Sun Sentinel
PGA Tour
PGA - AT&T National Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Thursday, June 27th through Sunday, June 30th
SITE: Congressional Country Club (Blue Course), Bethesda, Maryland
COURSE ARCHITECT: Devereaux Emmett (1922), Robert Trent Jones (1957),
         Rees Jones (1989)
PAR: 71
YARDAGE: 7,569
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 402 Yds10 - Par 3 218 Yds
2 - Par 3 233 Yds11 - Par 4 489 Yds
3 - Par 4 466 Yds12 - Par 4 471 Yds
4 - Par 4 470 Yds13 - Par 3 193 Yds
5 - Par 4 413 Yds14 - Par 4 467 Yds
6 - Par 5 555 Yds15 - Par 4 490 Yds
7 - Par 3 173 Yds16 - Par 5 579 Yds
8 - Par 4 354 Yds17 - Par 4 437 Yds
9 - Par 5 636 Yds18 - Par 4 523 Yds
36 3,702 Yds35 3,867 Yds
Annual:  7th
Television:  Golf Channel - Thursday/Friday -- 3-6 p.m. (et),
  - Saturday -- 1-2:30 p.m. (et),
  CBS - Saturday -- 3-6 p.m. (et),
  Golf Channel - Sunday -- 1-2:30 p.m. (et),
  CBS - Sunday -- 3-6 p.m. (et)
Defending Champion:  Tiger Woods (Not defending)
Runner-Up:  Bo Van Pelt
Tournament Record:  267 (Tiger Woods, 2009; Nick Watney, 2011)
54-Hole Record:  200 (Tom Pernice Jr, 2008; Tiger Woods, Anthony Kim, 2009;
  Justin Rose, 2010)
36-Hole Record:  130 (Tiger Woods, 2009)
Course Record:  62 (Anthony Kim, Hunter Mahan, 2009)
18-Hole Record:  62 (Nick Watney, 2011 - Aronimink Golf Club)
Total Purse:  $6,500,000
Shares:  1st Place - $1,170,000; 2nd Place - $702,000; 3rd Place - $442,000
2012 Finish
Tiger Woods276Seung-Yul Noh280
Bo Van Pelt278Jhonattan Vegas280
Adam Scott279Jason Day281
Robert Garrigus280Hunter Mahan281
Billy Hurley III280Nick Watney282
Past AT&T National Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2012Tiger Woods (276) -- Bo Van Pelt
2011Nick Watney (267) -- K.J. Choi
2010Justin Rose (270) -- Ryan Moore
2009Tiger Woods (267) -- Hunter Mahan
2008Anthony Kim (268) -- Fredrik Jacobson
2007K.J. Choi (271) -- Steve Stricker

Top Contenders in the Field
Bo Van PeltT-54T-12T-54T-11T-112nd
Adam Scottmc---------T-33rd
Hunter MahanT-8T-122nd---T-30T-8
Jason Day---mcmcT-9---T-8
Nick Watney---T-36T-66T-7Won10th
Jeff Overton---T-9wd3rdT-3T-22
Charley HoffmanT-19T-72T-48T-41T-25T-22
Marc Leishman------T-25T-7mcT-32
Jim FurykT-3T-3T-7T-33mcT-34
Bryce Molder------4thT-25T-8T-42
Charles Howell IIImcT-22mcT-62T-3T-68
Gary Woodland------------T-4773rd
K.J. ChoiWonT-49mc---2ndmc
Chris Stroud------T-64T-53T-6wd
Brandt SnedekerT-8mcT-5T-16------
Ken Dukemcmc------------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Adam Scott
Darkhorse - Billy Horschel
Last Week's Pick to Win (Hunter Mahan) - Finished tied for 24th
Last Week's Darkhorse (John Rollins) - Missed the cut
The PGA Tour heads to Maryland this week for the AT&T National at Congressional Country Club in Bethesda. Two of the top eight players in the world are scheduled to compete outside of Washington D.C. -- Masters champion Adam Scott (4) and Brandt Snedeker (8). Tournament host Tiger Woods will not defend his title due to an elbow injury. U.S. Open champion Justin Rose also pulled out of the event due to fatigue.

The tournament returned to Congressional last year for the first time since 2009. Aronimink Golf Club in Newtown Square, Pennsylvania hosted in 2010-11 due to Congressional staging the 2011 U.S. Open. Woods has won the last two times it has been played at Congressional (2009, 12).

The AT&T National is an invitational featuring a field of 120 players. It replaced The INTERNATIONAL on the PGA Tour schedule in 2007. Tournament proceeds benefit the Tiger Woods Foundation and the event will honor United States military men and women. The tournament offers free admission to military personnel and they will receive special seating and hospitality tents.

Last year, Woods won and moved one victory ahead of Jack Nicklaus. The win was No. 74 for Woods on the PGA Tour and he moved ahead of Nicklaus' total of 73. Woods carded rounds of 72-68-67-69 to end at 8-under-par 276. The win was his third and final victory of 2012. Woods did not record a 3-putt the entire week.

Nick Watney closed with weekend rounds of 62-66 in 2011 to earn a 2-stroke win over 2007 champion K.J. Choi. Watney fired a back-nine 27 in the third round to set a new course record of 62 at Aronimink. Watney's 27 was the lowest back nine of the 2011 PGA Tour season.

The 2010 tournament was the first PGA Tour event held in the Philadelphia area since Waynesborough Country Club staged the 2002 SEI Pennsylvania Classic, won by Dan Forsman.

Woods won this event for the first time in 2009, firing rounds of 64-66-70-67. Woods finished at 13-under 267, which was a new tournament record, and won by a single stroke over Hunter Mahan, who matched the course record in the final round with an 8-under 62.

Next week, the PGA Tour travels to West Virginia for The Greenbrier Classic, where Ted Potter, Jr. won last year.

06/25 16:06:14 ET

As of June 25, 2013, at 04:06 PM ET