Web.com Tour
WEB.COM - WNB Golf Classic Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, April 11th through Sunday, April 14th
SITE: Midland Country Club, Midland, Texas
COURSE ARCHITECT: Ralph Plummer (1954), Ault, Clark & Assoc. (re-design, 1988)
PAR: 72
YARDAGE: 7,380
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 426 Yds10 - Par 4 431 Yds
2 - Par 5 579 Yds11 - Par 3 185 Yds
3 - Par 3 204 Yds12 - Par 5 552 Yds
4 - Par 5 536 Yds13 - Par 4 435 Yds
5 - Par 4 436 Yds14 - Par 4 411 Yds
6 - Par 4 458 Yds15 - Par 5 601 Yds
7 - Par 4 419 Yds16 - Par 3 189 Yds
8 - Par 3 224 Yds17 - Par 4 386 Yds
9 - Par 4 438 Yds18 - Par 4 470 Yds
36 3,720 Yds36 3,660 Yds
Annual:  22nd
Television:  None
Defending Champion:  Luke Guthrie (Not defending)
Runner-Up:  Danny Lee, Cameron Percy
Tournament Record:  264 (Chad Campbell, 2001)
54-Hole Record:  195 (Chad Campbell, 2001)
36-Hole Record:  128 (Kevin Johnson, 2000)
18-Hole Record:  62 (Kevin Johnson, 1997; Dicky Thompson, 1999; Guy Boros,
  Todd Barranger, 2000 - Club at Mission Dorado)
Course Record:  62 (Chad Collins, 2009; Harris English, 2011)
Total Purse:  $550,000
Shares:  1st Place - $99,000; 2nd Place - $59,400; 3rd Place - $37,400
2012 Finish
Luke Guthrie271Morgan Hoffmann276
Danny Lee272Jamie Lovemark277
Cameron Percy272Michael Putnam277
Aaron Goldberg273Five players at278
Brett Wetterich273
Past WNB Golf Classic Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2012Luke Guthrie (271) -- Danny Lee, Cameron Percy
2011*Danny Lee (270) -- Harris English
2010Nate Smith (270) -- Fabian Gomez, Brandt Jobe, Alistair Presnell
2009Garrett Willis (268) -- Chad Collins
2008Marc Leishman (267) -- Keoke Cotner
2007*Brad Adamonis (278) -- Tjaart van der Walt, Vance Veazey, Ron Whittaker
2006*Brandt Snedeker (272) -- Aron Price
2005Kris Cox (270) -- Craig Bowden, Jerry Smith, Chris Tidland
2004*Charley Hoffman (282) -- Jeff Gove, Craig Lile
2003D.J. Brigman (272) -- Jason Dufner, Mark Hensby, Jimmy Walker
2002*Tag Ridings (272) -- Mark Hensby
2001Chad Campbell (264) -- Todd Fischer
2000Kevin Johnson (268) -- Mark Hensby
1999David Berganio, Jr. (269) -- Paul Gow, Dicky Thompson
1998*Stiles Mitchell (276) -- Woody Austin, Jeff Barlow
1997Paul Gow (267) -- Steve Lamontagne
1996Michael Christie (270) -- Anthony Rodriguez
1995Hugh Royer III (275) -- Paul Claxton, Frank Conner, Keoke Cotner,
Franklin Langham, Dave Miley, Chris Smith,
Phil Tataurangi
1994Bruce Vaughan (269) -- Gary Rusnak, Bob Wolcott
1993#*Franklin Langham (202) -- Doug Martin
1992#Taylor Smith (205) -- Pete Jordan, Andrew Morse

* - Won in Playoff

# - 54-Hole Tournament

Note:Formerly called Ben Hogan Permian Basin Open (1992), NIKE Permian
Basin Open (1993-99), Buy.Com Permian Basin Open (2000-01), Permian Basin Open (2002), Permian Basin Charity Golf Classic (2003-06).

Top Contenders in the Field
Danny Lee------------WonT-2
Aaron Goldberg------------T-44T-4
Brett Wetterich------------wdT-4
Morgan Hoffmann---------------6th
Michael Putnam---T-27T-46------T-7
Nate Smith---------Won---T-14
Miguel A. CarballoT-10T-27mcT-15T-7T-31
Edward Loarmc---------mcT-31
Dawie van der Walt------------wdT-60
Kevin Foley---------------67th
Garrett Willis------Won---------
Benjamin Alvarado------------------
Patrick Cantlay------------------
Richard S. Johnson------------------
Kevin Kisner------------------
D.J. Trahan------------------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - D.J. Trahan
Darkhorse - Richard S. Johnson
Last Week's Pick to Win (Brice Garnett) - Finished tied for 6th
Last Week's Darkhorse (Tim Wilkinson) - Finished tied for 10th
NOTES:The Web.com Tour travels back to the United States this week for the
WNB Golf Classic in Midland, Texas. This will be the 12th straight year in which Midland Country Club is hosting. The previous 10 years of the tournament were held at the Club at Mission Dorado.

The top nine players on the money list are in the field, including all five tournament winners -- Edward Loar, Benjamin Alvarado, Patrick Cantlay, Kevin Kisner and Kevin Foley. Loar currently leads the money list by more than $14,000 over Alvarado. Loar has finished tied for second and first in his last two events. Alvarado is coming off a victory last week at the Brasil Classic and has two top-5 finishes in three events this year.

Last year, Luke Guthrie fired a 6-under 66 in the final round to win and deny Danny Lee his second straight victory at this event. Guthrie, who also won in Boise the week before, finished at 17-under-par 271. Lee was trying to become the first player in Web.com Tour history to win the same title in back-to-back years. Instead, he became the fourth player to finish second in a title defense.

Guthrie will not be on hand to defend his title, as he earned his PGA Tour card for 2013 by finishing second on the 2012 Web.com Tour money list. Guthrie has played well on the PGA Tour this season, making seven cuts in 11 events, including a third-place finish at the Honda Classic in March. He is currently 44th on the PGA Tour money list with nearly $700,000 in earnings.

In 2010, rookie Nate Smith fired a 6-under 66 in the final round to win and collect his first career Web.com Tour victory. Smith made a long birdie at the 18th hole for a 2-shot win over three players. He finished with an 18-under 270 at Midland Country Club.

Marc Leishman cruised to an 11-shot win over Keoke Cotner in 2008, shooting a 4-under 68 in the final round to claim his first Web.com Tour victory. Leishman, who led by five shots heading into the final round, finished at 21- under-par 267 and tied the all-time Web.com Tour record for largest winning margin.

In 2007, Brad Adamonis escaped a 4-way playoff to win, beating Tjaart van der Walt with a par at the eighth extra hole for his first Web.com Tour title. Adamonis and van der Walt played six playoff holes head-to-head after Ron Whittaker was eliminated on the first sudden-death hole and Vance Veazey was knocked out on the second. The four players ended regulation tied at 10-under 278. Adamonis won the second-longest playoff in Web.com Tour history by making eight consecutive pars -- the last one coming on a 4-foot putt at the par-3 16th to finally finish off van der Walt.

Current PGA Tour player and world No. 5 Brandt Snedeker, who will play in the Masters this week, birdied the 72nd hole to force a playoff in 2006 against Aron Price, then birdied the first playoff hole to win. Snedeker became the first player in the history of this event to win wire-to-wire.

In 2002, there was plenty of drama. Sitting in the fairway on the first playoff hole, Tag Ridings slammed a 138-yard pitching-wedge into the bottom of the cup for eagle to defeat Mark Hensby for his first career title.

When Chad Campbell won the 2001 event, he set the tournament record of 24- under 264, breaking the previous mark of 267 set by Paul Gow in 1997. Campbell's 54-hole mark of 195 was also a new record.

The Web.com Tour moves to Georgia in two weeks for the South Georgia Classic in Valdosta at Kinderlou Forest Golf Club, where Luke List captured the 2012 title.

04/09 15:31:38 ET

As of April 9, 2013, at 03:31 PM ET

  • 490 First Avenue South
  • St. Petersburg, FL 33701
  • 727-893-8111