Sun Sentinel Tour
WEB.COM - Utah Championship Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, July 12th through Sunday, July 15th
SITE: Willow Creek Country Club, Sandy, Utah
COURSE ARCHITECT: Henry Hughes (1957), Damian Pascuzzo (2004)
PAR: 71
YARDAGE: 6,953
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 5 544 Yds10 - Par 5 591 Yds
2 - Par 3 214 Yds11 - Par 3 242 Yds
3 - Par 5 547 Yds12 - Par 5 575 Yds
4 - Par 4 469 Yds13 - Par 4 382 Yds
5 - Par 3 189 Yds14 - Par 4 387 Yds
6 - Par 4 436 Yds15 - Par 3 172 Yds
7 - Par 3 213 Yds16 - Par 4 388 Yds
8 - Par 4 421 Yds17 - Par 5 581 Yds
9 - Par 4 404 Yds18 - Par 3 196 Yds
35 3,437 Yds36 3,516 Yds
Annual:  14th
Television:  Golf Channel - Thursday/Saturday -- 6:30-8:30 p.m. (et),
  - Sunday -- 7-9 p.m. (et)
Defending Champion:  J.J. Killeen (Not defending)
Runner-Up:  Jeff Gove
Tournament Record:  262 (Brendon Todd, 2008; J.J. Killeen, 2011)
54-Hole Record:  195 (Brendon Todd, 2008)
36-Hole Record:  127 (David Sutherland, 2001)
Course Record:  62 (Jeff Gove, 2009, 2011; J.J. Killeen, 2011)
Total Purse:  $550,000
Shares:  1st Place - $99,000; 2nd Place - $59,400; 3rd Place - $37,400
2011 Finish
J.J. Killeen262Mark Anderson270
Jeff Gove266David Lingmerth270
Casey Wittenberg268Steve Wheatcroft270
Bud Cauley269Stephen Gangluff271
James Hahn269Jason Kokrak271
Danny Lee271
Past Utah Championship Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2011J.J. Killeen (262) -- Jeff Gove
2010Michael Putnam (266) -- Bradley Iles, Jhonattan Vegas
2009Josh Teater (264) -- Tyler Aldridge
2008Brendon Todd (262) -- Jeff Klauk, Won Joon Lee, Ryan Hietala,
Marc Leishman, Brian Smock, Kyle Thompson
2007Franklin Langham (264) -- Richard Johnson
2006Craig Kanada (272) -- Gavin Coles, Ken Duke, Bryce Molder,
Michael Putnam
2005Garrett Willis (275) -- Kris Cox, Brian Henninger, Matthew Goggin
2004Brett Wetterich (272) -- Ryuji Imada, Franklin Langham
2003Zach Johnson (267) -- Bobby Gage
2002#Arron Oberholser (202) -- Doug Barron, Brian Claar
2001David Sutherland (272) -- Danny Briggs
2000Andrew Morse (269) -- John Riegger
1999Carl Paulson (266) -- Craig Bowden, Marco Gortana

# - Weather Shortened

Note:Formerly called Utah Classic (1999-2002), Envirocare Utah Classic
(2003-05), Utah EnergySolutions Championship (2006-07).

Top Contenders in the Field
Jeff Gove------T-28T-10T-42nd
Casey Wittenberg------mc---mc3rd
James Hahn------------T-24T-4
David Lingmerth---------------T-6
Scott GardinerT-13T-30T-8mcT-49T-25
John Kimbell---wdmcT-3T-15T-37
Luke List------------mc63rd
Andrew Svoboda------------T-7mc
Lee Williams---T-30------------
Andres Gonzales------------------
Paul Haley II------------------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Scott Gardiner
Darkhorse - Richard Scott
Last Week's Pick to Win (Hudson Swafford) - Missed the cut
Last Week's Darkhorse (Jim Herman) - Finished tied for 51st
The Nationwide Tour travels to the Beehive State this week for the Utah Championship. The top five players on the money list are in the field - Paul Haley II, Casey Wittenberg, Luke List, Andres Gonzales and Andrew Svoboda. Haley currently leads Wittenberg by $4,215 for the top spot on the money list. Wittenberg is the only player who has two wins this season. Therefore, if he wins this week, he would earn an instant promotion to the PGA Tour for winning three times in one season.

Willow Creek Country Club has hosted this event since its inception in 1999. Nine of the 13 winners were first-time champions on the Tour. Arron Oberholser, Zach Johnson, Brett Wetterich and Franklin Langham were the exceptions. Oberholser, Johnson and Wetterich have since titled on the PGA Tour. Johnson also became a major champion in 2007 when he won The Masters.

Last year, J.J. Killeen matched the course record with an opening-round 62 and held at least a share of the lead after every round en route to his first Nationwide Tour victory. Killeen's total of 22-under-par 262 matched the tournament scoring record that Brendon Todd set in 2008. Killeen would go on to win one more time in 2011 and finish the year atop the Nationwide Tour money list, earning $414,273.

Killeen will not be on hand to defend his title, as he earned his PGA Tour card for 2012. Killeen is currently 150th on the PGA Tour money list with $251,356 in earnings. His best finish this year was a tie for 14th at the Puerto Rico Open in March.

In 2010, Michael Putnam closed with a 4-under 67 in the final round to come from behind and win. Putnam finished his first Nationwide Tour title at 18-under-par 266.

In 2009, Josh Teater took control with three birdies in a four-hole span in the final round en route to the victory. Teater, who won for the first time on the Nationwide Tour, fired rounds of 65-67-64-68 to end at 20-under-par 264. That was good for a four-stroke win over Tyler Aldridge.

In 2008, Brendon Todd capped off four sparkling rounds of golf with a 4-under 67 in the final round to claim his first Nationwide Tour win. Todd finished the tournament at 22-under-par 262, comfortably ahead of a group of six players six shots back.

In 2006, Craig Kanada only posted a 1-under 71 in the final round, but it was enough to earn his first Nationwide Tour victory. He finished at 16-under-par 272 and won by a single stroke over Gavin Coles, Ken Duke, Bryce Molder and Putnam. The win was Kanada's first on the Nationwide Tour, a circuit he first played on in 1991. He made 212 starts on the tour and 58 more on the PGA Tour before he finally broke into the winner's circle.

The tour moves to Ohio in two weeks for the Nationwide Children's Hospital Invitational at The OSU Golf Club in Columbus, where Harris English won the title last year.

07/10 17:33:53 ET

As of July 10, 2012, at 05:34 PM ET