Web.com Tour
WEB.COM - Mexico Championship Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, May 23rd through Sunday, May 26th
SITE: El Bosque Golf Club, Leon, GTO, Mexico
COURSE ARCHITECT: Steve Newgent (2009)
PAR: 72
YARDAGE: 7,701
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 5 561 Yds10 - Par 5 572 Yds
2 - Par 4 370 Yds11 - Par 4 430 Yds
3 - Par 3 239 Yds12 - Par 3 162 Yds
4 - Par 4 420 Yds13 - Par 4 452 Yds
5 - Par 4 402 Yds14 - Par 4 525 Yds
6 - Par 4 536 Yds15 - Par 3 232 Yds
7 - Par 3 272 Yds16 - Par 4 445 Yds
8 - Par 5 546 Yds17 - Par 4 484 Yds
9 - Par 4 486 Yds18 - Par 5 567 Yds
36 3,832 Yds36 3,869 Yds
Annual:  55th (6th on Web.com Tour)
Television:  None
Defending Champion:  Lee Williams (Not defending)
Runner-Up:  Paul Haley II
Tournament Record:  267 (Jarrod Lyle, 2008)
54-Hole Record:  204 (Greg Chalmers, Jarrod Lyle, 2008; Troy Merritt,
  Garth Mulroy, 2009; Matthew Giles, Richard H. Lee,
  Peter Lonard, 2011; Lee Williams, 2012)
36-Hole Record:  131 (Casey Wittenberg, 2011)
18-Hole Record:  63 (Jarrod Lyle, 2008 - Tres Marias Golf Club)
Course Record:  63 (Casey Wittenberg, 2011)
Total Purse:  $700,000
Shares:  1st Place - $126,000; 2nd Place - $75,600; 3rd Place - $47,600
2012 Finish
Lee Williams274Julian Etulain278
Paul Haley II275Aaron Goldberg278
Scott Gutschewski276Matt Hendrix278
Philip Pettitt, Jr.277Andy Pope278
Tyrone Van Aswegen277Brian Stuard278
Casey Wittenberg278
Past Mexico Championship Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2012Lee Williams (274) -- Paul Haley II
2011Erik Compton (271) -- Richard H. Lee
2010*Jamie Lovemark (276) -- B.J. Staten
2009*Troy Merritt (273) -- Adam Bland
2008Jarrod Lyle (267) -- Matt Every
2007No tournament
2006Fabrizio Zanotti (275) -- Daniel De Leon
2005Antonio Maldonado (275) -- Rafael Gomez, Mickael Dieu
2004Rafael Gomez (270) -- Eduardo Herrera
2003Eduardo Herrera (278) -- Eduardo Argiro, Jeff Burns
2002Pablo Fernandez
2001No tournament
2000Esteban Toledo
1999Stewart Cink
1998Eduardo Romero
1997Frank Nobilo
1996Stewart Cink
1995John Cook
1994Chris Perry
1993Fred Funk
1992Tom Sieckmann
1991Jay Haas
1990Bob Lohr
1989No tournament
1988No tournament
1987No tournament
1986No tournament
1985No tournament
1984Danny Mijovic
1983Tommy Armour III
1982No tournament
1981Ben Crenshaw
1980David Graham
1979No tournament
1978No tournament
1977Billy Casper
1976Ernesto Perez Acosta
1975Lee Trevino
1974Ed Byman
1973Lee Trevino
1972No tournament
1971Angel Gallardo
1970Ernesto Perez Acosta
1969No tournament
1968No tournament
1967No tournament
1966Bob McCallister
1965Homero Blancas
1964Art Wall
1963Al Balding
1962Tony Lema
1961Tony Lema
1960Howie Johnson
1959Angel Miguel
1958Antonio Cerda
1957Bob Rosburg
1956Billy Maxwell
1955Roberto DeVicenzo
1954Johnny Palmer
1953Roberto DeVicenzo
1952Bobby Locke
1951Roberto DeVicenzo
1950Tony Holguin
1949Tony Holguin
1948No tournament
1947Al Espinosa
1946Al Espinosa
1945Al Espinosa
1944Al Espinosa

Top Contenders in the Field
Scott Gutschewski------3rd
Tim Wilkinsonmc---12th
Hudson Swafford------T-17
Scott Parel------T-29
Benjamin Alvarado------T-39
Alex Aragon------T-48
Andrew SvobodaT-14T-50T-59
Kevin KisnerT-19------
Mark D. AndersonT-24------
Michael PutnamT-44------
Tom Hoge---------
Alexandre Rocha---------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Tim Wilkinson
Darkhorse - Alexandre Rocha
Last Week's Pick to Win (Michael Putnam) - Finished tied for 47th
Last Week's Darkhorse (Ben Martin) - Finished tied for 29th
The Web.com Tour travels south of the border to Mexico this week for the 55th installment of the Mexico Championship. This will be the sixth year that this event is being played on the Web.com Tour. Six of the top 12 players on the money list are playing this week. The purse increased $75,000 from last year to $700,000, with the winner receiving $126,000.

Edward Loar currently leads the money list by more than $68,000 over Benjamin Alvarado. Loar is not in the field this week, so Alvarado can jump in front with a first or second-place finish.

The Web.com Tour previously played in Mexico from 1993-2001 at the Monterrey Open. Past winners of that event include Olin Browne, Stuart Appleby, Joe Ogilvie and Briny Baird.

Past winners of the Mexico Championship include Roberto De Vicenzo, Bobby Locke, Lee Trevino, Billy Casper, David Graham, Ben Crenshaw, Jay Haas, Fred Funk, John Cook and Stewart Cink.

Last year, Lee Williams posted rounds of 69-67-68-70 and won by a single stroke over Paul Haley II. Williams, who won for the first time on the Web.com Tour, finished at 14-under-par 274 at El Bosque Golf Club.

Williams will not be on hand to defend his title, as he earned his PGA Tour card for 2013 by finishing 16th on the 2012 Web.com Tour money list. Williams has struggled this season on the PGA Tour, making five cuts in 13 events. His best finish is a tie for 37th at the Humana Challenge in January.

In 2011, Erik Compton, a two-time heart transplant recipient, fired a 7-under 65 in the final round to win by two strokes over Richard H. Lee. Compton, who claimed his first Web.com Tour title, ended the event at 17-under-par 271. He had won three times on the Canadian Tour, but this was his first win anywhere since getting his second heart transplant in 2008.

Jamie Lovemark defeated B.J. Staten in 2010 with an eagle on the first playoff hole to earn his first Web.com Tour victory. Lovemark, the 2007 NCAA Individual Champion, and Staten finished at 12-under-par 276. Lovemark would go on to win the 2010 Web.com Tour Player of the Year award and finish first on the money list.

In 2008, Jarrod Lyle fired an 8-under 63 in the final round to earn his first Web.com Tour win. Lyle, who entered the final day tied for the lead, completed the event at 17-under-par 267 to win by five over Matt Every.

The Web.com Tour heads to Maryland next week for the Mid-Atlantic Championship at TPC Potomac at Avenel Farm, where David Lingmerth captured the 2012 title.

05/21 17:07:46 ET

As of May 21, 2013, at 05:07 PM ET

  • 490 First Avenue South
  • St. Petersburg, FL 33701
  • 727-893-8111