Web.com Tour
WEB.COM - Cox Classic Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, August 2nd through Sunday, August 5th
SITE: Champions Run, Omaha, Nebraska
COURSE ARCHITECT: Jeffrey Brauer (1992)
PAR: 71
YARDAGE: 7,161
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 490 Yds10 - Par 5 563 Yds
2 - Par 4 482 Yds11 - Par 4 401 Yds
3 - Par 3 208 Yds12 - Par 3 202 Yds
4 - Par 4 316 Yds13 - Par 4 403 Yds
5 - Par 4 379 Yds14 - Par 4 440 Yds
6 - Par 5 627 Yds15 - Par 4 471 Yds
7 - Par 4 455 Yds16 - Par 3 237 Yds
8 - Par 3 193 Yds17 - Par 5 539 Yds
9 - Par 4 315 Yds18 - Par 4 440 Yds
35 3,465 Yds36 3,696 Yds
Annual:  17th
Television:  Golf Channel - Thursday -- 11:30 a.m.-1:30 p.m. (et),
  - Friday -- 10 a.m.-12 p.m. (et),
  - Saturday/Sunday -- 2-4 p.m. (et)
Defending Champion:  J.J. Killeen (Not defending)
Runner-Up:  Jonas Blixt, Gary Christian, Ken Duke, Danny Lee
Tournament Record:  258 (Chris Smith, 1997)
54-Hole Record:  192 (Chris Smith, 1997; David Branshaw, 2008)
36-Hole Record:  126 (Ryan Hietala, 2008)
Course Record:  59 (Jason Gore, 2005)
Total Purse:  $650,000
Shares:  1st Place - $117,000; 2nd Place - $70,200; 3rd Place - $44,200
2011 Finish
J.J. Killeen262Matt Davidson264
Jonas Blixt263Russell Knox265
Gary Christian263Matt Weibring265
Ken Duke263Adam Bland266
Danny Lee263Marco Dawson266
Troy Kelly266
Past Cox Classic Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2011J.J. Killeen (262) -- Jonas Blixt, Gary Christian, Ken Duke, Danny Lee
2010Martin Piller (261) -- Dicky Pride
2009Rich Barcelo (264) -- Tom Gillis
2008*Ryan Hietala (265) -- David Branshaw
2007Roland Thatcher (260) -- Jason Day
2006Johnson Wagner (263) -- Craig Bowden
2005*Jason Gore (261) -- Roger Tambellini
2004Charles Warren (267) -- John Elliott
2003Bo Van Pelt (262) -- Craig Lile
2002Jay Delsing (267) -- Anthony Painter
2001Heath Slocum (266) -- Rod Pampling
2000*David Berganio Jr (268) -- Ahmad Bateman
1999Mathew Goggin (264) -- Casey Martin
1998*Matt Gogel (271) -- Jay Williamson
1997Chris Smith (258) -- Barry Cheesman
1996Rocky Walcher (267) -- Michael Christie, Steve Larick

* - Won in Playoff

Note:Formerly called NIKE Omaha Classic (1996-99), BUY.COM Omaha Classic
(2000-02), Omaha Classic (2003).

Top Contenders in the Field
Matt Davidson------T-466th
Jeff Gove---T-44---T-15
James Hahn------T-3mc
Luke List------T-54mc
Casey WittenbergT-6---mcmc
Brett Wetterich---------mc
Martin Piller---62ndWon---
Andres Gonzalesmc---------
Paul Haley II------------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Tag Ridings
Darkhorse - Sam Saunders
Last Week's Pick to Win (Scott Gutschewski) - Tied for 14th
Last Week's Darkhorse (James Love) - Missed the cut
NOTES:The Nationwide Tour travels to Omaha, Nebraska this week for the Cox
Classic, the 16th of 27 official events in 2012. With the season over half complete, players are vying to reach the top 60 on the money list in an effort to qualify for the season-ending Tour Championship.

Last year, J.J. Killeen posted three late birdies in the final round to rally for his second straight Nationwide Tour title. Killeen, who won the Utah Championship the week before, finished the tournament at 22-under-par 262. That was also his winning score in Utah. Killeen became the sixth player in Nationwide Tour history to win back-to-back events, and first since Jason Gore did so in July, 2005.

Killeen will not be on hand to defend his title, as he earned his PGA Tour card for 2012 by finishing first on the 2011 Nationwide Tour money list. Killeen's best finish this year on the PGA Tour is eighth place at the True South Classic in July.

In 2010, Martin Piller fired a 7-under 64 in the final round to win by two shots. Piller finished 72 holes on the Champions Run course with a 23-under 261, beating Dicky Pride for his second victory of the season. He also won the Stadion Athens Classic in May 2010. Piller's victory was all the more remarkable considering he made the 36-hole cut by just one shot after going 69-66 over the first two rounds of the notoriously low-scoring event. He followed that with a 62-64 on the weekend.

In 2009, Rich Barcelo fired a 6-under 65 in the final round to come from behind and win by one stroke over Tom Gillis. Barcelo completed the tournament at 20-under-par 264 for his first Nationwide Tour title.

In 2007, Roland Thatcher fired rounds of 64-63-68-65 for his second victory of 2007 on the Nationwide Tour. He finished the event at 24-under-par 260 for a one-stroke win over Jason Day. Day shot rounds of 62-63 on the weekend for a total of 125. His final two rounds equaled the lowest 36-hole score in Nationwide Tour history.

Jason Gore rolled in a 5-foot birdie putt on the second playoff hole in 2005 to edge Roger Tambellini, winning his third straight start and earning a "battlefield promotion" to the PGA Tour. Gore fired a 59 in the second round on his way to victory. It was only the third 59 shot on the Nationwide Tour.

The automatic promotion goes to a Nationwide Tour player who wins three times in a single season. Gore was the third player to earn the battlefield by winning this event (Chris Smith 1997, Heath Slocum 2001). Gore went on to win the 84 Lumber Classic on the PGA Tour in 2005.

With his win in 2002, Jay Delsing became only the second wire-to-wire winner of this event, joining Smith (1997).

The Nationwide Tour moves to Springfield, Missouri next week for the Price Cutter Charity Championship, where Steve Friesen captured the 2011 title.

07/31 16:59:40 ET

As of July 31, 2012, at 04:59 PM ET