas 62, (4) Baylor (24-9) 52
Iowa State 67, (3) Oklahoma (22-10) 65
Saturday, March 14th - Championship Game
(2) Iowa State (25-8) 70, (1) Kansas (26-8) 66
Tournament Titles and Records
 SchoolTitlesLast Tourney Record  
 Kansas92013 36-9  
 Oklahoma32003 20-15  
 Oklahoma State22005 23-16  
 Iowa State22014 11-16  
 Texas0 23-18  
 Baylor0 14-17  
 Texas Tech0 13-18  
 Kansas State0 11-18  
 TCU0 0-2  
 West Virginia0 0-2  
Past Big 12 Tournament Winners, Results and Most Valuable Players
2015Iowa State def. Kansas 70-66 (Georges Niang)
2014Iowa State def. Baylor, 74-65 (DeAndre Kane)
2013Kansas def. Kansas State, 70-54 (Jeff Withey)
2012Missouri def. Baylor, 90-75 (Kim English)
2011Kansas def. Texas, 85-73 (Marcus Morris)
2010Kansas def. Kansas State, 72-64 (Sherron Collins)
2009Missouri def. Baylor, 73-60 (DeMarre Carroll)
2008Kansas def. Texas, 84-74 (Brandon Rush)
2007Kansas def. Texas, 88-84 (OT) (Kevin Durant)
2006Kansas def. Texas, 80-68 (Mario Chalmers)
2005Oklahoma State def. Texas Tech, 72-68 (Joey Graham)
2004Oklahoma State def. Texas, 65-49 (Tony Allen)
2003Oklahoma def. Missouri, 49-47 (Hollis Price)
2002Oklahoma def. Kansas, 64-55 (Hollis Price)
2001Oklahoma def. Texas, 54-45 (Nolan Johnson)
2000Iowa State def. Oklahoma, 70-58 (Marcus Fizer)
1999Kansas def. Oklahoma State, 53-37 (Jeff Boschee)
1998Kansas def. Oklahoma, 72-58 (Paul Pierce)
1997Kansas def. Missouri, 87-60 (Paul Pierce)
Winner receives an automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament. All times Eastern. This year's tournament will be staged at the Sprint Center in Kansas City, Missouri for the sixth consecutive year. Last year, Iowa State captured its second Big 12 title, as they defeated Baylor, 74-65, in the final. The Cyclones were the fourth seed, while the Bears were the seventh seed. Iowa State reached the Sweet 16 of the NCAA Tournament before losing to eventual National Champion Connecticut, 81-76. Baylor has lost in the championship game three of the last six years. Missouri won this tournament twice (2009, 12) when it was a member. Kansas defeated Texas in the championship game of this tournament three straight years from 2006-08 and again in 2011. Kansas has been the top seed 12 of the previous 18 years. Paul Pierce (1997-98) and Hollis Price (2002-2003) are the only players to win tournament MVP honors twice. The top six teams receive byes into the quarterfinals.

03/15 00:24:10 ET

As of March 15, 2015, at 12:24 AM ET