Camping World Truck Series
NASCAR - Camping World - American Ethanol 200 Preview

From The Sports Network

DATE: Friday, July 11
SITE: Iowa Speedway -- Newton, Iowa
TRACK: 0.875-mile oval
CAPACITY: 30,000+ (Grandstand Seating)
RADIO: Motor Racing Network (MRN)/SIRIUS NASCAR Radio
START TIME: 8:30 p.m. ET
QUALIFYING TIME: 5:40 p.m. ET (Friday)
RUNNER-UP: Erik Jones
POLE WINNER: German Quiroga (finished 14)
LAPS: 200
MILES: 175
QUALIFYING RECORD: German Quiroga, 2013 (138.620 mph)
RACE RECORD: Timothy Peters, 2013 (106.311 mph)
2013 Finish
1Timothy Peters106Matt Crafton16
2Erik Jones77Miguel Paludo2
3James Buescher128Darrell Wallace Jr21
4Ron Hornaday Jr159Joey Coulter9
5Chase Elliott1110Dakoda Armstrong22
2013 American Ethanol 200 Facts and Figures
AVERAGE SPEED: 106.311 mph
TIME OF RACE: 1 hr., 38 mins., 46 secs.
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 0.225 secs.
CAUTION FLAGS: 5 for 26 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 6 among 5 drivers
POLE WINNER: German Quiroga (138.620 mph)
Past American Ethanol 200 Winners (Starting Position) Car -- Speed
2013 -- Timothy Peters (11) -- Toyota -- 106.311 mph
2012 -- Timothy Peters (1) -- Toyota -- 96.419 mph
2011 -- Matt Crafton (11) -- Chevrolet -- 98.932 mph
2010 -- Austin Dillon (1) -- Chevrolet -- 92.967 mph
2009 -- Mike Skinner (1) -- Toyota -- 99.181 mph
NOTE: Formerly called Lucas Oil 200 (2009-10) and Coca-Cola 200 (2011).
Past American Ethanol 200 Pole Winners (Finish)
2013 -- German Quiroga -- 14
2012 -- Timothy Peters -- 1
2011 -- David Mayhew -- 3
2010 -- Austin Dillon -- 1
2009 -- Mike Skinner -- 1
Last Race Results
RACE: UNOH 225 (June 26)
SITE: Kentucky Speedway -- Sparta, Kentucky
MILES: 225
LAPS: 150
WINNER: Kyle Busch
RUNNER-UP: Darrell Wallace Jr.
THIRD: Ryan Blaney
FOURTH: Timothy Peters
FIFTH: Brad Keselowski
POLE WINNER: Kyle Busch (finished 1)
TIME OF RACE: 1 hr., 43 mins., 5 secs.
AVERAGE SPEED: 130.962 mph
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 1.844 secs.
CAUTION FLAGS: 6 for 23 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 7 among 4 drivers
LAP LEADERS: K. Busch 1, Wallace Jr 2-35, K. Busch 36-50, Sauter 51-53,
Keselowski 54-58, K. Busch 59-78, Keselowski 79-95, K. Busch
American Ethanol 200 Entry List
CarDriver, HometownCar/Name
00Cole Custer (Ladera Ranch, CA)Chevrolet/Haas Automation
0Caleb Roark (Abingdon, VA)Chevrolet/Horejsi Graphics
02Tyler Young (Midland, TX)Chevrolet/RandCo/Young's Building
05John Wes Townley (Watkinsville, GA)Toyota/Zaxby's
5To Be AnnouncedToyota/Zaxby's
07B.J. McLeod ((Wauchula, FL)Chevrolet/TBA
08Jimmy Weller III (Hubbard, OH)Chevrolet/TBA
8John Hunter Nemechek (Lakeland, FL)Toyota/TBA
9Chase Pistone (Cornelius, NC)Chevrolet/NTS Motorsports
10Jennifer Jo Cobb (Kansas City, KS)Chevrolet/Horejsi Graphics
12Eric Caudell (Piedmont, OK)Chevrolet/
13Jeb Burton (Halifax, VA)Toyota/Estes/Carolina Nut
17 *Timothy Peters (Providence, NC)Toyota/Red Horse Racing
19Tyler Reddick (Corning, CA)Ford/Broken Bow Records
20Justin Lofton (Westmorland, CA)Chevrolet/J.D. Heiskell & Co.
21Joey Coulter (Miami Springs, FL)Chevrolet/TBA
23Spencer Gallagher (Las Vegas, NV)Chevrolet/Allegiant Travel
29Ryan Blaney (High Point, NC)Ford/Cooper Standard
30Ron Hornaday Jr. (Palmdale, CA)Chevrolet/Rheem
31Ben Kennedy (Daytona Beach, FL)Chevrolet/Turner Scott Motorsports
32Tayler Malsam (Seattle, WA)Chevrolet/Outerwall
35Mason Mingus (Brentwood, TN)Toyota/Call 811
36Scott Stenzel (Alexandria, MN)RAM/Mittler Bros. Machine & Tools
42Charles Lewandowski (Staff. Spr., CT)Chevrolet/Randco/Young's Building
45Tommy Regan (Tracy, CA)Chevrolet/JD2 Shark Whelding
50T.J. Bell (Reno, NV)Chevrolet/Electrical Linemen
51Erik Jones (Byron, MI)Toyota/Kyle Busch Motorsports
54Darrell Wallace Jr. (Mobile, AL)Toyota/Kyle Busch Motorsports
56Raymond Terczak Jr. (Stafford, VA)Chevrolet/RHT Racing
57Norm Benning (Level Green, PA)Chevrolet/TBA
63Justin Jennings (LaGrange, MO)Chevrolet/LG Seeds/Mittler Bros.
74Dustin Hapka (Grand Forks, ND)Chevrolet/
77German Quiroga (Mexico City, Mexico)Toyota/Otter Box
86Brandon Brown (Ridgeville, SC)Chevrolet/TBA
88Matt Crafton (Tulare, CA)Toyota/Menard's/Ideal Door
97Jeff Choquette (West Palm Beach, FL)Chevrolet/Adrian Carriers
98Johnny Sauter (Necedah, WI)Toyota/Smokey Mountain Snuff
99Bryan Silas (Stuart, FL)Chevrolet/TBA
* - defending champion.
Leading Contenders (Finish last five years)
Timothy Peters82711WonWon
Erik Jones------------2
Ron Hornaday Jr4241924
Matt Crafton63Won36
Darrell Wallace Jr.------------8
Joey Coulter------589
Johnny Sauter524411
German Quiroga------------14
Jeb Burton------------22
Ryan Blaney------------26
Ben Kennedy---------------
Mover of the Week
Austin Dillon - started 23 and finished 7
Sports Network Selections
Pick to Win - Darrell Wallace Jr.
Last Week's Pick to Win (Kyle Busch) - finished 1
The American Ethanol 200 at Iowa Speedway is the ninth race on the 2014 Camping World Truck Series schedule.

Built in 2006, Iowa Speedway has progressive banking from 12-14 degrees in all of its turns. There are 10 degrees of banking on the frontstretch and four degrees on the backstretch. The length of the frontstretch is 1,075 feet, and the backstretch measures 869 feet.

There have been seven truck races held at Iowa. The series competed there once each season from 2009-2011 before hosting two events in 2012 and '13. Iowa has only one date this season.

Five drivers who are on the entry list for this race have competed in each of the previous seven truck events at Iowa -- Norm Benning, Matt Crafton, Ron Hornaday Jr., Timothy Peters and Johnny Sauter.

Mike Skinner won the inaugural truck race at Iowa, the Lucas Oil 200, on Sept. 5, 2009.

Peters is the only driver who has multiple truck victories at Iowa (July 2012 and July 2013).

Ryan Blaney and Austin Dillon are those drivers who scored their maiden wins in the series at this track. Blaney won there in September 2012. Dillon's first truck victory occurred in July 2010. He is now a rookie in the Sprint Cup Series.

One year ago, German Quiroga earned his first career pole in the series at Iowa.

Matt Crafton, the defending series champion, is the only driver who has posted top-10 finishes in all seven races at Iowa. Crafton is currently eight points behind leader and ThorSport Racing teammate Sauter, who has six top-five finishes at this track.

The next race is the July 23 1-800-CarCash Mudsummer Classic at Eldora Speedway, a half-mile dirt track in Rossburg, Ohio. Austin Dillon won last year's inaugural event there.

07/08 21:46:28 ET

As of July 8, 2014, at 09:46 PM ET

  • 490 First Avenue South
  • St. Petersburg, FL 33701
  • 727-893-8111