Web.com Tour
WEB.COM - Albertsons Boise Open Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, September 13th through Sunday, September 16th
SITE: Hillcrest Country Club, Boise, Idaho
COURSE ARCHITECT: A. Vernon Macan (1940), Robert Muir Graves (1968 - redesign)
PAR: 71
YARDAGE: 6,807
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 409 Yds10 - Par 4 359 Yds
2 - Par 5 540 Yds11 - Par 4 462 Yds
3 - Par 5 561 Yds12 - Par 4 400 Yds
4 - Par 3 182 Yds13 - Par 3 216 Yds
5 - Par 4 438 Yds14 - Par 4 438 Yds
6 - Par 4 414 Yds15 - Par 4 293 Yds
7 - Par 4 425 Yds16 - Par 5 535 Yds
8 - Par 3 199 Yds17 - Par 3 134 Yds
9 - Par 4 407 Yds18 - Par 4 395 Yds
36 3,575 Yds35 3,232 Yds
Annual:  23rd
Television:  Golf Channel - Thursday/Sunday -- 5-7 p.m. (et)
Defending Champion:  Jason Kokrak
Runner-Up:  John Mallinger
Tournament Record:  263 (Jon Mills, 2007; Hunter Haas, 2010)
54-Hole Record:  196 (Rick Cramer, 1996; Mario Tiziani, 2006; Jim McGovern,
  D.A. Points, 2007; Daniel Summerhays, 2010)
36-Hole Record:  128 (Kevin Stadler, 2006; Jim McGovern, 2007;
  Blake Adams, 2009; Peter Tomasulo, 2010;
  Jonas Blixt, 2011)
Course Record:  61 (J.P. Hayes, Woody Austin, 1994; Scott Piercy, 2008)
Total Purse:  $725,000
Shares:  1st Place - $130,500; 2nd Place - $78,300; 3rd Place - $49,300
2011 Finish
Jason Kokrak266Paul Claxton270
John Mallinger268David Hearn270
Camilo Benedetti269Billy Horschel270
Jonas Blixt269John Riegger270
Ken Duke269Brian Smock270
Past Albertsons Boise Open Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2011Jason Kokrak (266) -- John Mallinger
2010Hunter Haas (263) -- Daniel Summerhays
2009Fran Quinn (270) -- Blake Adams
2008Chris Tidland (264) -- Scott Piercy
2007Jon Mills (263) -- D.A. Points
2006Kevin Stadler (264) -- Glen Day
2005*Greg Chalmers (269) -- Danny Ellis
2004Scott Gump (270) -- Michael Long, Jimmy Walker
2003Roger Tambellini (267) -- Tripp Isenhour, Charles Warren
2002Jason Gore (273) -- Emlyn Aubrey, Barry Cheesman
2001Michael Long (270) -- Tjaart van der Walt
2000Tim Clark (269) -- Patrick Burke, Steve Haskins
1999Carl Paulson (266) -- Joel Edwards, Michael Muehr
1998Mike Sposa (265) -- Notah Begay III, Dennis Paulson
1997Iain Steel (267) -- Carl Paulson
1996Matt Gogel (270) -- David Berganio Jr, Brett Quigley, Stewart Cink
1995#Frank Lickliter (200) -- Kevin Burton, Craig Kanada
1994#*Keith Fergus (198) -- Bill Murchison
1993#Tommy Moore (199) -- Olin Browne
1992#Jaime Gomez (202) -- Sean Murphy
1991#*Russell Beiersdorf (202) -- Rich Parker
1990#Ricky Smallridge (199) -- David Hobby, Robert Thompson, Greg Whisman

* - Won in Playoff

# - 54-Hole Tournament

Note:Formerly called Ben Hogan Boise Open (1990-92), NIKE Boise Open
(1993-99), BUY.COM Boise Open (2000-01).

Top Contenders in the Field
Jason Kokrak------------Won
Paul ClaxtonmcmcT-55T-43T-6
J.J. Killeen---mcT-39T-43T-11
Luke List---------mcT-21
Casey Wittenberg---mcmcT-60T-25
Jon MillsWon---mcmcT-25
Matt WeibringmcT-49mc---T-57
D.J. Brigman---mcmcT-9T-75
Cliff Kresge---------T-25mc
Fran QuinnmcT-22Won---mc
Daniel Chopra------------mc
Danny Lee------------mc
Brett Wetterich------------mc
Brad FritschmcT-38---------
Ben Kohles---------------
Robert Streb---------------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Brad Fritsch
Darkhorse - Cliff Kresge
Last Week's Pick to Win (Scott Gardiner) - Finished tied for 15th
Last Week's Darkhorse (Luke Guthrie) - Missed the cut
The magic number is six. That's how many events remain before the season- ending Web.com Tour Championship at TPC Craig Ranch. The top-60 players on the money list following the Winn-Dixie Jacksonville Open get a chance to compete in the final event of the season in an effort to gain their PGA Tour cards. Currently, Matt Harmon holds down the 60th spot. Less than $5,000 separates Brian Smock, in the 65th position, from Harmon.

This week's event is one of the four original venues on the Web.com Tour and is one of four events offering a purse of $725,000 or more with a first-place prize of $130,500. The top 42 players on the money list are in action this week. Money leader Casey Wittenberg and Ben Kohles will each be attempting to win for the third time this season and earn a promotion to the PGA Tour.

Nineteen of the last 21 winners of this event have all found a place on the PGA Tour. Only 2004 champion Scott Gump and 2008 champion Chris Tidland did not make the jump. Thanks to his win last year, Jason Kokrak soared from 70th to 13th on the money list and would go on to earn his PGA Tour card for 2012.

Hillcrest Country Club has hosted this event since its inception in 1990. Hillcrest Country Club and Highland Springs Country Club (Price Cutter Charity Championship) are the only two courses to hold Web.com Tour events for 23 consecutive years.

Last year, Kokrak closed with rounds of 63-67 on the weekend to earn his first Web.com Tour title. Kokrak finished the victory at 18-under-par 266 at Hillcrest Country Club.

Kokrak will attempt to become the first player in Web.com Tour history to successfully defend his title this week. He is currently 168th on the PGA Tour money list and did not qualify for the PGA Tour Playoffs for the FedExCup.

In 2008, Chris Tidland fired a 7-under 64 in the final round to cruise to a 4- shot win. Tidland finished his first tour win at 20-under-par 264. Scott Piercy, who teed off 16 groups ahead of the final twosome, tied the course record with his 10-under 61 in the final round. That left him alone in second at 16-under-par 268.

There was a double-eagle on the par-five 16th hole each year from 2004-2006: Justin Bolli (2004), Charley Hoffman (2005) and Dan Olsen (2006). No other hole and no other course in Web.com Tour history can make this claim. Roger Tambellini equaled the largest margin of victory at this event (six) in 2003, tying Tim Clark in 2000 when he won over Patrick Burke and Steve Haskins.

The Web.com Tour travels to Texas next week for the WNB Golf Classic in Midland, where Danny Lee captured the 2011 event.

09/11 17:50:37 ET

As of September 11, 2012, at 05:50 PM ET