European Golf Tour
PGA European - Lyoness Open Preview
From The Sports Network

DATES: Wednesday, July 25th through Saturday, July 28th
SITE: Diamond Country Club, Atzenbrugg, Austria
COURSE ARCHITECT: Jeremy Pern (2000)
PAR: 72
YARDAGE: 7,386
Hole-By-Hole:1 - Par 4 504 Yds10 - Par 5 506 Yd
2 - Par 4 437 Yds11 - Par 3 202 Yd
3 - Par 4 474 Yds12 - Par 4 376 Yd
4 - Par 4 370 Yds13 - Par 5 545 Yd
5 - Par 3 225 Yds14 - Par 4 405 Yd
6 - Par 5 582 Yds15 - Par 3 159 Yd
7 - Par 5 591 Yds16 - Par 4 411 Yd
8 - Par 4 490 Yds17 - Par 4 468 Yd
9 - Par 3 184 Yds18 - Par 4 457 Yd
36 3,857 Yds36 3,529 Yd
Annual:  22nd (7th on European Tour)
Television:  Golf Channel - Wednesday -- 9 a.m.-12 p.m. (et),
  - Thursday/Friday -- 9:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m. (et),
  - Saturday -- 7-11 a.m. (et)
Defending Champion:  Kenneth Ferrie
Runner-Up:  Simon Wakefield
Tournament Record:  261 (Markus Brier, 2004)
54-Hole Record:  194 (Markus Brier, 2004)
36-Hole Record:  127 (Jeev Milkha Singh, 2008)
18-Hole Record:  60 (Rafael Cabrera-Bello, 2009)
Total Purse:  $1,205,323 (1,000,000 euros)
Shares:  1st Place - $205,413; 2nd Place - $136,946; 3rd Place - $77,156
2011 Finish
Kenneth Ferrie *276Victor Dubuisson280
Simon Wakefield276Bernd Wiesberger280
Joost Luiten277Christian Nilsson281
Thomas Norret279Magnus A. Carlsson281
Cesar Monasterio280Four players at282

* - Won in Playoff

Past Lyoness Open Winners
YearWinner (Score) -- Runners-Up
2011*Kenneth Ferrie (276) -- Simon Wakefield
2010*Jose Manuel Lara (271) -- David Lynn
2009Rafael Cabrera-Bello (264) -- Benn Barham
2008#Jeev Milkha Singh (198) -- Simon Wakefield
2007*Richard Green (268) -- Jean-Francois Remesy
2006Markus Brier (266) -- Soren Hansen
2005Michael Hoey (265) -- Steven Jeppesen
2004Markus Brier (261) -- Roope Kakko, Lee Slattery
2003*Robert Coles (275) -- Steven Bowditch
2002Markus Brier (267) -- Gary Birch, Jr.
2001Chris Gane (270) -- Andrew Marshall
2000Not Held
1999*Juan Ciola (263) -- Elliot Boult
1998Kevin Carissimi (269) -- Markus Brier, Per Jacobson, David R. Jones
1997Erol Simsek (266) -- Kevin Carissimi, David Lynn, Steen Tinning
1996Paul McGinley (269) -- David Lynn, Juan Carlos Pinero
1995Alex Cejka (267) -- Ignacio Garrido, Rolf Muntz, Ronan Rafferty
1994Mark Davis (270) -- Philip Walton
1993*Ronan Rafferty (274) -- Anders Sorensen
1992Peter Mitchell (271) -- Peter Fowler, David Russell, Jamie Spence
1991Mark Davis (269) -- Michael McLean
1990*Bernhard Langer (271) -- Lanny Wadkins

* - Won in Playoff

# - Weather-Shortened

Note:Formerly called Austrian Open (1990, 2001), Mitsubishi Austrian Open
(1991-92), Hohe Brucke Austrian Open (1993), Hohe Brucke Open (1994-96), Matchmaker Austrian Open (1997), Diners Club Austrian Open (1998-99), BA-CA Golf Open (2003-07), Bank Austria GolfOpen (2008), Austrian GolfOpen (2009-11).

Top Contenders in the Field
Kenneth Ferrie---mcWon
Thomas Norret------4th
Bernd Wiesbergermc---T-5
Gary Boyd------T-45
Jose Manuel Lara---Wonmc
Markus BrierT-17T-45mc
Pablo LarrazabalmcT-32---
David HorseyT-10------
Thomas LevetT-39------
Thorbjorn Olesen---------
Sports Network Selections

Pick to Win - Thorbjorn Olesen
Darkhorse - Thomas Levet
Last Week's Pick to Win (T.Woods, H.Mahan, J.Rose) - T-3, T-19, MC
Last Week's Darkhorse (N.Watney, F.Molinari, P.Harrington) - T-23, T-39, T-39
The European Tour travels to Austria this week for the 22nd Lyoness Open. Only two of the top-100 players in the world are in the field - Pablo Larrazabal (90) and Thorbjorn Olesen (99). Larrazabal has made 15 straight cuts on the European Tour, with his best finish being a tie for second at the Open de Espana in May. Olesen finished tied for ninth last week at the British Open. He won his first European Tour title in April at the Sicilian Open.

Diamond Country Club is hosting for the third straight year. Fontana Golf Club staged this tournament the previous seven seasons. Diamond Country Club was designed by English architect Jeremy Pern, the former Vice President of the British Institute of Golf Course Architects.

Last year, Englishman Kenneth Ferrie birdied the first playoff hole to defeat Simon Wakefield and win. The victory was his third on the European Tour. Both players finished at 12-under-par 276.

In 2010, Jose Manuel Lara 2-putted for par on the first playoff hole to defeat David Lynn. Lara rallied with an 8-under 64 in the final round to get in first at 17-under-par 271. Lynn, who shared the lead entering the round, closed with a 4-under 68 to force the extra session. Lara's 64 was the low round of the final day.

Matthias Schwab, a 15-year-old amateur from Austria, tied for 32nd in 2010 at minus-5. It was the best ever finish by a 15-year-old on the European Tour, as he bettered the finishes that Sergio Garcia and Jason Hak had at that age. Schwab finished tied for 45th in 2011 and will compete in the tournament again this year.

In 2009, Spain's Rafael Cabrera-Bello fired an 11-under 60 in the final round to come from behind and win. Cabrera-Bello completed his first European Tour victory at 20-under-par 264 for a 1-shot win over Benn Barham. He became only the 13th player on the circuit to shoot a 60. With his closing 60, he erased an 8-stroke deficit entering the final round. He had a chance at being the first European Tour player to ever shoot 59, but, needing an eagle at the 18th, he 2-putted for birdie from over 50 feet to finish at 20-under.

Cabrera-Bello became just the third player in European Tour history to fire a 60 and win the tournament, joining Ian Woosnam (1990 Monte Carlo Open) and Jamie Spence (1992 European Masters).

In 2008, Jeev Milkha Singh parred all 18 holes in the final round en route to the win. Singh posted an even-par 71 to complete the rain-shortened event at 15-under-par 198. Singh joined Nick Faldo (1987 British Open) as the only players to win a European Tour event after recording 18 pars in the final round. The event was shortened after heavy rain completely washed out Thursday's play. Singh established a new 36-hole record of 127.

Austrian Markus Brier posted a 3-under 68 in the final round in 2006 to win by three strokes over Soren Hansen. Brier completed his first European Tour win at 18-under-par 266. Brier's victory in his home country marked the first time that a golfer from Austria had won on the European Tour. It also marked just the second time in European Tour history that a golfer was attached to the course where he won. Graeme McDowell won the 2002 Scandinavian Masters, where he was attached to Kungsangen Golf Club.

In 2006, German Max Kramer became the first amateur in European Tour history to record an albatross. He double-eagled the ninth hole in the first round with a 6-iron from 180 yards. Kramer, however, still missed the cut by six strokes. Chris Morton is the only other player to record an albatross in event history, registering his in 1992 during the first round. There have been four holes-in-one, the last coming in 2006 when Brier aced the 11th hole during the opening round.

This event was played on the European Challenge Tour from 1997-2005. Brier is the only multiple winner, having won in 2002 and 2004 on the Challenge Tour and in 2006 as part of the European Tour.

The European Tour heads to the United States next week for the WGC-Bridgestone Invitational in Akron, Ohio, where British Open runner-up Adam Scott will defend his title at Firestone Country Club.

07/24 15:10:50 ET

As of July 24, 2012, at 03:11 PM ET