Camping World Truck Series
NASCAR - Camping World Truck - N.C. Education Lottery 200 Preview

From The Sports Network

DATE: Sunday, April 14
SITE: Rockingham Speedway (1965) -- Rockingham, N.C.
TRACK: 1-mile oval
CAPACITY: 35,000 (Grandstand seating)
RADIO: Motor Racing Network (MRN)/SIRIUS NASCAR Radio
QUALIFYING TIME: Sunday, April 14/11:05 a.m. ET
DEFENDING CHAMPION: Kasey Kahne (not defending)
RUNNER-UP: James Buescher
POLE WINNER: Nelson Piquet Jr. (finished 7)
LAPS: 200
MILES: 200
QUALIFYING RECORD: Nelson Piquet Jr., 2012 (144.387 mph)
RACE RECORD: Kasey Kahne, 2012 (107.239 mph)
2012 Finish
1Kasey Kahne56Joey Coulter17
2James Buescher167Nelson Piquet Jr.1
3Matt Crafton88Ty Dillon12
4Johnny Sauter109Parker Kligerman6
5Timothy Peters310Justin Lofton19
2012 N.C. Education Lottery 200 Facts and Figures
AVERAGE SPEED: 107.239 mph
TIME OF RACE: 1 hr., 51 mins., 54 secs.
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 1.478 secs.
CAUTION FLAGS: 4 for 25 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 7 among 4 drivers
POLE WINNER: Nelson Piquet Jr. (144.387 mph)
Past N.C. Education Lottery 200 Winners (Starting Position) Car -- Speed
2012 -- Kasey Kahne (5) -- Chevrolet -- 107.239 mph
Past N.C. Education Lottery 200 Pole Winners (finish)
2012 -- Nelson Piquet Jr. -- 7
Last Race Results
RACE: Kroger 250 (April 6)
SITE: Martinsville Speedway -- Martinsville, Va.
MILES: 131.5
LAPS: 250
WINNER: Johnny Sauter
RUNNER-UP: Matt Crafton
THIRD: Jeb Burton
FOURTH: Timothy Peters
FIFTH: Darrell Wallace Jr.
POLE WINNER: Jeb Burton (finished 3)
TIME OF RACE: 2 hrs., 6 mins., 3 secs.
AVERAGE SPEED: 62.595 mph
MARGIN OF VICTORY: 1.888 secs.
CAUTION FLAGS: 11 for 71 laps
LEAD CHANGES: 13 among 7 drivers
LAP LEADERS: J. Burton 1-76; R. Hornaday Jr. 77-95; K. Harvick 96-101; R.
Hornaday Jr. 102-103; J. Burton 104-146; K. Harvick 147-151; N.
Piquet Jr. 152-161; D. Wallace Jr. 162; N. Piquet Jr. 163-164; D.
Wallace Jr. 165-197; J. Burton 198-217; T. Peters 218; J. Burton
219-233; J. Sauter 234-250.
N.C. Education Lottery 200 Entry List
CarDriver, HometownCar/Name
0Scott Saunders (Brisbane, Australia)RAM/
02Tyler Young (Midland, TX)Chevrolet/Randco
3Ty Dillon (Welcome, NC)Chevrolet/Bass Pro Shops
4Jeb Burton (Halifax, VA)Chevrolet/Arrowhead
5Tim George Jr. (New York, NY)Ford/Applebee's
6To Be AnnouncedChevrolet/TBA
07Chris Cockrum (Conyers, GA)Toyota/TBA
7John Wes Townley (Watkinsville, GA)Toyota/Zaxby's
8Max Gresham ((Griffin, GA)Chevrolet/Made in USA Brand
9Ron Hornaday Jr. (Palmdale, CA)Chevrolet/Smokey Mountain Herbal
10Jennifer Jo Cobb (Kansas City, KS)Chevrolet/Koma Unwind Relax Drink
13Todd Bodine (Chemung, NY)Toyota/TBA
14Brennan Newberry (Bakersfield, CA)Chevrolet/No Fear Energy
17Timothy Peters (Providence, NC)Toyota/Parts Plus
18Joey Coulter (Miami Springs, FL)Toyota/Darrell Gwynn Foundation
19Joey Logano (Middletown, CT)Ford/Carbon Forged Reese Towpower
21Spencer Gallagher (Las Vegas, NV)Chevrolet/Allegiant Air
27Jeff Agnew (Copper Hill, VA)Chevrolet/TBA
28Andy Seuss (Hempstead, NH)Chevrolet/FDNY Racing
29Ryan Blaney (High Point, NC)Ford/Cooper Standard Performance
30Kyle Larson (Elk Grove, CA)Chevrolet/Autism Speaks
31James Buescher (Plano, TX)Chevrolet/Rheem
32Miguel Paludo (Nova Prata, Brazil)Chevrolet/Accu Doc Solutions.
35Charles Lewandoski (Stafford Spr.,CT)Chevrolet/Randco
39Ryan Sieg (Tucker, GA)Chevrolet/RSS Racing
51Erik Jones (Byron, MI)Toyota/Kyle Busch Motorsports
52Tyler Reddick (Corning, CA)Toyota/Broken Bow Records
54Darrell Wallace Jr. (Mobile, AL)Toyota/Kyle Busch Motorsports
57Norm Benning (Level Green, PA)Chevrolet/TBA
60Dakoda Armstrong (New Castle, IN)Chevrolet/Winfield
62Brendan Gaughan (Las Vegas, NV)Chevrolet/South Point
68Clay Greenfield (Clarksville, TN)RAM/1-800-Pavement
75Caleb Holman (Abingdon, VA)Chevrolet/Wise Snack Foods
77German Quiroga (Mexico City, Mexico)Toyota/Net 10 Wireless
81David Starr (Houston, TX)Toyota/TBA
84Chris Fontaine (Lakeland, FL)Toyota/Glenden Enterprises
88Matt Crafton (Tulare, CA)Toyota/Menard's
92Scott Riggs (Bahama, NC)Chevrolet/
93Kenny Habul (Etobicoke, Canada)Chevrolet/RSS Racing
94Chase Elliott (Dawsonville, GA)Chevrolet/FDNY Racing
98Johnny Sauter (Necedah, WI)Toyota/Carolina Nut Co/Curb Records
99Bryan Silas (Stuart, FL)Ford/Rockingham Speedway
Leading Contenders (last year's finish)
James Buescher2
Matt Crafton3
Johnny Sauter4
Timothy Peters5
Joey Coulter6
Ty Dillon8
Jeb Burton11
Ron Hornaday Jr.12
Darrell Wallace Jr.---
Ryan Blaney---
Brendan Gaughan---
Joey Logano---
Mover of the Week
Dakoda Armstrong - started 28 and finished 7
Sports Network Selections
Pick to Win - Johnny Sauter
Last Week's Pick to Win (Kevin Harvick) - finished 25
The North Carolina Education Lottery at Rockingham Speedway is the third race on the 2013 Camping World Series schedule.

Known as "The Rock," this 1-mile racetrack has 22 degrees of banking in turns 1 and 2 and 25 degrees in turns 3 and 4, as well as 8 degrees of banking on the front and back straightaways.

Rockingham hosted a total of 78 Sprint Cup races from 1965, the year it opened, to 2004 and 42 Nationwide events from 1982-2004.

Kasey Kahne won the inaugural truck race at Rockingham one year ago. Kahne, a Sprint Cup Series regular, had to start from the rear of the field since he did not qualify the truck. He was competing in the Cup event the night before at Texas Motor Speedway. Kahne took the lead on lap 155 and then ran in front for the remaining 45 circuits to claim his fourth career truck win. Nelson Piquet Jr. started on the pole and led the way for most of this race, but Piquet received a pit-road speeding penalty in the late going and fell out of contention. He finished seventh. Kahne is not entered in this year's race.

The next Camping World Truck Series event is the April 20 SFP 250 at Kansas Speedway. James Buescher is the defending race winner.

04/09 14:53:55 ET

As of April 9, 2013, at 02:54 PM ET

  • 490 First Avenue South
  • St. Petersburg, FL 33701
  • 727-893-8111