Sun Sentinel Tour
NATIONWIDE - Mexico Open Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, June 7th through Sunday, June 10th
SITE: El Bosque Country Club, Leon, GTO, Mexico
COURSE ARCHITECT: Steve Newgent (2009)
PAR: 72
YARDAGE: 7,701
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 5 561 Yds10 - Par 5 572 Yds
2 - Par 4 370 Yds11 - Par 4 430 Yds
3 - Par 3 239 Yds12 - Par 3 162 Yds
4 - Par 4 420 Yds13 - Par 4 452 Yds
5 - Par 4 402 Yds14 - Par 4 525 Yds
6 - Par 4 536 Yds15 - Par 3 232 Yds
7 - Par 3 272 Yds16 - Par 4 445 Yds
8 - Par 5 546 Yds17 - Par 4 484 Yds
9 - Par 4 486 Yds18 - Par 5 567 Yds
36 3,832 Yds36 3,869 Yds
Annual:  54th (5th on Nationwide Tour)
Television:  None
Defending Champion:  Erik Compton (Not defending)
Runner-Up:  Richard H. Lee
Tournament Record:  267 (Jarrod Lyle, 2008)
54-Hole Record:  204 (Greg Chalmers, Jarrod Lyle, 2008;
  Troy Merritt, Garth Mulroy, 2009;
  Matthew Giles, Richard H. Lee, Peter Lonard, 2011)
36-Hole Record:  131 (Casey Wittenberg, 2011)
18-Hole Record:  63 (Jarrod Lyle, 2008 - Tres Marias Golf Club)
Course Record:  63 (Casey Wittenberg, 2011)
Total Purse:  $625,000
Shares:  1st Place - $112,500; 2nd Place - $67,500; 3rd Place - $42,500
2011 Finish
Erik Compton271Matthew Giles275
Richard H. Lee273James Nitties275
Will Wilcox274Kyle Thompson275
Chris Baker275Justin Bolli276
Roberto Castro275Casey Wittenberg276
Past Mexico Open Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2011Erik Compton (271) -- Richard H. Lee
2010*Jamie Lovemark (276) -- B.J. Staten
2009*Troy Merritt (273) -- Adam Bland
2008Jarrod Lyle (267) -- Matt Every
2007No tournament
2006Fabrizio Zanotti (275) -- Daniel De Leon
2005Antonio Maldonado (275) -- Rafael Gomez, Mickael Dieu
2004Rafael Gomez (270) -- Eduardo Herrera
2003Eduardo Herrera (278) -- Eduardo Argiro, Jeff Burns
2002Pablo Fernandez
2001No tournament
2000Esteban Toledo
1999Stewart Cink
1998Eduardo Romero
1997Frank Nobilo
1996Stewart Cink
1995John Cook
1994Chris Perry
1993Fred Funk
1992Tom Sieckmann
1991Jay Haas
1990Bob Lohr
1989No tournament
1988No tournament
1987No tournament
1986No tournament
1985No tournament
1984Danny Mijovic
1983Tommy Armour III
1982No tournament
1981Ben Crenshaw
1980David Graham
1979No tournament
1978No tournament
1977Billy Casper
1976Ernesto Perez Acosta
1975Lee Trevino
1974Ed Byman
1973Lee Trevino
1972No tournament
1971Angel Gallardo
1970Ernesto Perez Acosta
1969No tournament
1968No tournament
1967No tournament
1966Bob McCallister
1965Homero Blancas
1964Art Wall
1963Al Balding
1962Tony Lema
1961Tony Lema
1960Howie Johnson
1959Angel Miguel
1958Antonio Cerda
1957Bob Rosburg
1956Billy Maxwell
1955Roberto DeVicenzo
1954Johnny Palmer
1953Roberto DeVicenzo
1952Bobby Locke
1951Roberto DeVicenzo
1950Tony Holguin
1949Tony Holguin
1948No tournament
1947Al Espinosa
1946Al Espinosa
1945Al Espinosa
1944Al Espinosa

Top Contenders in the Field
Will Wilcox---3rd
J.d.J. Rodriguez4thT-11
Luke List---T-17
Ryan ArmourmcT-22
Brian Stuard---T-45
Andrew SvobodaT-14T-50
Esteban ToledoT-52T-63
Alex Aragon------
Paul Haley II------
Scott Parel------
Hudson Swafford------
Casey Wittenberg------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Scott Parel
Darkhorse - Scott Gardiner
Last Week's Pick to Win (James Hahn) - Finished 1st
Last Week's Darkhorse (Jim Herman) - Finished tied for 16th
The Nationwide Tour travels south of the border to Mexico this week for the 54th installment of the Mexico Open. This will be the fifth year that this event is being played on the Nationwide Tour. Two of the top four players on the money list are playing this week -- Andrew Svoboda and Paul Haley II.

The Nationwide Tour previously played in Mexico from 1993-2001 at the Monterrey Open. Past winners of that event include Olin Browne, Stuart Appleby, Joe Ogilvie and Briny Baird.

Past winners of the Mexico Open include Roberto De Vicenzo, Bobby Locke, Lee Trevino, Billy Casper, David Graham, Ben Crenshaw, Jay Haas, Fred Funk, John Cook and Stewart Cink.

Last year, Erik Compton, a two-time heart transplant recipient, fired a seven-under 65 in the final round to win by two strokes over Richard H. Lee. Compton, who claimed his first Nationwide Tour title, ended the event at 17-under-par 271. He had won three times on the Canadian Tour, but this was his first win anywhere since getting his second heart transplant in 2008.

Compton will not be on hand to defend his title, as he earned his PGA Tour card for 2012 by finishing 13th on the 2011 Nationwide Tour money list. Compton is currently 141st on the PGA Tour money list with $230,988 in earnings. He has made 10 cuts in 15 events, but his best finish is a tie for 26th at the Honda Classic in March.

In 2010, Jamie Lovemark defeated B.J. Staten with an eagle on the first playoff hole to earn his first Nationwide Tour victory. Lovemark, the 2007 NCAA Individual Champion, and Staten finished at 12-under-par 276. Lovemark would go on to win the 2010 Nationwide Tour Player of the Year award and finish first on the money list.

In 2008, Jarrod Lyle fired an eight-under 63 in the final round to earn his first Nationwide Tour win. Lyle, who entered the final day tied for the lead, completed the event at 17-under-par 267 to win by five over Matt Every.

The Nationwide Tour heads to Kansas in two weeks for the Preferred Health Systems Wichita Open, where Mathew Goggin captured the 2011 event.

06/05 17:31:48 ET

As of June 5, 2012, at 05:31 PM ET