Web.com Tour
WEB.COM - Web.com Tour Championship Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, September 26th through Sunday, September 29th
SITE: TPC Sawgrass (Dye's Valley), Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
COURSE ARCHITECT: Pete Dye, Jerry Pate and Bobby Weed (1987)
PAR: 70
YARDAGE: 6,864
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 5 554 Yds10 - Par 4 413 Yds
2 - Par 3 170 Yds11 - Par 3 227 Yds
3 - Par 4 342 Yds12 - Par 4 362 Yds
4 - Par 4 427 Yds13 - Par 4 406 Yds
5 - Par 3 153 Yds14 - Par 3 203 Yds
6 - Par 4 462 Yds15 - Par 4 399 Yds
7 - Par 4 323 Yds16 - Par 5 559 Yds
8 - Par 4 500 Yds17 - Par 4 499 Yds
9 - Par 4 436 Yds18 - Par 4 429 Yds
35 3,367 Yds35 3,497 Yds
Annual:  21st
Television:  Golf Channel - Thursday/Sunday -- 4-6 p.m. (et)
Defending Champion:  Justin Bolli
Runner-Up:  James Hahn
Tournament Record:  264 (Richard Johnson, 2007)
54-Hole Record:  197 (Richard Johnson, 2007)
36-Hole Record:  126 (Michael Letzig, 2007)
18-Hole Record:  60 (Michael Letzig, 2007 - Barona Creek Golf Club)
Total Purse:  $1,000,000
Shares:  1st Place - $180,000; 2nd Place - $108,000; 3rd Place - $68,000
2012 Finish
Justin Bolli268Russell Henley273
James Hahn270Cliff Kresge273
Adam Hadwin271Edward Loar275
Morgan Hoffmann271Four players at276
Justin Hicks272
Past Web.com Tour Championship Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2012Justin Bolli (268) -- James Hahn
2011Ken Duke (278) -- Scott Brown
2010*Brendan Steele (275) -- Colt Knost
2009Matt Every (267) -- Michael Sim
2008Matt Bettencourt (267) -- Jeff Klauk
2007Richard Johnson (264) -- Michael Letzig
2006Craig Kanada (275) -- Andrew Buckle, Matt Kuchar
2005David Branshaw (276) -- Eric Axley
2004Nick Watney (273) -- Brett Wetterich
2003Chris Couch (270) -- D.J. Brigman
2002#Patrick Moore (206) -- Steven Alker, Mike Heinen, Jeff Klauk
2001Pat Bates (284) -- Tom Carter, Brenden Pappas
2000Spike McRoy (272) -- Briny Baird
1999*Bob Heintz (283) -- Marco Dawson
1998Bob Burns (283) -- Jeff Gove
1997Steve Flesch (278) -- Chris Smith
1996Stewart Cink (281) -- David Berganio Jr
1995*Allen Doyle (283) -- John Maginnes
1994Mike Schuchart (277) -- Emlyn Aubrey, Jeff Cook, Lee Rinker
1993David Duval (277) -- Danny Briggs

* - Won in Playoff

# - Weather Shortened

Note:Formerly called NIKE Tour Championship (1993-99), BUY.COM Tour
Championship (2000-02), Nationwide Tour Championship (2003-11), Web.com Tour Championship at TPC Craig Ranch (2012).

Top Contenders in the Field
Justin Bolli---T-51Won
Casey Wittenberg---T-38T-9
Luke List---T-24T-13
Michael PutnamT-38---T-13
Ben Martin------T-13
Robert Streb------T-25
Andrew SvobodaT-31T-56T-35
Shawn Stefani------T-42
Ben Kohles------T-53
Trevor Immelman---------
Ryo Ishikawa---------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Ryo Ishikawa
Darkhorse - Hudson Swafford
Last Week's Pick to Win (Ben Martin) - Finished tied for 4th
Last Week's Darkhorse (John Peterson) - Finished 3rd
NOTES:What's at stake this week? Well, how about each player's livelihood?
This is the fourth and final week of the Web.com Tour Finals. Former Masters champion Trevor Immelman won the first event of the Finals at the Hotel Fitness Championship, Andrew Svoboda captured the Chiquita Classic and Seung- Yul Noh won the Nationwide Children's Hospital Championship last week.

The field consists of the top 75 players on the 2013 Web.com Tour money list and players who finished 126-200 on the PGA Tour's FedExCup points list. This week's event is being held at the Dye's Valley Course at TPC Sawgrass.

This is the fourth and final full-field stroke play event to decide recipients of 50 PGA Tour cards for the 2013-14 season. The top 25 players on the Web.com Tour money list already secured their PGA Tour cards for next season. Those players are now playing for their priority ranking, while the remaining players are competing for the remaining 25 cards.

Last year, Justin Bolli, who entered the tournament at No. 44 on the money list, fired a 6-under 65 in the final round to win the season-ending event and secure a 2013 PGA Tour card. Bolli, who began the final round two strokes off the pace, finished at 16-under 268 and jumped to No. 9 on the money list with the victory. This week, Bolli will try to become the first player in Web.com Tour history to successfully defend his title.

Ken Duke posted a 4-under 68 in the final round to come from behind and win at the Ralston Creek Course at the Daniel Island Club in 2011. Duke finished at 10-under 278 and collected his second Web.com Tour victory and first since 2006. Duke began the tournament in 36th place on the money list but moved to seventh and earned his PGA Tour card for 2012.

In 2010, Brendan Steele birdied the fourth hole of a sudden-death playoff to beat Colt Knost and capture his first win on the Web.com Tour. Steele rolled in an 8-foot putt on the 18th green to end the playoff. There have now been three playoffs in tournament history. The first was in 1995 when Allen Doyle defeated John Maginnes, and the second came in 1999 when Bob Heintz defeated Marco Dawson.

Matt Every shot a 5-under 67 in the final round of 2009's version to win and earn a spot on the PGA Tour for the 2010 season. Every collected his first victory and finished at 21-under 267 for a 3-stroke win over Michael Sim. He pocketed $180,000 for the win and vaulted into the top 25 on the money list. Every began the week in 49th place and needed a huge week to get to the PGA Tour and that's exactly what he got. Every fired a course- record 63 in the second round to move in front, where he would stay for the rest of the tournament.

In 2008, Matt Bettencourt birdied the 72nd hole to earn not just the victory, but also the money title. Bettencourt shot rounds of 68-67-63-69 and won the trophy with a total of 17-under 267. It was his second win of 2008 after titling in Oregon in mid-September. Bettencourt earned $180,000 for the win and moved past Brendon de Jonge for the money title. Bettencourt was in the mid-90s on the money list earlier in the summer, but the win in Oregon, a runner-up at the Miccosukee Championship and this title gave him the No. 1 spot.

Richard Johnson shot four rounds in the 60s (66-64-67-67) in 2007 to win. Johnson's winning total of 20-under 264 shattered the old scoring record of 270 that Chris Couch set in 2003. Johnson also set a new 54-hole record. With the win and the $139,500 first-place check, Johnson overtook Roland Thatcher for the top spot on the money list. Michael Letzig, who finished one stroke back of Johnson, fired a course-record 60 in the first round.

In 2006, Craig Kanada captured this event and earned his PGA Tour card for 2007. Kanada trailed Matt Kuchar by six shots heading into the final round, but fired a 6-under-par 66, capped off by a chip-in birdie on the 72nd hole, to win by one over Kuchar and Andrew Buckle. Kanada's win jumped him from 32nd to 11th on the money list.

Spike McRoy owns the largest winning margin in event history, beating Briny Baird by five shots in 2000. Among the notable players who won this event are former world No. 1 and 2001 British Open champion David Duval (1993), Champions Tour player Allen Doyle (1995), 2009 British Open champion Stewart Cink (1996) and Nick Watney (2004). There has never been a wire-to- wire winner.

09/24 14:17:31 ET

As of September 24, 2013, at 02:17 PM ET

  • 490 First Avenue South
  • St. Petersburg, FL 33701
  • 727-893-8111