Web.com Tour
WEB.COM - Stadion Classic at UGA Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, May 2nd through Sunday, May 5th
SITE: University of Georgia Golf Course, Athens, Georgia
COURSE ARCHITECT: Robert Trent Jones Sr (1968), Davis Love III (2006)
PAR: 71
YARDAGE: 7,253
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 473 Yds10 - Par 4 475 Yds
2 - Par 4 440 Yds11 - Par 4 356 Yds
3 - Par 3 210 Yds12 - Par 5 561 Yds
4 - Par 4 473 Yds13 - Par 3 191 Yds
5 - Par 4 455 Yds14 - Par 4 418 Yds
6 - Par 4 356 Yds15 - Par 4 422 Yds
7 - Par 5 556 Yds16 - Par 3 179 Yds
8 - Par 3 190 Yds17 - Par 5 567 Yds
9 - Par 4 443 Yds18 - Par 4 488 Yds
35 3,596 Yds36 3,657 Yds
Annual:  8th
Television:  None
Defending Champion:  Hudson Swafford
Runner-Up:  Lee Janzen, Luke List
Tournament Record:  267 (Paul Gow, 2006; Hudson Swafford, 2012)
54-Hole Record:  198 (Craig Lile, Paul Gow, 2006)
36-Hole Record:  129 (Craig Lile, 2006)
Course Record:  62 (Hudson Swafford, 2012)
Total Purse:  $600,000
Shares:  1st Place - $108,000; 2nd Place - $64,800; 3rd Place - $40,800
2012 Finish
Hudson Swafford267Jim Herman271
Lee Janzen268Six players at272
Luke List268
Billy Horschel269
Tyrone Van Aswegen270
Past Stadion Classic at UGA Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2012Hudson Swafford (267) -- Lee Janzen, Luke List
2011(a) Russell Henley (272) -- Troy Kelly
2010Martin Piller (272) -- Daniel Summerhays
2009*Patrick Sheehan (274) -- Michael Sim
2008*Robert Damron (277) -- Greg Owen
2007Martin Laird (272) -- Jeremy Anderson, Justin Bolli
2006Paul Gow (267) -- Craig Lile

* - Won in Playoff

NOTE:Formerly called Athens Regional Foundation Classic (2006-09).

Top Contenders in the Field
Hudson Swafford------Won
Lee Janzen------T-2
Paul ClaxtonT-56mcT-7
Andrew SvobodaT-60T-12T-16
Martin PillerWon---T-21
D.J. BrigmanT-10---mc
Alex Aragon------mc
Will Wilcox---T-3---
Miguel A. CarballomcT-31---
Michael PutnamT-34------
Benjamin Alvarado---------
Patrick Cantlay---------
Edward Loar---------
Byron Smith---------
Zack Sucher---------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Byron Smith
Darkhorse - Miguel Angel Carballo
Last Week's Pick to Win (Edward Loar) - Finished tied for 58th
Last Week's Darkhorse (Brice Garnett) - Finished tied for 56th
The Web.com Tour remains in Georgia for the second straight week for the Stadion Classic at UGA. The top 16 players on the money list are in action this week, including the seven tournament winners in 2013. Edward Loar currently leads the money list by more than $40,000 over Benjamin Alvarado. Loar has three top-four finishes this season, including a win at the Chitimacha Louisiana Open. The purse increased $50,000 from last year to $600,000, with the winner receiving $108,000.

This is the fourth year that the event is being held at the University of Georgia Golf Course in Athens. The course was designed by Robert Trent Jones, Sr. and opened in 1968. The first four years of the tournament were staged at Jennings Mill Country Club in Bogart, Georgia.

Former Georgia golfer Hudson Swafford fired a 9-under 62 in the final round and came away with the victory last year. Swafford's 62 established a new course record and earned him a 1-stroke win over Lee Janzen and Luke List. Swafford's total of 17-under 267 matched Paul Gow's tournament record from 2006.

This week, Swafford will attempt to become the first player in Web.com Tour history to successfully defend his title. He is currently 66th on the Web.com Tour money list, with his best finish this year being a tie for 11th last week at the South Georgia Classic.

Russell Henley shot rounds of 72-66-66-68 in 2011, becoming the second amateur in Web.com Tour history to win an event. Henley, a senior at the University of Georgia, finished at 12-under 272 at his home course. Henley joined Daniel Summerhays as the only amateur winners on tour. Summerhays won the 2007 Nationwide Children's Hospital Invitational. It was Henley's third career tour event. Harris English became the third amateur in Web.com Tour history to win when he captured the Nationwide Children's Hospital Invitational in July of 2011.

Brendan Todd became the first player in Web.com Tour history to ace the same hole twice during the same tournament in 2009. Todd holed a 7-iron from 157 yards on the 17th hole in the first round and used and 8-iron from 147 yards to ace the same hole in the second round. He finished tied for 50th.

In 2008, Robert Damron defeated Greg Owen with a birdie on the first playoff hole. Damron, a former PGA Tour winner, claimed his first Web.com Tour victory with a 14-foot birdie putt from the back of the 18th green. The victory was the first for Damron since winning the 2001 Byron Nelson Classic on the PGA Tour.

Martin Laird birdied the 72nd hole to collect his first Web.com Tour victory in 2007. Laird led wire-to-wire with rounds of 66-67-70-69 to finish at 16- under-par 272. He won by a single stroke over Justin Bolli and Jeremy Anderson to become the first player from Scotland to win on the Web.com Tour.

The Web.com Tour travels to the Carolinas in two weeks for the BMW Charity Pro-Am, where Nick Flanagan captured the 2012 title.

04/30 16:48:32 ET

As of April 30, 2013, at 04:48 PM ET